Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th April 2007, 00:55   #41  |  Link
g3power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Yes. I did that just a few hours ago. It was slow (aprox. 1-2 fps). The quality was very good, though.

I have been experimenting with 50i->50p for a few month now. The best way I have found until now seems to be Apple Compressor with deinterlacing quality set to better or best. This uses optical flow and is quite slow on both my G5 and Intel machine. It takes about 25x real-time.

With quality set to "fast" (5x real-time) there are very annoying horizontal temporal artefacts in a very short piece of the footage with a barn in the background made out of wooden planks and the camera on a tripod. The same applies to all other methods I have tried.

As the best method I have found to remove the strong video noise from the footage is to use fizick's great fft3d set to an insanely high strength I was looking for a way to get 50i->50p right in AviSynth...
g3power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2007, 18:56   #42  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Yadif is now available in Avidemux too, thanks to the work of Fizick and Mean:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...615#post988615

__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2007, 11:50   #43  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
This post is from Avidemux Board and might be of interest:

Quote:
Originally Posted by mean
In Fizick version there is maybe a bug

Original
Code:
        if (n< (&p->vi)->num_frames)
		next = avs_get_frame(p->child, n+1); // get next frame
	else
		next = avs_get_frame(p->child, (&p->vi)->num_frames-1); // get last frame
I think it should be

Code:
        if (n< (&p->vi)->num_frames-1)   <<<<=== 
		next = avs_get_frame(p->child, n+1); // get next frame
	else
		next = avs_get_frame(p->child, (&p->vi)->num_frames-1); // get last frame
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2007, 23:47   #44  |  Link
ChiDragon
Registered User
 
ChiDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 600
Yeah it should be num_frames-1, since a clip with only frame 0 has num_frames=1, one with frames numbered 0-999 has num_frames=1000, etc. Weird that the actual GetFrame call is correct while the If is wrong. :P
ChiDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 04:47   #45  |  Link
Fizick
AviSynth plugger
 
Fizick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Russia
Posts: 2,183
yes, but Avisynth has internal protection anyway (IMO).
Here is a little more serious problem - processing must be modified for very first and very last frame. May be in some time I will update it.
__________________
My Avisynth plugins are now at http://avisynth.org.ru and mirror at http://avisynth.nl/users/fizick
I usually do not provide a technical support in private messages.
Fizick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2007, 23:46   #46  |  Link
MuLTiTaSK
Registered User
 
MuLTiTaSK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 668
Script Question

DGindex reported my source field order as top and frame rate as 29,97fps i have field operation set to honor pulldown flags so would my script deinterlace my clip and keep the same frame rate i really want to give this filter a try i been hearing so many good things about it i read the manual and think i got it right i just want to make sure with the pros first before i waste a bunch of hours i hope someone can help me thanks in advance



SetMTMode(2)
Load_Stdcall_plugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\yadif.dll")
DGDecode_mpeg2source("G:\CAPS\funny budlight clips.mpg",info=3)
ColorMatrix(hints=true,interlaced=true)
yadif(order=1)
crop( 6, 0, -20, -54)

LanczosResize(640,432) # Lanczos (Sharp)

Last edited by MuLTiTaSK; 16th April 2007 at 23:54.
MuLTiTaSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 04:41   #47  |  Link
Fizick
AviSynth plugger
 
Fizick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Russia
Posts: 2,183
Script is look correct (you may omit order=1 parameter - yadif can get field parity from DGGecode)
But I do not know about MT compatibility.
Yes, Yadif is for real video interlaced sources.
For another case (real NTSC FILM source with puldown) use another deinterlacer (IVTC).
Yadif is new (Avisynth) filter,
so please post your results here.
__________________
My Avisynth plugins are now at http://avisynth.org.ru and mirror at http://avisynth.nl/users/fizick
I usually do not provide a technical support in private messages.
Fizick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 15:39   #48  |  Link
MuLTiTaSK
Registered User
 
MuLTiTaSK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizick View Post
Script is look correct (you may omit order=1 parameter - yadif can get field parity from DGGecode)
But I do not know about MT compatibility.
Yes, Yadif is for real video interlaced sources.
For another case (real NTSC FILM source with puldown) use another deinterlacer (IVTC).
Yadif is new (Avisynth) filter,
so please post your results here.
thanks for replying Fizick i changed my script after reading your
post i played it in MPC & VDubMod it looked good and was very fast i'am impressed so far i'am gonna encode some clips with it and post some results on here thanks for porting this gem into
the Avisynth world

SetMTMode(2)
Load_Stdcall_plugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\yadif.dll")
DGDecode_mpeg2source("H:\yadif_tests\funny_budlight_clips.mpg")
yadif()
crop( 8, 0, -20, -54)

LanczosResize(640,432) # Lanczos (Sharp)
#denoise
MuLTiTaSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 20:13   #49  |  Link
Fizick
AviSynth plugger
 
Fizick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Russia
Posts: 2,183
v0.5 fixed the bug
__________________
My Avisynth plugins are now at http://avisynth.org.ru and mirror at http://avisynth.nl/users/fizick
I usually do not provide a technical support in private messages.
Fizick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 22:35   #50  |  Link
ChiDragon
Registered User
 
ChiDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 600
Code:
	if (n>0)
		prev = avs_get_frame(p->child, n-1); // get previous frame
	else if ((&p->vi)->num_frames > 0)
		prev = avs_get_frame(p->child, 1); // next frame
	else	
		prev = avs_get_frame(p->child, 0); // cur 0 frame for one-frame clip

	if (n < (&p->vi)->num_frames - 1)
		next = avs_get_frame(p->child, n+1); // get next frame
	else if ((&p->vi)->num_frames > 1)
		next = avs_get_frame(p->child, (&p->vi)->num_frames - 2); // prev frame
	else
		next = avs_get_frame(p->child, 0); // cur 0 frame for one-frame clip
Not saying it's wrong, but why are you getting next for prev and prev for next instead of current for both when there's an out-of-bounds access?

