Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th June 2019, 02:37   #56541  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
The first screenshot is exactly the same in the SDR version. This kind of thing should be checked before blaming the conversion to SDR. As for the problems of oversaturation, there's not much you can do ATM apart from adjusting the color settings on your TV.
It's not a scene with natural skin tone, so I mean.

Based on what reference are we to say it's Over-saturated ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 04:54   #56542  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 164
Hi everybody,

after I finally got some UHD HDR content (that I cannot play because no HDR displays) I somehow got into experimenting instead of just using x265 / madVR and tried to implement mastering display coloring volume metadata into x264 (since the H.264 spec supports it). Even with some help from x264dev on freenode I wasn't able since I can't do C. In the end someone else wrote a patch with the missing bits.

x264 can do HDR now ... woohoo

Sadly madVR doesn't enable tonemapping as it does for x264 HDR content. I guess it's just not enabled for h264 content?
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 05:04   #56543  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by an3k View Post
Hi everybody,

after I finally got some UHD HDR content (that I cannot play because no HDR displays) I somehow got into experimenting instead of just using x265 / madVR and tried to implement mastering display coloring volume metadata into x264 (since the H.264 spec supports it). Even with some help from x264dev on freenode I wasn't able since I can't do C. In the end someone else wrote a patch with the missing bits.

x264 can do HDR now ... woohoo

Sadly madVR doesn't enable tonemapping as it does for x264 HDR content. I guess it's just not enabled for h264 content?
You can use the hdr=on or transfer=hdr tags for that.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 05:04   #56544  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,823
madVR worked out of the box with VP9 HDR so is the format the same as x265 or did they change something?

my first look here would be at lav filter is it even shipped with that patch?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 05:42   #56545  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
madVR worked out of the box with VP9 HDR so is the format the same as x265 or did they change something?

my first look here would be at lav filter is it even shipped with that patch?
Does the filter / decoder need to be aware of this? The HDR info is inside the bitstream as a SEI.

The patch is currently only on pastebin so basically nothing knows about it /is patched yet.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 05:47   #56546  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,823
i'm not a developer for this but the meta data has to reach madVR.
if the source filter needs to repack the meta data for directshow so the renderer can see it you will need the patch.

lavfilter may not even look for the meta data for obvious reasons.

for VP9 a change in lavfilter was needed to get the meta data to madVR. madVR on the other side didn't care and just worked as soon as it got the meta data.

just wait for nev on this he should know. no need to speculate more on this.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 06:06   #56547  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 613
Hi, maybe the link to the patch can help?

Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 06:18   #56548  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i'm not a developer for this but the meta data has to reach madVR.
if the source filter needs to repack the meta data for directshow so the renderer can see it you will need the patch.

lavfilter may not even look for the meta data for obvious reasons.

for VP9 a change in lavfilter was needed to get the meta data to madVR. madVR on the other side didn't care and just worked as soon as it got the meta data.

just wait for nev on this he should know. no need to speculate more on this.
Yes, that makes sense. Didn't thought about it but just thought it's just passed-through. Thanks for the insight

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastiii View Post
Hi, maybe the link to the patch can help?

Tapatalk
Sorry, absolutely. Here it is https://pastebin.com/nRcBrM3M

Here's the output of h264_parse mpeg4ip version 1.5.0.1 of a file (HEVC HDR to x264 HDR) encoded with a patched x264 https://pastebin.com/cKtUbKUm

Last edited by an3k; 13th June 2019 at 06:26.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 06:26   #56549  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 613
Thanks

Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 12:55   #56550  |  Link
VAMET
UTAVATU
 
VAMET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 47
Dear Friends

I own Lenovo Ideapad 320 i3-7100u with iGPU Intel 620 and GPU GeForce 940MX. I have tried to watch .mkv remux of Gladiator 2160p 23.976 HDR 10bit, but it's not smooth. Rendering is below 41.71ms, but there are lots of dropped frames. Notebook is conntected to my monitor LG 27UK600-W 4K HDR via HDMI cables via Onkyo TX-NR686 (HDMI 2.0b HDCP 2.2).

MPC-HC 1.8.6, madVR 0.92.17, LAV Filters 0.74.1

NVIDIA Control Panel set to maximum performance of 940MX, Windows 10 1809 also 940MX.
LAV Filters - Video Decoder - D3D11 and 940MX

This notebook hardware is to weak to have no frame drops or I am doing something wrong?

Thank you in advance for your help and replies.

