Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th February 2016, 19:01   #36001  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
madVR v0.90.8 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* fixed: downscaling "a lot" on some GPUs/drivers produced nearest neighbor
* fixed: NNEDI3 doubling + SSIM downscaling could result in green tint
This will probably be the last build until next weekend.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 19:09   #36002  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
"Extreme sharpness" is not per se afflicted by artifacts, what's the problem? I really like the sharpness and there's not haloing and not much aliasing (at least with the clean SSIM configuration).
You might have a point but the problem is that both SR's with a strength of 1 are already very sharp so in combination with NNEDI3 it's all very seriously sharp and "clean" SSIM makes it even sharper, I'm in the market for a sharper CR AR LL and SSIM in .4 was just that. Anyway, I'll play around with bicubic downscaling as it comes with a whopping number of six sharpness levels
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 19:18   #36003  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
For those interested, here's another comparison, downscaling soccer *a lot*, to simulate "pip" (picture in picture) use:



From what I can see "SSIM detailed" reproduces the texture of the soccer field with the best detail, but the white circle in the middle is terribly aliased. Would be nice if we could combine the best of SSIM "detailed" and "clean" into one algorithm, I guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
I'm in the market for a sharper CR AR LL
In that case simply use Bicubic AR LL. Catmull-Rom is identical to Bicubic50. So if you just want something a little bit sharper, try Bicubic75 AR LL, or maybe Bicubic100 AR LL.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 19:32   #36004  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
This will probably be the last build until next weekend.
Thanks for your continuous efforts to keep madVR bugfree. I assume it works totally reliably for most people due to this.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 20:22   #36005  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
This question was not answered yesterday and buried in subsequent posts:

Can someone tell me the purpose of the option to turn off 3D in the operating system?
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 20:40   #36006  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Yes, it was answered.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 20:49   #36007  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Can someone tell me the purpose of the option to turn off 3D in the operating system?
It was answered, but the thread is moving fast.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
In 3D mode some GPUs stay in frame packed output mode. Which means the display stays in 3D mode all the time. 3D mode may have a different calibration (e.g. a different gamma curve to make up for the light loss caused by using active shutter). Also it may flicker a bit when using active shutter.

Another reason is that NVidia GPUs like to crash when staying in 3D mode, and then playing back 2D content through D3D11 with madVR.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 21:54   #36008  |  Link
iSunrise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
For those interested, here's another comparison, downscaling soccer *a lot*, to simulate "pip" (picture in picture) use:
I would go for clean any day on this one. I actually am quite impressed how clean manages to improve sharpness compared to Lanczos, while only showing very little aliasing, which is what I personally find already pretty optimal.

When looking at the detailed image, it's not just the circle that looks quite nasty, but also the score banner and it's fonts that actually look blocky now, and the playtime clock (look at the 3, which is almost complete destroyed) is barely readable anymore, which is already going into the opposite direction of what we're trying to achieve. Also the banner background color gradient suddenly looks wrong compared to Catmull or Lanczos.

At most, I would let clean be like it is, while you could try and tune "detailed" to maybe be even better than clean. Remember though that what we're seeing with detailed is a heavily modified image in some parts, which is what I would keep away from at all cost.

EDIT: When comparing this on a high DPI display like an iPad 3 (sRGB at about 2.2-2.3 gamma) the playtime clock is becoming perfectly readable with clean (great improvement to Lanczos, Catmull and Bicubic), while on the detailed image I am not able to discern the 3 anymore, it looks like "]". With clean, the whole image gets a nice increase of sharpness, and readability and visibility of fine detail is improved, but not to the point of being obtrusive, like the detailed one is.

Last edited by iSunrise; 9th February 2016 at 22:08.
iSunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 22:14   #36009  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
Why didn't we settle on simply bicubic50 or 75 (instead of catmull) when downscaling was long ago discussed?
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 22:36   #36010  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
Why didn't we settle on simply bicubic50 or 75 (instead of catmull) when downscaling was long ago discussed?
Catmull-Rom is Bicubic50. Many of the cubic interpolations are simply named after the person(s) that made them popular, but are in a very similar category.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 00:08   #36011  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSunrise View Post
EDIT: When comparing this on a high DPI display like an iPad 3 (sRGB at about 2.2-2.3 gamma) the playtime clock is becoming perfectly readable with clean (great improvement to Lanczos, Catmull and Bicubic), while on the detailed image I am not able to discern the 3 anymore, it looks like "]". With clean, the whole image gets a nice increase of sharpness, and readability and visibility of fine detail is improved, but not to the point of being obtrusive, like the detailed one is.
If you are not viewing the image at a 1:1 pixel ratio, scaling is going on. If you have a high DPI display, the image should look tiny, if it doesn't the OS is scaling up the image for you.
So in these scenarios it's not really much use to take note on it.
(Ignore the above if you are certain you are viewing at 1:1 pixel ratio, and not 1:1 "image size")
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 01:33   #36012  |  Link
Telion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 78
Hello madshi!

I think there is some sort of memory leak introduced in v0.90.4.
In v0.90.3 and before it was like this: I start blank MPC-BE and it takes ~10M of memory. Then I open the video and pause the playback - the player takes for example ~400M. Then I close the file (Ctrl-C) - the player now takes ~40M. But now with the same procedure, after I close the file the player still takes ~300M. The problem is that if I play several files one after another without closing the player, the memory footprint keeps growing with each file, which wasn't the case in previous versions. Everything was tested with the same file and settings, only madVR builds were changed and the player restarted after each try. Please take a look into this issue.
Telion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 01:57   #36013  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telion View Post
I think there is some sort of memory leak introduced in v0.90.4.
Can't reproduce any leak with 1165 beta and madVR 0.090.8 with my files. Could be certain settings? Could you upload your settings.dat?
What content are you playing?

