Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st July 2016, 23:10   #39001  |  Link
ibius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Doesn't that function actually get the video before madVR has even done scaling? I think it grabs the frame after decoding but before madVR.
'Crop black bars' gets applied to saved images, so madVR is active.

@madshi: speaking of cropping black bars, could we get file name tags for that, please?
Your last reply to leeperry on the subject didn't say whether you would implement it or not.

Last edited by ibius; 31st July 2016 at 23:20.
ibius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 03:11   #39002  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
I don't think that details are missing. The backgrounds look less blurry really, even closer to a clear image
You quoted me for something I didn't say. I ran both through a picture comparison tool and there's little change in detail nothing really noticeable.. It's just the lines which we already know are thinned too aggressively.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 04:23   #39003  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,170
@madshi
I have a mk3d file with the following parameters:
Code:
MultiView_Count                          : 2
MultiView_Layout                         : Side by Side (left eye first)
Is there a way to transform this video to "row interleaved" format? With madVR of course.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 04:26   #39004  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
@madshi
I have a mk3d file with the following parameters:
Code:
MultiView_Count                          : 2
MultiView_Layout                         : Side by Side (left eye first)
Is there a way to transform this video to "row interleaved" format? With madVR of course.
madVR will only accept frame-packed 3D. So, no, it can't be converted.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 05:10   #39005  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
madVR will only accept frame-packed 3D. So, no, it can't be converted.
SBS or TAB are just 2D, so of course madVR can accept them. It can output row interleaved too. However, I don't know if you can tell madVR that a 2D input video is a certain type of 3D and have it handle it accordingly.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 09:30   #39006  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,828
that's what warner is saying.

in it's current state madVR only detects frame packed 3D as 3D and it can only convert these. more 3D features where planned AFAIK like the feature Volt is talking about reading some flags in mkv and convert the input to the selected output.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 15:04   #39007  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I can make IMO 480 anime look similar to 720 content. It's all about having a firm yet gentle hand, it's easy to over do it.
The after image linked was too heavy a hand. If you compare the red and yellow bows they wear, especially the one in the center, the yellow portions have actually shrunk and are now smaller than they were before by several mm.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 15:39   #39008  |  Link
fhoech
Registered User
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
how does your 3d lut know the brightness of the file?
It doesn't. All that it knows is the HDR peak brightness (of the display), as set during 3D LUT creation, then applies the BT.2390 rolloff + saturation adjustment, then maps into the display colorspace (with imo great results btw, my implementation has come some way in the past three weeks and will be available in the next version of DisplayCAL). Of course, a 3D LUT cannot react to dynamic metadata, which could be seen as a drawback. So far, I don't think it matters much, though.

Quote:
I'm afriad it's not in the current versions from v0.90.22:
Sure, I know that. I'm currently working around it by having two versions of the files: One with HDR metadata (handled by madVR's HDR implementation) and one without (HDR handled by the 3D LUT). The only thing that's a little bothersome when I do comparisons is that I have to remove the HDR 3D LUT when using madVR's HDR, otherwise the HDR processing is done twice (once from madVR itself and once through the 3D LUT).

Quote:
You can try v0.90.20: if it's working there you can ask madshi to revert/modify that change.
When I downgrade I won't be able to easily do comparisons. Having a way to disable madVR's HDR processing but not disable the 3D LUT would be useful. Notifying @madshi.
fhoech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 16:41   #39009  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
For some reason I keep going back to Jinc for all my scaling needs. It seems to look more natural and has almost no artifacts unlike the other scalers.

NNEDI3 128 does look quite good. 256 looks a tiny bit better, but my 1080 GTX tends to get hot with that setting and the render times are at about 39 ms, which is too close to the frame time of 24p content. Should I lower the setting if the max sometimes hits 45 ms, but the average is around 30 ms? I'd ideally want the max under the 41.7 ms of 24p content?
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 16:54   #39010  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,132
As long as the average is below 1/refresh and you don't get dropped or repeated frames, it's fine. The max could be a problem if your buffers / queues are small.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 17:24   #39011  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
It doesn't. All that it knows is the HDR peak brightness (of the display), as set during 3D LUT creation, then applies the BT.2390 rolloff + saturation adjustment, then maps into the display colorspace (with imo great results btw, my implementation has come some way in the past three weeks and will be available in the next version of DisplayCAL). Of course, a 3D LUT cannot react to dynamic metadata, which could be seen as a drawback. So far, I don't think it matters much, though.
using MPC-BE with internal codecs could work as a work around.

