Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st May 2016, 17:06   #38201  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
How does a 3D LUT impact performance? I noticed my render times going up and down sharply while using one.
I have this same issue on my GTX 650 running a QHD (2560x1440) monitor under Windows 10. I'm guessing it has to do with insufficient video RAM on the card and moving things back and forth between the card and system RAM, but I'm not certain. I plan to replace it with a GTX 1070 shortly so I haven't spent a lot of time trying to sort it out.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2016, 17:25   #38202  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
I have this same issue on my GTX 650 running a QHD (2560x1440) monitor under Windows 10. I'm guessing it has to do with insufficient video RAM on the card and moving things back and forth between the card and system RAM, but I'm not certain. I plan to replace it with a GTX 1070 shortly so I haven't spent a lot of time trying to sort it out.
I have a feeling there's more processing involved and when the video content changes (higher bitrate?) that causes a spike in render time. I've seen it go up as much as 15 ms. I hope madshi can go into detail on this.

To alleviate this, I setup a key to toggle debanding. It's usually not a big deal to me if it's off, but it saves performance.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2016, 17:37   #38203  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,823
bitrate has nothing to do with this.

the decoding queue would fall first and the rendertime wouldn't spike.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2016, 18:32   #38204  |  Link
Patrik G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 58
Someone has uploaded a bunch of LG HDR demos and they look amazing!
those that works with madvr are the HDR10 videos
the Dolby Vision clips works but madvr doesnt detect them as HDR and so they look washed out.

Enjoy
https://www.avforums.com/threads/pan...#post-23694482

the rest
https://mega.nz/#F!aBAGBJBb!vGOiLiLo9HT7fBA1qww3-Q

List of the HDR10 videos:
LG_2_DEMO_4K_L_H_01_Daylight.lge
LG_2_DEMO_4K_L_H_02_UHD HDR Tech.lge
LG_2_DEMO_4K_L_H_03_Daylight.lge
LG_2_DEMO_4K_L_H_04_UHD HDR Tech.lge
LG_2_DEMO_4K_L_H_05_Rays of Light.lge
LG_2_DEMO_4K_O_H_3_NASA HDR.lge
LG_2_DEMO_4K_O_H_4_Colors of Journey.lge
LG_2_DEMO_4K_O_H_5_Chess.lge
LG_2_DEMO_4K_O_H_6_Cymatic Jazz.lge
LG_2_DEMO_4K_O_H_7_OLED HDR Tech.lge

rename the videos to "MKV"


Last edited by Patrik G; 31st May 2016 at 20:47.
Patrik G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2016, 19:02   #38205  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
I have a feeling there's more processing involved and when the video content changes (higher bitrate?) that causes a spike in render time. I've seen it go up as much as 15 ms. I hope madshi can go into detail on this.

To alleviate this, I setup a key to toggle debanding. It's usually not a big deal to me if it's off, but it saves performance.
On my GTX 650 the render time oscillates / bounces up and down significantly when the 3D LUT is enabled and playback is full screen. When it's in a window not being scaled to 1440p it does not. Hence my blaming RAM. On my R9 380 connected to my TV (FHD) the 3D LUT doesn't change the render times in any appreciable fashion.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 10:09   #38206  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrik G View Post
Someone has uploaded a bunch of LG HDR demos and they look amazing!
Based on what I've seen in store with the Sony HDR demos playing back in HDR and non HDR on an LG 70UH635T the difference isn't as great as the image you posted would make it seem, in fact not even close.
HDR is more realistic sure, provides more depth to the image sure but the Rec.709 picture in no way looks washed out at all.
Typical marketing overdoing it, it's pretty common in the industry.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 17:06   #38207  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
Pretty OT but yeah, do we even care for HDR at all? 3D kept crapping out and eventually went belly up twice so they figured they'd have to come up with some brand new sales bs but at the end of the day does it even matter to us? My current mVR rig certainly doesn't look washed out hah.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 18:46   #38208  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Given the system specs listed below and lack of HDR display, what Nits value should I set for HDR Peal Luminance setting? I would like the image to be as accurate as possible...
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 19:11   #38209  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,823
it depends on how bright your display can get so there is no answer.

there is no correct way anyway because there is no clear spec on how to compress the dynamic range.

TV are just doing what they want.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 19:48   #38210  |  Link
spon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
MadVr with GTX 960 for x265 playback

Hi everyone,

First I would just like to thank @madshi for such a wonderful product. I've been using MadVR for a few years now, but never really dove too deep into the settings until recently. I did a search in this thread and read through the last 15-20 pages before posting, so I hope this hasn't already been covered.

