Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th March 2015, 13:52   #13181  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
That comment was from 2010, it certainly doesn't apply anymore today.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 19:46   #13182  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,176
Another reason why we should dump ArcSoft Decoder
Code:
a05 The Arcsoft DTS Decoder only allows one operation at a time.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 19:11   #13183  |  Link
Bigmango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Another reason why we should dump ArcSoft Decoder
Code:
a05 The Arcsoft DTS Decoder only allows one operation at a time.
This is a problem of eac3to.

Makemkv uses arcsoft and does as many parallel conversions on the fly as you want, with the same arcsoft dll.

... and it does all of this in 1 shot demuxing - correcting audio gaps - converting and remuxing on the fly.

With makemkv I have converted movies with 4 DTS-HDMA tracks to flac in 1 shot without any issues at all.
Bigmango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 00:52   #13184  |  Link
lolo258
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
eac3to 3.29 and Dolby Atmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
eac3to v3.28 released

Please note that some of these changes have been implemented without a lot of testing. So it would be great if you guys could double check things, especially the changes, to make sure they really work as intended. Also please make sure TrueHD decoding still works losslessly, as usual (even for non-Atmos tracks). I've hacked Atmos "support" into the old ffmpeg version I've been using for years, so I wouldn't have to update to the latest ffmpeg version. Don't have much time atm, so I tried to do the most important stuff with the least amount of work.
Hi, I've done some test on TrueHD and TrueHD with Atmos stream, eac3to can decode pure TrueHD very well, but I've tested 4 Atoms streams, it both shows some differences on bit depth, I don't know if it means lossy or not.

TrueHD track:


Atmos track-1:


Atmos track-2:


Atmos track-3:


Atmos track-4:


If you need Atmos streams for testing, please download:

https://mega.co.nz/#!RdYBDLwC!K2tmsD...OcfDn4mDGHRO4U

https://mega.co.nz/#!dFQm2agR!JfMupN...FOWzTEsIHr7e2w

https://mega.co.nz/#!pRYXjBza!0hOdOa...qN_8I4EUmQOvoI

https://mega.co.nz/#!JBZFzZ4J!P2mQca...sjjUuMXraD0xrg
lolo258 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 00:58   #13185  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
That looks alright to me. It's quite common to see things like that with TrueHD tracks.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 01:35   #13186  |  Link
lolo258
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
That looks alright to me. It's quite common to see things like that with TrueHD tracks.
Thanks, because some people in my country who just purchased new Atmos receiver, they don't (want to) believe that PC can use the almighty eac3to to decode Atmos stream, so I need to prove to them.

Another question, Do you think Lav Filter 0.64 can decode Atmos stream like eac3to?

lolo258 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 01:39   #13187  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolo258 View Post
decode Atmos
If you mean ignore the Atmos extension and deliver just TrueHD, then it should.

To get actual Atmos audio as it is advertised, you need to play the disc through the BD player to the Atmos-enabled receiver.
And probably check settings in the player so that it reads Atmos audio and not discarding it to deliver regular TrueHD extension.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 06:00   #13188  |  Link
lolo258
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
If you mean ignore the Atmos extension and deliver just TrueHD, then it should.

To get actual Atmos audio as it is advertised, you need to play the disc through the BD player to the Atmos-enabled receiver.
And probably check settings in the player so that it reads Atmos audio and not discarding it to deliver regular TrueHD extension.
So your meant eac3to can't actual decode Atmos, but only decode the TrueHD, Thanks.
lolo258 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 06:28   #13189  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolo258 View Post
So your meant eac3to can't actual decode Atmos, but only decode the TrueHD, Thanks.
Taken from the LAV filters thread, regarding any Atmos decoding...
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
so I guess the only thing now missing is a free Dolby Atmos decoder?
That will quite certainly stay missing. Atmos relies on measuring the equipment to achieve optimal utilization.
Since it works in a 3D atmosphere.
Actual 3D with height, width, and depth (not DSP on receivers that create a 'center' speaker using front left+right speakers).
Height is a new aspect for receivers. A seemingly discreet new aspect.

