Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th November 2011, 00:41   #10901  |  Link
psymed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16
Does 0.79 lessen cpu usage by any chance?
psymed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 00:43   #10902  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gser View Post
A clip of the material would help. Deinterlacing methods have not changed in many years. I'm using amd 5870. Basically the renderer only commands the GPU to deinterlace the material, the problem being before that MadVR did not for some reason understand bobbing hence only showed duplicates.
I tried to make a clip, but that problem was gone then in that clip. but it still exists within the original video.

it looks like the camera or the whole picture becomes very shaky and flickering.

edit: that problem seems to be related to directvobsub. it didnt appear in the sample, because I didnt mux subs in it this time. when deactivating directvobsub, the shaking is gone.
would be nice if this interaction could be improved.
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 16th November 2011 at 00:51.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 00:51   #10903  |  Link
pankov
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheShadowRunner View Post
Hi madshi, sadly this bug is back with 0.79 final.
madshi,
I confirm this again
__________________
Z370M Pro4 | i3-8100 | 16GB RAM | 256GB SSD + 40TB NAS
NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB (385.28) | LG OLED65B7V
Win 10 64bit 1803 + Zoom Player v14

Last edited by pankov; 16th November 2011 at 00:55.
pankov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 00:52   #10904  |  Link
sToN3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
That's a known problem for some users. Unfortunately it doesn't occur on my PC, so I don't know right now what to do about it. I've implemented a little change in v0.79, though, which *may* help (but I rather doubt it). So you can retest this with v0.79.
Your change did indeed help a little. My CPU load is almost back to normal. It was ~6-7% before and now I'm at ~2.5-3.5%.
sToN3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:04   #10905  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gser View Post
A clip of the material would help.
heres a sample http://www.mediafire.com/?jypobakil48bhnd

could you please check if you can see traces of interlaced leftovers as well in there?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:04   #10906  |  Link
Gser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 413
I am curious as to how MadVR commands the use of DXVA deinterlacing. What mode does it choose, seeing as different GPU's need different flags.
Gser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:12   #10907  |  Link
Gser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
heres a sample http://www.mediafire.com/?jypobakil48bhnd

could you please check if you can see traces of interlaced leftovers as well in there?
Why exactly are you trying to deinterlace film material? : D Just use tfm. I got similar weaving artifacts with different software deinterlacers as well.
Gser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:17   #10908  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
dunno what kind of material that is. I just want it to look normal during playback (without reencoding the movie) -.-

how can I use tfm during playback?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 16th November 2011 at 01:22.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:18   #10909  |  Link
Gaius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 28
I get no video picture when using LAV video, audio and splitters when using my MadVR settings or when restoring the default settings.

Also, clicking "Ok" on the MadVR properties window doesn't close the window and you have to close the entire player to get rid of the MadVR properties window.

This is on 32 bit Windows 7 with MPC-HC 1.5.3.3816 and latest stable Nvidia drivers.

Last edited by Gaius; 16th November 2011 at 01:22.
Gaius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:32   #10910  |  Link
Gser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
dunno what kind of material that is. I just want it to look normal during playback (without reencoding the movie) -.-

how can I use tfm during playback?
Well if you want proper IVTC use ffdshow with avisynth plugin. Or if you don't mind the extra frames just turn off deinterlacing.

I have a rather interesting problem with Dscaler IVTC mod. For some reason it reports to madvr that the fps is film speed and deinterlacing is turned off. I don't know if the problem is with Dscaler or MadVR, perhaps i will try the non ivtc mod version since its ivtc function never worked for me anyways.

