Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st December 2007, 12:55   #2141  |  Link
shambles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Hmmmm... The delay really doesn't seem to be applied. So is the FLAC track out of sync by 2 seconds?

It would be very helpful, if you could upload a little sample of the EVO file. Maybe 50MB, if possible?
yes, the flac is 2s oos

sample
shambles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 13:13   #2142  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles View Post
yes, the flac is 2s oos

sample
Thank you. Bug confirmed and will be fixed in next build.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 16:21   #2143  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ehm, normally Nero's decoder only works if you rename the exe to "recode.exe". However, eac3to has implemented a hack around this by also allowing "eac3to.exe". Renaming "eac3to.exe" to "eac3tov2.exe" disables this hack. Please don't rename "eac3to.exe".
Aha, so that's the ticket. Very interesting... Thank you.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 17:57   #2144  |  Link
Chupacabras
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
I have some movie in .ts format (video is mpeg2, audio is dts). eac3to doesn't want to work with extracted dts (stream extracted by mencoder).
It writes "The format of the source file could not be detected.":

X:\eac3to>eac3to.exe "X:\audio.dts" "X:\audio.ac3" -448
The format of the source file could not be detected.

What could be wrong?
Chupacabras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 19:09   #2145  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chupacabras View Post
I have some movie in .ts format (video is mpeg2, audio is dts). eac3to doesn't want to work with extracted dts (stream extracted by mencoder).
It writes "The format of the source file could not be detected.":

X:\eac3to>eac3to.exe "X:\audio.dts" "X:\audio.ac3" -448
The format of the source file could not be detected.

What could be wrong?
Possibly the DTS file is beginning in the middle of a DTS frame. eac3to only accepts DTS files which begin with a full DTS frame. Please try running the DTS file through delaycut. Afterwards eac3to should be able to handle the file just fine.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 19:48   #2146  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
eac3to v2.11 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* libav E-AC3 decoding is without DRC now
* libav AC3 decoding added (without DRC)
* libav E-AC3 and AC3 decoding hacked to return full 24 bit
* fixed: delay was not applied to lossless audio tracks
* fixed crash when parsing PCM files without doing any conversion
* TrueHD dialnorm was displayed incorrectly
* changed 23.976 to 24/1.001
* fixed some more minor bugs
Please do not use the "avcodec.dll" and "avutil-49.dll" that ship with eac3to with any other application. And please do not replace these dlls in eac3to, either, for the time being. The reason for this is that I have done some custom changes to the code to make the E-AC3 and AC3 decoders output 24 bit data instead of 16 bit. So the dlls shipping with eac3to are not compatible, anymore.

FWIW, the libav E-AC3 decoder is looking quite good now. There are situations where it fails to work (not all E-AC3 features are supported by the decoder yet). But as long as it works the output sounds good to me. The distortion I had with earlier versions of the decoder seem to be fully gone.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 21:28   #2147  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Nice. Thanks!
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 22:24   #2148  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Thanks for the update madshi. I've run into an issue already that I wanted to report. In attempting to move the video into an mkv container, I get the following:
Code:
eac3to "HVDVD_TS\feature_1.evo"+"HVDVD_TS\feature_2.evo" 2: "e:\media\movie.mkv" 3: "e:\media\movie.dts"

- EVO/VOB, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 2:07:40
1: Joined EVO/VOB file 
2: h264/AVC
3: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 1536kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms
4: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 768kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms 
5: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 768kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms 
Extracting audio track number 3... 
Muxing video to Matroska...
Removing dialog normalization... 
Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)... 
Disabling DRC for Nero (E-)AC3 decoding... 
DirectShow reports 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
Applying delay...
Writing WAVs...
Creating/writing file "e:\media\movie.R.wav"...
Creating/writing file "e:\media\movie.L.wav"...
Creating/writing file "e:\media\movie.C.wav"...
Creating/writing file "e:\media\movie.SL.wav"... 
Creating/writing file "e:\media\movie.LFE.wav"...
Creating/writing file "e:\media\movie.SR.wav"... 
-The Haali Media Splitter didn't accept the input stream. 
-The last (E-)AC3 frame is incomplete and thus gets skipped.
- Found Surcode DTS Encoder version 1.0.23.0.
Surcode encoding successfully started. Please wait...
Closing Surcode... 
Error renaming MKV file.
MKV file was successfully created, but the timecodes were not rewritten.
The dts file is created successfully, but I can't find the mkv file it says was created successfully even though there's an error. Ideas? Let me know if you want me to try anything specific.

[EDIT] I tried running it so it only goes into an mkv and used the -no24p to see the results and here's what I got:
Code:
eac3to "HVDVD_TS\feature_1.evo"+"HVDVD_TS\feature_2.evo" 2: "e:\media\movie.mkv" -no24p

- EVO/VOB, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 2:07:40
1: Joined EVO/VOB file 
2: h264/AVC
3: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 1536kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms
4: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 768kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms 
5: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 768kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms 
Muxing video to Matroska...
-The Haali Media Splitter didn't accept the input stream. 
- eac3to processing took 1 second. 
Done.
__________________
Chumbo

Last edited by Chumbo; 21st December 2007 at 22:33.
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 22:31   #2149  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
@Chumbo, the problem is this:

Quote:
-The Haali Media Splitter didn't accept the input stream.
Because of this there most probably never was a MKV file. I'm wondering why eac3to tried to continue with the whole operation. It should have aborted with the above mentioned error message. It's probably a bug that the operation was not aborted.