You still get 7.1 (2D; width+depth), though. Which ain't all that bad.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 17:58   #13190  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,666
There are also Dolby Atmos trailers there ;
http://www.demo-world.eu/2d-demo-trailers-hd/

I extracted the sound in thd+ac3 and I see with eac3to that it still contains the Atmos extension ; does it mean eac3to can't remove the Atmos extension if one need only True HD ?
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 18:37   #13191  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music Fan View Post
does it mean eac3to can't remove the Atmos extension if one need only True HD ?
If you're just extracting (demuxing), it shouldn't be a big deal since anything that can't read Atmos will read just the TrueHD.
Most software is updated to use ffmpeg patch to ignore Atmos and most hardware is already designed to not read the Atmos extension if it's not supported.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 20:31   #13192  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
Personally, I wouldn't even know how to reliably remove the Atmos extension, and I wrote the patch for the ffmpeg truehd decoder to ignore it during decoding, so i'm somewhat versed in the topic. It would probably need quite complex bitstream manipulation.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 16:21   #13193  |  Link
Libeluratio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Yep, before I use 3.29, with 3.28 I have the same results.

EDIT:
MakeMkv: bit-identical to ArcSoft (same dstdecoderdll.dll)

BTW, the differences between ArcSoft and DcaDec aren't audibles (-108 dB)
Differences may not be audible, but this means that at least one of the two decoders (arcsoft and/or dcadec) is'nt bit-exact decoding the source...


I have an other problem decoding a 5.1 DTS-HD MA file from french Bluray movie "La French". every 6 channels decoded from dcadec is different from the 6 decoded by arcsoft (v1.1.0.8)...!!

Here is a screen I made after opening the Center channels in audacity: top is decoded with dcadec, bottom decoded with arcsoft. It is the same for every other 5 channels (channel decoded with dcadec seems to be at a higher volume).



In this case again, at least one of the two decoders is doing wrong
Libeluratio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 23:14   #13194  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Libeluratio View Post
Differences may not be audible, but this means that at least one of the two decoders (arcsoft and/or dcadec) is'nt bit-exact decoding the source...
Yes, but we can't know what without the sources.
Please send your samples to DcaDec developers.

By the moment the unique differences I see in my samples the DcaDec was the bit-exact decoder.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 09:27   #13195  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
- Here is the full test files DTS-MA: https://www.sendspace.com/file/mtejw5
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Libeluratio View Post
Here is what I get with that sample:

From Arcosft v1.1.0.0:
channel L MD5: d063bd2fa3fc061c53e355e95d0d13ba
channel R MD5: e5ddeb27e0d35932a9298f3802d50f44


From DcaDec
channel L MD5: fe53588e9dbe05b3b58bcdc820daa5ff
channel R MD5: e078126224c5c465b9ee2dff349935a3

And if I compare them with tools like VBinDiff as on the picture attached to my previous post, I see differences a well.
Could you please report this here?

https://github.com/foo86/dcadec/issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
It's great the external dependency for DTS-HD decoding is gone, if you also want to remove the Haali muxer dependency at one time maybe this project could be helpful:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/yamka
There are several MKV muxers available out there. I've no idea which one is "the best". In any case, I currently don't have time to change the MKV muxing. I added dcadec mostly because of the 7.1 decoding issues with ArcSoft. Of course the other advantages of dcadec are welcome, too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
By the moment the unique differences I see in my samples the DcaDec was the bit-exact decoder.
That's what the dcadec developer said, too. I had a couple of samples with which didn't decode bit-by-bit perfectly when comparing ArcSoft and dcadec, and the dcadec developer said then whenever he had this problem, and the original WAV files to compare to, it was dcadec which was bit perfect and not ArcSoft. But this is hard to proof if the original WAV files are not available, of course.

-------

So is there a consensus on dcadec yet? Should I make it the default DTS decoder in eac3to? Opinions?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 09:56   #13196  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
There are several MKV muxers available out there. I've no idea which one is "the best"
For me at least, I don't know for Stax76, the "issue" with Haali muxer is the dependency of the Haali splitter.

You have to install them both at the same time.

If you know a way to install just the muxer, please share.

Also, it's just another external installer dependency of eac3to that we could avoid, using any other equally good project.
__________________
Win 10 x64 (18363.476) - Core i3-9100F - nVidia 1660 (436.15)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 10:26   #13197  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Sure, I also have to hack around to make the Haali Muxer work well (I manually edit/hack the final MKV file to enter the "FPS" information, which is otherwise missing). I would really like to replace the MKV muxer, but my day has only 24hours, and I've so many other things to do. Currently madVR has a higher development priority than eac3to...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 11:16   #13198  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chamber 36
Posts: 5,855
How about this idea, if the Haali COM components are not registered in the system, check if the libraries are in the eac3to folder and use them directly, COM libraries can be used directly, right?
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 11:39   #13199  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Hmmmm. Yes, that could work.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 12:24   #13200  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
...
So is there a consensus on dcadec yet? Should I make it the default DTS decoder in eac3to? Opinions?
Yes for me.

- With some channelmask changes.
- Not for DTS Express or 192 KHz.
- Make run the -arcsoft parameter to some check.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.