Last edited by Gser; 16th November 2011 at 01:37.
Gser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:37   #10911  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 458
Madshi, could you please add a force deinterlace option with the Ctrl+Alt+Shift D shortcut in case the source doesn't report the interlace status correctly?
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:41   #10912  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gser View Post
Well if you want proper IVTC use ffdshow with avisynth plugin. Or if you don't mind the extra frames just turn off deinterlacing.
ignoring it looks horrible, really distracting when watching.

and my PC is too slow to do tcm() via avisynth on the fly during playback :S
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:41   #10913  |  Link
Gser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
Madshi, could you please add a force deinterlace option with the Ctrl+Alt+Shift D shortcut in case the source doesn't report the interlace status correctly?
Yes this would be handy. I have a source here that for some reason is reported as interlaced with 0.78 and not reported as interlaced with 0.79. Still trying to figure out the fps issue. If I put FFDShow inbetween DScaler and MadVR, it reports the correct fps but for some reason MadVR is forcing film speed.

Last edited by Gser; 16th November 2011 at 01:52.
Gser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 01:43   #10914  |  Link
Gser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
ignoring it looks horrible, really distracting when watching.

and my PC is too slow to do tcm() via avisynth on the fly during playback :S
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=141441
Try using Phase filter with FFDShow, its what i generally use.
Gser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 02:08   #10915  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gser View Post
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=141441
Try using Phase filter with FFDShow, its what i generally use.
is it possible that it doesnt work so well when when I also use sharpening with ffdshow?

is it generally possible to fix an order in which all ffdshow filters can be used? in that case, I could try to run sharpening after applying phase.
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 16th November 2011 at 02:12.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 02:17   #10916  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Thanks madshi, deinterlacing is now working at 50p for my material instead of at 25p.

The other thing I reported where 29i material with a "24p" tag in the file name would switch to 50p or 60p has also been fixed, but then deinterlacing gets turned off. The way I used to do it with CUVID was the decoder outputting 30p and then decimating with ffdshow processor/avisynth. I suppose it's not possible to decimate like this with madVR's deinterlacing, right?
__________________
GA-Z87MX-D3H (Intel Z87), i7-4770, AMD 7790, Win8.1-64
Pioneer VSX-01TXH, Pioneer KRP-500M
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 02:24   #10917  |  Link
Gser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
is it possible that it doesnt work so well when when I also use sharpening with ffdshow?

is it generally possible to fix an order in which all ffdshow filters can be used? in that case, I could try to run sharpening after applying phase.
Just drag the sharpening filter after the dscaler filter.
Gser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 02:55   #10918  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by pankov View Post
madshi,
I confirm this again
Confirmed again as well.

Also deinterlacing gives rise to noticeable jerkiness and aliasing.

Here's the log: http://www.mediafire.com/?t7jzm59ln9wa6dp
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 03:08   #10919  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
madshi, one other thing, would it be possible to add the option to force 29i/30i whenever I add a "29i" or "30i" to the file name, even when there's a "1080p60" in madVR options? Right now I have both 1080i29 and 1080p59, and it always switches to the latter. The reason is that the only way IVTC is working fully for me is if I let madVR IVTC to 60p and then convert that to a 30i output so my display's IVTC processor can detect proper cadence and apply IVTC again to 72 Hz. A bit convoluted, but works. I was using this method when I was using EVR.
__________________
GA-Z87MX-D3H (Intel Z87), i7-4770, AMD 7790, Win8.1-64
Pioneer VSX-01TXH, Pioneer KRP-500M
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2011, 03:19   #10920  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
I have a question:

How does madVR deal with the refresh rate reported by the source filter or splitter and ffdshow's video decoder and then if deinterlacing is activated within ffdshow?

For example:

I play a VOB file hard-telecined/3:2 pulldown at 29.970 reported by the source filter (navigator) and ffdshow, but then I enable deinterlacing within ffdshow. Now pure deinterlacement would keep the same fps of 29.970 and I realize that but what happens if I use AviSynth internally within ffdshow and inverse telecine it using tfm().tdecimate()? How does madVR deal with that? Does ffdshow report 23.976 as the new fps? Does madVR still use the rate reported by the source filter?

I feel like the problem gets more complicated with the introduction of user-added refresh rates...but I like it nevertheless.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.