0.90.8 does use a little more memory than 0.90.3.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 02:36   #36014  |  Link
MrBonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
It was answered, but the thread is moving fast.
So these crashes would specifically be happening in Dx11 only because the card is in 3D mode but MadVR wants to use 2D mode?

Or rather is it the typical crashes and instability of the 3D mode clocks because of GPU Boost's inability to keep stable voltage levels.
MrBonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 02:39   #36015  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
It was answered, but the thread is moving fast.
Ok, thanks. So I take it the recommendation is to disable OS 3D settings in most situations?
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 05:30   #36016  |  Link
macycat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Bug when changing video file???

madshi, I originally wrote this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by macycat View Post
It looks like I found a problem created between madVR v0.89.12 and v0.89.13. It took some time to track this down

since I hadn't upgraded in quite a long time.

The problem occurs with 1080i59 content (recorded with HDPVR), but does not seem to be a problem with 1080p23 content. While playing a

1080i59 video file, if I double click on another 1080i59 video file to play it in the same video player window, I get a blank screen

with sound from the new video. I also previously was able to drag the video player window from one screen to another screen with no

problems (just a minor pause in playback), but that now usually gives a blank screen with audio playing with an occasional DirectX fails

to render crash.

MPC-HC 1.7.10 (64-bit)
LAV Filters 0.67.0
madVR 0.89.12 - ok
madVR 0.89.13 - fail

Windows 7 64-bit
NVIDIA GTX 670 video card

madVR settings:
D3D9 overlay
NV12, 8 bit, 4:2:0
movie 29.970 fps (says source filter)
movie 1920x1080, 16:9
touch window from outside
chroma > Jinc AR
image < Lanczos3 AR
vsync 16.68ms, frame 16.68ms
matrix BT.709 (says upstream)
primaries BT.709 (says upstream)
limited range (says upstream)
deinterlacing on (settings)
...

I haven't updated for quite a while, but with all the great work being done, I thought I would give the 3D playback a try. That is when

I noticed the problem described above.

Thanks for all the great features and hard work.
Then I sent a debug log per your request. I missed your followup request:

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Hmmm... The log shows Direct3D reporting a weird error code, and I can't reproduce the problem on my PC. Might

have to create some test builds. Are you up for testing them?
I certainly can do whatever testing that you request

I noticed in the changelog for v0.90.7 that "* fixed: some problems when moving madVR to a different monitor", so I tried that version out. I had the exactly the same results as reported above. I noticed the need to press play/pause once or twice as MokrySedeS reported:

Quote:
Originally Posted by MokrySedeS View Post
Hi madshi, I have two very similar issues.
1. When I drag mpc-hc window from one display to another the playback pauses and I have to press Play/Pause button twice to resume. It

was introduced in the latest .7 version. It happens every time in both D3D9 and D3D11.
2. When the player picks up another file from the playlist and madVR switches to different refresh rate - the playback pauses. What's

interesting is that in D3D9 I only need to press Play/Pause once to resume, twice in D3D11. Also, it happens only from time to time,

more often in D3D11 than D3D9. This was introduced earlier but I'm not sure in which version exactly.
Not sure if these issues are related. Just let me know how I can help, and I will do some testing.
macycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 06:04   #36017  |  Link
sarah180
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Cycling through profiles sometimes skips profiles

I've been having an issue with profile cycling in madVR v0.90.8, (I think it was present in some other recent versions, but I'm not certain). Specifically, the keyboard shortcut for one of my profile groups only cycles through a subset of the profiles that exist for my group.

In detail:
  • I currently have three different upscaling profiles that I use: "Standard", "Bad" and "Doubled"
  • I have a keyboard shortcut (Ctrl+Shift+U) to cycle among the group.
  • The keyboard shortcut works, but it never cycles to "Doubled".
  • Instead, it cycles "Auto" → "Standard" → "Bad" → "Auto".

This worked for me in older versions of madVR, for some definition of "older," though I somewhat recently reset all my settings. All three of the profiles have different names and settings. I tried adding a fourth and I still only cycle between the first two (plus "auto").

Strangely, I have another profile group for image enhancement with three profiles and it cycles among all three plus "auto" correctly.

This is obviously more an inconvenience than a serious bug, as I can create direct keyboard shortcuts.

Thanks!
sarah180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 06:40   #36018  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarah180 View Post
This worked for me in older versions of madVR, for some definition of "older," though I somewhat recently reset all my settings. All three of the profiles have different names and settings. I tried adding a fourth and I still only cycle between the first two (plus "auto").
You can download old versions of madVR here and possibly determine the last version that worked for you.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 08:47   #36019  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBonk View Post
So these crashes would specifically be happening in Dx11 only because the card is in 3D mode but MadVR wants to use 2D mode?

Or rather is it the typical crashes and instability of the 3D mode clocks because of GPU Boost's inability to keep stable voltage levels.
It is a software based crash, not hardware. Maybe on the OS level.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Ok, thanks. So I take it the recommendation is to disable OS 3D settings in most situations?
Yes, usually, especially on Windows 10.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2016, 11:31   #36020  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
In that case simply use Bicubic AR LL. Catmull-Rom is identical to Bicubic50. So if you just want something a little bit sharper, try Bicubic75 AR LL, or maybe Bicubic100 AR LL.
Yep thanks, that's my plan indeed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
downscaling soccer *a lot*, to simulate "pip"
But mVR only allows one instance IIRC, are you implying that someday there might be a TV with mVR taking care of picture processing?

One thing's for sure upscales on HDTV look ludicrous compared to what mVR could do, even arteHD falls short.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.