Also shouldn't "else if ((&p->vi)->num_frames > 0)" be "> 1" to check for a 1-frame clip? i.e. wouldn't "(&p->vi)->num_frames > 0" always return 1 if the clip has video at all?
ChiDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2007, 04:41   #51  |  Link
Fizick
AviSynth plugger
 
Fizick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Russia
Posts: 2,183
ChiDragon,
1. I like results with prev instead of current.
2. Oopps! it is bug. Fixed in new release (same version number 0.5).
__________________
My Avisynth plugins are now at http://avisynth.org.ru and mirror at http://avisynth.nl/users/fizick
I usually do not provide a technical support in private messages.
Fizick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2007, 22:34   #52  |  Link
Terranigma
*Space Reserved*
 
Terranigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 953
I'll do some tests with this deinterlacer. I've read the document over at your homepage, and what piqued my interest is that it's an adaptive deinterlacer and mode 1. I'll let you know what I think of it when I get a chance.
Terranigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 05:03   #53  |  Link
Video Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,054
Thanks for the port Fizick.

This deinterlace filter is great. I am seeing no motion artifacts and hardly any jagged edges. And the speed is real time or faster on my machine.

Video Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 11:40   #54  |  Link
HeadBangeR77
Registered User
 
HeadBangeR77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 519
Excellent plugin for those with slower PCs, like me for instance
I've just had a quick look at it and encoded a few short samples.

__________________
"Only two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
HeadBangeR77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2007, 05:06   #55  |  Link
chipzoller
Mr. Woof
 
chipzoller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 784
Really great (and fast) plugin for straightforward deinterlacing. Thank you, fizick!
chipzoller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2007, 11:31   #56  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
I like it too and am now using it to generate a 50p feed for ConvertMCfps, Scharfis_Brains standards conversion routine.

However, for rendering 50p material (intended for playback at 50p) I see it is quite susceptible to the 'bobby shimmers' (i.e. vertical jitter of (relatively) static areas) as also are TDeint, SecureBob and to a lesser degree MVBob. MCBob of course does a marvellous job in this department.

I was wondering if there is any simple way of correcting for this (i.e. along the lines of a vertical pixel shift on alternate frames) without screwing up the motion?

Also, as an MPlayer plugin I note that Yadif is often used in combination with MCDeint and some report superior results. I wonder if Fizick (or someone) might consider porting MCDeint to AVISynth too?

Edit: Seems the same question was asked earlier this thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3power View Post
Fizick, Michael recommends using mcdeint in conjuction with yadif. Do you plan to add mcdeint to your port?
to which Lord Mulder commented:

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Did you ever try mcDeint in MPlayer/Mencoder/Avidemux ???
It's slooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow and I can't get satisfactory quality out of it...
Havent used AVIdemux myself, but I'll give it a whirl. Lord Mulder, do you have a link for the Yadif plugin itself? I cant get at the AVIDemux 2.4 build (2934) that you link to above as I do not have a 'Proper Web Browser'

Edit2: OK, got myself a proper browser and dowloaded build 2994 (with yadif included). Tried a few tests with some home DV clips. Yadif 3:0 or 1:0 + MCDeint 2:0:10. Very slow (even slower than MCBob) and quality nothing to write home about.

Last edited by WorBry; 30th April 2007 at 18:15.
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2007, 18:04   #57  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorBry View Post
Havent used AVIdemux myself, but I'll give it a whirl. Lord Mulder, do you have a link for the Yadif plugin itself? I cant get at the AVIDemux 2.4 build (2934) that you link to above as I do not have a 'Proper Web Browser'
You can get latest Avidemux build here:
http://www.razorbyte.com.au/avidemux...2994_win32.exe

Yadif filter is built-in, no Plugin needed for Avidemux

Or did you mean the Avisynth plugin? You can get it form Fizick's site:
http://avisynth.org.ru/fizick.html

And get grid of IE
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2007, 06:24   #58  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
Lord Mulder,

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorBry View Post
Edit2: OK, got myself a proper browser and dowloaded build 2994 (with yadif included). Tried a few tests with some home DV clips. Yadif 3:0 or 1:0 + MCDeint 2:0:10. Very slow (even slower than MCBob) and quality nothing to write home about.
I'm now Opera'tic
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2007, 06:27   #59  |  Link
Chainmax
Huh?
 
Chainmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Uruguay
Posts: 3,103
WorBry, do you think a small addon to the comparison in the "plain deinterlace..." thread with TDeint+TMM and Yadif could be made?
__________________
Read Decomb's readmes and tutorials, the IVTC tutorial and the capture guide in order to learn about combing and how to deal with it.
Chainmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2007, 09:42   #60  |  Link
WorBry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Here, there and everywhere
Posts: 1,197
I still have the source test (interlaced) clips but I'm pretty sure I deleted all of the de-interlaced encodes and the frame shots from them Silly of me I know, but I was desparate for disc space. I could probably do it over again when I have a mo, probably just taking the grabs from the AVS output rather than encoding.

BTW - Whats TMM?

Last edited by WorBry; 1st May 2007 at 09:50.
WorBry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.