Which movie is that? Did you already successfully convert some other movies to MKV with eac3to? Or was this your first try?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 22:35   #2150  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
...
Which movie is that? Did you already successfully convert some other movies to MKV with eac3to? Or was this your first try?
This is Stardust. Yes, I've converted several others with the previous versions with no problem. I'll go back a version and try it and report back.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 02:07   #2151  |  Link
idbirch2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 680
Regarding Phantom Of The Opera, I have also obtainted the BluRay version and that suffers from the same issues the HD-DVD did, I really don't think this is a bad rip to blame, more likely bad authoring.

The BluRay .m2ts stream suffers from the same video breakup/rainbow-ness as the HD-DVD unless it is played back with the Sonic decoders, in which case audio sync becomes a major pain in the ass if re-encoding/remuxing. Why can the Sonic decoders handle these seemingly damaged streams?
idbirch2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 02:40   #2152  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
@Chumbo, the problem is this:


Because of this there most probably never was a MKV file. I'm wondering why eac3to tried to continue with the whole operation. It should have aborted with the above mentioned error message. It's probably a bug that the operation was not aborted.

Which movie is that? Did you already successfully convert some other movies to MKV with eac3to? Or was this your first try?
Okay, the one thing I left out was that I was using a small clip, i.e., using the -50MB switch to only process the first 50MB of the file(s). I've confirmed that this may be the source of this problem I'm having, because so far, it has not happened when I do a full process on the entire file or files.

The complete process for Stardust completed successfully.
Code:
eac3to HVDVD_TS\feature_1.evo+HVDVD_TS\feature_2.evo 2: "e:\media\video\movie.mkv"

EVO/VOB, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 2:07:40
1: Joined EVO/VOB file
2: h264/AVC
3: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 1536kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms
4: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 768kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms
5: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 768kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -84ms
Muxing video to Matroska...
Rewriting MKV timecodes by using "mkvmerge". Please wait...

mkvmerge v2.1.0 ('Another Place To Fall') built on Aug 19 2007 13:39:56
'e:\media\video\movie.old.mkv': Using the Matroska demultiplexer.
'e:\media\video\movie.old.mkv' track 1: Using the MPEG-4 part 10 (AVC) video output module.
Track 1 of 'e:\media\video\movie.old.mkv': Extracted the aspect ratio information from the MPEG-4 layer 10 (AVC) video data and set the display dimensions to 1920/1080.
The file 'e:\media\video\movie.mkv' has been opened for writing.
progress: 100%
The cue entries (the index) are being written...
Muxing took 2500 seconds.

eac3to processing took 1 hour, 46 minutes.
Timestamp rewriting took 41 minutes, 44 seconds.
Done.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 04:47   #2153  |  Link
moshmothma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
eac3to v2.11 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* 
* fixed: delay was not applied to lossless audio tracks
Madshi, I remuxed the Matrix Reloaded (truehd) to mkv and flac. The audio is about -500ms off. I am using 2.11. Do I need to use a timecodes file when muxing to mkv? Thanks
moshmothma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 05:12   #2154  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshmothma View Post
Madshi, I remuxed the Matrix Reloaded (truehd) to mkv and flac. The audio is about -500ms off. I am using 2.11. Do I need to use a timecodes file when muxing to mkv? Thanks
Based on the log output of my post right before yours, I think the answer is no.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 09:36   #2155  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chumbo View Post
Okay, the one thing I left out was that I was using a small clip, i.e., using the -50MB switch to only process the first 50MB of the file(s). I've confirmed that this may be the source of this problem I'm having, because so far, it has not happened when I do a full process on the entire file or files.
So another h264 movie that got converted fine. That's good... Originally I was fearing to have a lot of problems with h264 movies.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 09:37   #2156  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshmothma View Post
Madshi, I remuxed the Matrix Reloaded (truehd) to mkv and flac. The audio is about -500ms off. I am using 2.11. Do I need to use a timecodes file when muxing to mkv? Thanks
Can you please run "eac3to feature_1.evo+feature_2.evo" just to get eac3to's summary of your movie files (without doing any conversion) and post the summary here? Thanks. Also please double check that you're really using v2.11. The internet brower cache sometimes gives you an old version when you believe you have downloaded the latest one...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 10:46   #2157  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
I have matrix reloaded hd dvd. No delay is needed. Unless there are different versions of this disc...

Last edited by nautilus7; 22nd December 2007 at 10:53.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 13:26   #2158  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
I can confirm that

Code:
PTM of first video frame = 00000DC7
PTM of last video frame = 15D0DB4F
VC-1 video stream 0 found!
   First PTS = 00000DC7
Dolby TrueHD audio stream 1 found!
   First PTS = 00000DC7
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 13:30   #2159  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Thanks nautilus and Thunderbolt. And is the FLAC track in sync for both of you?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2007, 14:01   #2160  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
didnt test it with the new version, it is just what I copied from ~20 pages back :P

but I just made a remux of the eyes wide shut HD DVD, one time using eac3to for remuxing & flac conversion and the other time with the 'old' way with evodemux rebuilding & separate audio (truehd) demuxing + transforming to flac. and in both cases both tracks, audio and video made in both ways had exact the same length, so I guess its fine. guess Ill stick with the eac3to way then, because it saves me quite some time.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.