Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th November 2007, 02:05   #21  |  Link
rec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 66
Hi, This is my first post - hope I'm in the right place.

I want to use MCBob, but I can't figure out how to apply it to a given clip. Could somebody gently take me through the steps?

I work daily with simple AVISynth scripts, but nothing as complex as MCBob.

Thanks!
rec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2007, 04:17   #22  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,699
save the script as extension ".avsi"

put it in your plugins folder. Then call like so:

MCBob()

OR

MCBob().SelectEven()
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2007, 10:44   #23  |  Link
rec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 66
Thanks, got it working.

Next question: As the filter stands, it deinterlaces 60i to 30P. Is it possible to change it to go from 60i to 60P?

Also, can you use it with multi core processors?
rec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2007, 10:50   #24  |  Link
themostestultimategenius
Kwon BoA
 
themostestultimategenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 83
Code:
MCBob()
Deinterlaces it to 60P.
__________________
Jeremy Clarkson - Getting fat is just evolution
themostestultimategenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2007, 10:58   #25  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec View Post
Also, can you use it with multi core processors?
As long as you have the latest versions of mvtools and MT avisynth, yes.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2007, 15:07   #26  |  Link
Terka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: cz
Posts: 704
what is the speedup using mcbob on dualcore machines?
and what about 4core?
Terka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2007, 19:33   #27  |  Link
rec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 66
I'm running mcbob on a quad core 6600 overclocked to 3.2ghz.
Unfortunately, only one core gets utilized. I'm using avisynth 2.5.7.0 and mvtools 1.8.4.2. Deinterlacing a 60i HDV picture @ 1440 x 1080 takes 2 seconds per frame. And looks great, btw.

Sure would like to use all four cores. If anybody has any ideas, please speak up!

Last edited by rec; 13th November 2007 at 19:36.
rec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2007, 19:54   #28  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec View Post
I'm running mcbob on a quad core 6600 overclocked to 3.2ghz.
Unfortunately, only one core gets utilized. I'm using avisynth 2.5.7.0 and mvtools 1.8.4.2. Deinterlacing a 60i HDV picture @ 1440 x 1080 takes 2 seconds per frame. And looks great, btw.

Sure would like to use all four cores. If anybody has any ideas, please speak up!
Make sure to put threads=4 in the NNEDI() section of the script. Also make sure you have the latest MT and SetMT version of Avisynth. And lastly make sure you have the latest multi-threading enabled version of MVTools. Make sure that SetMT is above the source line too. For example:

SetMT(mode=2, threads=4)
Avisource("Mydrive:\Myfolder\mysourcevideo.avi")

If that doesn't work, then you'll just have to use trim() and process 4 separate segments of the video and assign each segment to one core via taskmanager. Make sure all 4 segments are encoded losslessly so you can encode them to xvid, H.264 or another codec later.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 13:44   #29  |  Link
2Bdecided
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,673
Are there any suggested parameters or modifications to mcbob that will improve speed, but not damage quality on a noisy (S-VHS) source?

Cheers,
David.
2Bdecided is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2007, 09:37   #30  |  Link
g_aleph_r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
mcbob is amazing but I have some issues on horizontal lines: they shutter
If I put selecteven it is fine but I would like to keep all the 50 fps.
I am using mcbob() without further configuration is there an option that could work for me?
g_aleph_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2007, 11:38   #31  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,558
Can you post an example of the video? MCBob should bob less than other bobbers (if that's the case, that's probably the best you can hope for), if it doesn't it could make for a good test case.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2008, 09:03   #32  |  Link
g_aleph_r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
it's a little difficult for me to post a part of the file. Anyway the problem is mainly the watermark of the channel and the graphic of the show.
I solved (almost) using tdeint and mcbobbed stream as clip2, it doesn't like flash but it is not so ugly.
g_aleph_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 03:41   #33  |  Link
some dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 35
I don't know about getting rid of the watermark, but to keep your 50 fps without using selecteven you could try

Code:
complementparity
MCBob()
I'm not sure if this would fix your "shuttering" lines, but I'm not sure what you ment by that in the first place.
some dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2008, 11:51   #34  |  Link
badshah
Registered User
 
badshah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 45
MCBob_v03u is giving me speed of 0.5fps on my c2d with 1gb ram. can anyone help me ?
badshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2008, 16:39   #35  |  Link
themostestultimategenius
Kwon BoA
 
themostestultimategenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 83
^ Try using MT AviSynth.
__________________
Jeremy Clarkson - Getting fat is just evolution
themostestultimategenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2008, 22:34   #36  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,699
Just make sure you are using the most up to date versions of Masktools and MVtools, as they used to have problem when using MT in Avisynth.

Oh, and even if you do use MT, your fps still wont be stellar.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2008, 20:05   #37  |  Link
Kumo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 57
i'm trying to deinterlace an old anime ntsc r1 (usa) dvd.dgindex reports it as interlaced.here is a sample:
http://rapidshare.com/files/97003811...muxed.m2v.html
i'm trying different deinterlacer,am i right using mcbob like that
Code:
DGDecode_Mpeg2Source("H:\Kimagure Orange Road Movie 1\VTS_01_1.d2v",info=3)
colormatrix(hints=true,interlaced=true)
mcbob().selecteven.tdecimate(mode=1,hybrid=1)
to convert it to 24p?
should i use a different deinterlacer?
Kumo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2008, 00:09   #38  |  Link
MadRat
Registered User
 
MadRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 110
If you're interested in trying something other than mcbob you could look at this thread: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=135688
MadRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2008, 22:03   #39  |  Link
SPiKA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Is there a way to use mcbob just in a section of the encode? Because I'm getting "Framerate doesn't match" error when using trim...

And another question... I know that mcbob doubles the framerate, but how can I get original framerate (29.97fps) back?
SPiKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2008, 22:30   #40  |  Link
Terranigma
*Space Reserved*
 
Terranigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPiKA View Post
Is there a way to use mcbob just in a section of the encode? Because I'm getting "Framerate doesn't match" error when using trim...

And another question... I know that mcbob doubles the framerate, but how can I get original framerate (29.97fps) back?
Maybe you're getting that error, because you need to discard half of the frames mcbob creates?

To get the original rate, use either selecteven() or selectevery(2,0) after mcbob.
Terranigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.