madVR should get the bt 2020 information but not the HDR infos and if i'm not mistaken that is what you want.

i will for sure try your new 3D LUT.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 17:42   #39012  |  Link
fhoech
Registered User
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
using MPC-BE with internal codecs could work as a work around.

madVR should get the bt 2020 information but not the HDR infos and if i'm not mistaken that is what you want.
Good point, I will try that, thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i will for sure try your new 3D LUT.
I'll likely post it in the madVR/Argyll thread on AVSforum when it becomes available. Currently the changes are only in version control.
fhoech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 19:38   #39013  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
Good point, I will try that, thanks.


I'll likely post it in the madVR/Argyll thread on AVSforum when it becomes available. Currently the changes are only in version control.
don't worry i will find it i just need my TV back first.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 20:07   #39014  |  Link
wolfman2791
Registered User
 
wolfman2791's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 56
Is it me or is there no difference between chroma upscaling with super xbr compared to nnedi... my gpu can handle both fine. But i don't see any reason to use up the additional resources. Am I wrong in my assessment?
wolfman2791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 20:40   #39015  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfman2791 View Post
Is it me or is there no difference between chroma upscaling with super xbr compared to nnedi... my gpu can handle both fine. But i don't see any reason to use up the additional resources. Am I wrong in my assessment?
No, your assessment is accurate. You've discovered how difficult it is to detect changes to the chroma layer.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2016, 20:57   #39016  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
There are some clips where the difference is more visible, but it's usually really hard to tell, especially in motion. The only reason to use high quality upscaling for chroma is when you have a lot of power left over - chroma usually only has a quarter as many pixels as luma, so high quality upscaling is relatively inexpensive.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2016, 01:41   #39017  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You quoted me for something I didn't say. I ran both through a picture comparison tool and there's little change in detail nothing really noticeable.. It's just the lines which we already know are thinned too aggressively.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Oh, sorry for quoting you on the wrong reply.

At any rate, we both can agree that the thinning is very aggressive, that's totally true! I just happen to enjoy it with a lot of content





Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
For some reason I keep going back to Jinc for all my scaling needs. It seems to look more natural and has almost no artifacts unlike the other scalers.

NNEDI3 128 does look quite good. 256 looks a tiny bit better, but my 1080 GTX tends to get hot with that setting and the render times are at about 39 ms, which is too close to the frame time of 24p content. Should I lower the setting if the max sometimes hits 45 ms, but the average is around 30 ms? I'd ideally want the max under the 41.7 ms of 24p content?
You're playing FHD content and getting these times?

I imagined that after getting an 1080 I would finally be able to do 4k + NNEDI 256 neurons
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2016, 03:38   #39018  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfman2791 View Post
Is it me or is there no difference between chroma upscaling with super xbr compared to nnedi... my gpu can handle both fine. But i don't see any reason to use up the additional resources. Am I wrong in my assessment?
As Ver said the differences are extremely minor. Super-xbr is your best bang for buck and the main choice I think for most in the forum as it's relatively inexpensive in comparison to NNEDI3, just make sure to tick anti-ringing.

Last edited by ryrynz; 2nd August 2016 at 03:41.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2016, 03:39   #39019  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
For some reason I keep going back to Jinc for all my scaling needs. It seems to look more natural and has almost no artifacts unlike the other scalers.

NNEDI3 128 does look quite good. 256 looks a tiny bit better, but my 1080 GTX tends to get hot with that setting and the render times are at about 39 ms, which is too close to the frame time of 24p content. Should I lower the setting if the max sometimes hits 45 ms, but the average is around 30 ms? I'd ideally want the max under the 41.7 ms of 24p content?
I wouldn't recommend 256 neurons it's really not worth it, don't let the max render time get that high and accept that extra heat and noise for something you won't even notice.
There's significant diminishing returns past 64 neurons.

Last edited by ryrynz; 2nd August 2016 at 12:58.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2016, 03:40   #39020  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
Oh, sorry for quoting you on the wrong reply.

At any rate, we both can agree that the thinning is very aggressive, that's totally true! I just happen to enjoy it with a lot of content







You're playing FHD content and getting these times?

I imagined that after getting an 1080 I would finally be able to do 4k + NNEDI 256 neurons
My monitor is 1440p, so I can't really test 4K unless I downscale.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.