I upgraded my GPU to a GTX 960 a few weeks ago to specifically help with HEVC x265 playback. For non-x265 content, I am able to get smooth playback of 720p and 1080p sources to my 1080p plasma TV (Samsung PN64D7000) with MadVR rendering a fantastic picture. However, I am still having some issues playing back 1080p x265 content. I am can normally get smooth playback around 1200 kbps or under, but even in that range on some videos I get rendering times that jump well over 40+ on occasion. If I pause the playback (or even better, stop playback) and restart, the playback will be smooth for a while again. Higher bitrate x265 videos (2500 kbps +) will be well over 40-50 rendering times.

Sorry for the long-winded post, but my main question is this... Is my CPU potentially bottlenecking the GTX 960? My understanding was that the 960 decodes x265 content without the processor, but I could be totally off-base on that. I do have a under-powered CPU (AMD A6-6400k) so I'm guessing that's the culprit, but before I invest in a better CPU and new motherboard, I would just like to make sure that my thinking is correct.

Thanks guys!
spon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 21:07   #38211  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,713
I'd try disabling deband fade- and black bar detection.
Are you using the latest LAV filters and what are your settings for it?
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 22:19   #38212  |  Link
spon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I'd try disabling deband fade- and black bar detection.
Are you using the latest LAV filters and what are your settings for it?
Thanks for the reply. I never even thought about the LAV filters. I don't think I've updated those settings for a couple of years, but I do think I have the latest version. I'm playing media through Emby and I believe the latest version contains the latest LAV. However, I haven't updated anything in LAV so the settings are probably messing me up.

Screenshot below. Thanks again.
Attached Images
 
spon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 23:19   #38213  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by spon View Post
Thanks for the reply. I never even thought about the LAV filters. I don't think I've updated those settings for a couple of years, but I do think I have the latest version. I'm playing media through Emby and I believe the latest version contains the latest LAV. However, I haven't updated anything in LAV so the settings are probably messing me up.

Screenshot below. Thanks again.
It sounds like hardware acceleration isn't functional.

Set LAV Video to allow hardware acceleration with DXVA2 (copy-back) and check the checkbox for HEVC. This will prevent the CPU from decoding this format.

Try this link for more detailed setup: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?...541#pid1843541

Last edited by Warner306; 1st June 2016 at 23:32.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 23:51   #38214  |  Link
spon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
[QUOTE=Warner306;1769223]It sounds like hardware acceleration isn't functional.

Set LAV Video to allow hardware acceleration with DXVA2 (copy-back) and check the checkbox for HEVC. This will prevent the CPU from decoding this format.

Try this link for more detailed setup: [URL="[/QUOTE]

Thanks Warner. I've read a lot of your work in various forums over the past few months. Really appreciate it.
spon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2016, 00:22   #38215  |  Link
spon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
[QUOTE=Warner306;1769223]It sounds like hardware acceleration isn't functional.

Set LAV Video to allow hardware acceleration with DXVA2 (copy-back) and check the checkbox for HEVC. This will prevent the CPU from decoding this format.

Try this link for more detailed setup: [URL="[/QUOTE]

Ok, so I think the problem is with Emby playback itself. Here is what I've found.

My LAV Filters are set up to with HEVC checked and DXVA2 (copy-back). When I play a HEVC file with MPC and check the LAV Video Settings during playback, I will see the HEVC box checked. However, when I play back the same file in Emby using the MadVR rendering, the HEVC box is NOT checked.

Checking the MadVR on-screen stats, I'll see that the average rendering time is around 11-12 ms, so plenty low. But the max render will jump to 50+ and sometimes 100+ ms. Very strange. Even when the average stays consistent around 12 ms, I still see dropped frames every few seconds.
spon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2016, 03:35   #38216  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,823
can you make a screen from the OSD?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2016, 04:43   #38217  |  Link
spon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
can you make a screen from the OSD?
Attached. Thanks!
Attached Images
 
spon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2016, 05:06   #38218  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by spon View Post
Attached. Thanks!
Upload it somewhere else and link it.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2016, 06:42   #38219  |  Link
spon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Upload it somewhere else and link it.
My bad.

http://tinypic.com/r/dzxpqb/9
spon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2016, 06:47   #38220  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
That happens to me too, honestly I never pay attention to those max stats.. I think this is actually normal.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.