Sincerely
__________________
VAMET

ALLEGRO BLOG FACEBOOK
VAMET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 13:29   #56551  |  Link
Grimsdyke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 134
Try D3D11 - Automatic/Native in LAV VideoDecoder and from what I read here 'maximum performance' is not recommend. Try 'balanced'.
Grimsdyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 14:42   #56552  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,476
940MX is used for decoding (see settings window of active LAV Video instance)? According to Wikipedia 940MX is only VP6/Feature Set E, i.e. no good HEVC 10 bit decoding. Or are there more variants? i3-7100u (Kaby Lake) can do it, though.

Next thing is rendering via madvr. Create an empty folder called "ShowRenderSteps" in the madvr folder. Activate madVR OSD (ctrl+j), make a screenshot and post it here.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 17:01   #56553  |  Link
VAMET
UTAVATU
 
VAMET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 47
Dear Friends

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimsdyke View Post
Try D3D11 - Automatic/Native in LAV VideoDecoder and from what I read here 'maximum performance' is not recommend. Try 'balanced'.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
940MX is used for decoding (see settings window of active LAV Video instance)? According to Wikipedia 940MX is only VP6/Feature Set E, i.e. no good HEVC 10 bit decoding. Or are there more variants? i3-7100u (Kaby Lake) can do it, though.

Next thing is rendering via madvr. Create an empty folder called "ShowRenderSteps" in the madvr folder. Activate madVR OSD (ctrl+j), make a screenshot and post it here.
I have reinstalled to the latest madVR and LAV Filters. I have change to default values both softwares and change LAV Video Decoder to D3D11 - Automatic/Native and now I have frame drops only on the launching of movie file and after few seconds there are no more frame drops. When I set LAV Video Decoder other then D3D11 I have frame drops. When I set D3D11 and other then Automatic/Native let say: NVIDIA 940MX or Intel 620 I have also frame drops, so the only one setting works for me Automatic/Native.

I don't know, why automatic exlusive mode is not working and why there is 8bit stated in madVR statistics.

Sincerely
__________________
VAMET

ALLEGRO BLOG FACEBOOK
VAMET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 17:08   #56554  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
The first screenshot is exactly the same in the SDR version. This kind of thing should be checked before blaming the conversion to SDR. As for the problems of oversaturation, there's not much you can do ATM apart from adjusting the color settings on your TV.
Hi. I have managed to check on a HDR display today, and I can say for certain that this DOES NOT happen.

There IS indeed an issue with the conversion, or setting somewhere, so I am still looking for help with this as my first post says.
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 17:36   #56555  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 221
@brad86

Since you are a long time lurker, do you not think more info from your side would help.

Graphics Card/Driver
Version of MadVR, are you using the latest Beta for HDR to SDR as it is still only Beta testing on it at the moment.

Sounds to me like an "overblown reds" if its an ATI card, but since you don't give any info apart from this is broke, please fix it, with no more input from your side,

There a lots of settings in the later Testing builds here, but as I said, they are still testing it, so there may be issues along the way still.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...ector-201.html
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 17:57   #56556  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad86 View Post
Hi. I have managed to check on a HDR display today, and I can say for certain that this DOES NOT happen.

There IS indeed an issue with the conversion, or setting somewhere, so I am still looking for help with this as my first post says.
Evil Dead 2 Remastered BluRay > VLC snapshot.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1shc...ew?usp=sharing
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 18:52   #56557  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
Evil Dead 2 Remastered BluRay > VLC snapshot.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1shc...ew?usp=sharing
Another conversion error then.
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 18:54   #56558  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
@brad86

Since you are a long time lurker, do you not think more info from your side would help.

Graphics Card/Driver
Version of MadVR, are you using the latest Beta for HDR to SDR as it is still only Beta testing on it at the moment.

Sounds to me like an "overblown reds" if its an ATI card, but since you don't give any info apart from this is broke, please fix it, with no more input from your side,

There a lots of settings in the later Testing builds here, but as I said, they are still testing it, so there may be issues along the way still.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...ector-201.html
Using a GTX 970 latest non-beta MadVR ( tried beta too ) in conjunction with PotPlayer.

This issue is also present in MPV Player.
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 19:02   #56559  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
@Daicon
Save this as *.hlsl and load it in MPC-HC. It just convert the gamut to Rec.709 or DCI-P3. You can edit it as a text file, change the gamut option from the second line to DCI-P3 if you get oversaturation.
Do shaders work with madVR and HDR? They only starts with EVR CP.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2019, 19:05   #56560  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 221
@brad86

https://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread...6#post15712176

Post 208.

You also say another conversion issue when someone showed you a screenshot of the "Bluray Remaster", you are not reading the posts.

To sum up its the UHD, nothing else.


Originally Posted by brad86
Hi. I have managed to check on a HDR display today, and I can say for certain that this DOES NOT happen.


And as far as Official/Beta/Testing for HDR to SDR, it has always been a work in progress.
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"

Last edited by madjock; 13th June 2019 at 19:10.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.