Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th December 2016, 10:03   #1001  |  Link
ShogoXT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 89
Trying to use 1.0.0b1 in regular use in staxrip to see if it can help with some rainbow and dot crawl issues.
How do you use the new channels setting? Wiki only mentions cmode.
ShogoXT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2016, 16:56   #1002  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShogoXT View Post
Trying to use 1.0.0b1 in regular use in staxrip to see if it can help with some rainbow and dot crawl issues.
How do you use the new channels setting? Wiki only mentions cmode.
channels = {"YUV", "Y", "UV", "RGB", "auto"}.

"auto" is "Y" for YUV colour space and "RGB" for RGB color space.
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2016, 07:29   #1003  |  Link
ShogoXT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 89
Fiddling around with it in Staxrip I found a few things.

With default settings and with d=0 (Temp on or off made no difference), there was significant blurring compared to the older 7.7 version.

See here:
http://screenshotcomparison.com/comp...3278/picture:0
Its two sets, first is with 1.0b1 vs 7.7, and second with 1.0b1 vs OFF.

Keep in mind this is after it was upsampled and sharpened (awarpsharp2 and LSFMod) a good bit, so the blurring is actually a bit worse before probably (I cant take a pic without LSFMod because id have to redo how havfunc is loaded to make NNedi3 work)

Also with channels = "YUV", although Staxrip doesnt complain, it makes the preview window only show this:
http://imgur.com/mmjCT8e

EDIT: Tried setting all the basic values to 1, but no effect on reducing blur (a,s, and h. Did d as well to play with it)

Last edited by ShogoXT; 10th December 2016 at 20:22.
ShogoXT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2016, 11:34   #1004  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 983
I have tested SMDegrain with newer KNLMeansCL on lot of movies during these days.

The final result is an average 3-7% less noise reduction, measured very roughly on bitrate output and visual comparison frame by frame.

Any idea of why? What has changed in newer version that could have so much impact?

Plus: with stable version I can use 8 threads, with beta only 7.
__________________
@turment on Telegram

Last edited by tormento; 12th December 2016 at 11:55.
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2016, 15:42   #1005  |  Link
WolframRhodium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
I have tested SMDegrain with newer KNLMeansCL on lot of movies during these days.

The final result is an average 3-7% less noise reduction, measured very roughly on bitrate output and visual comparison frame by frame.

Any idea of why? What has changed in newer version that could have so much impact?

Plus: with stable version I can use 8 threads, with beta only 7.
Maybe because "wmode" has changed? For v1.0.0-beta.1, you should set it to 0 (Welsch weighting function), which is used in v0.7.7 by default.
WolframRhodium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2016, 16:20   #1006  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolframRhodium View Post
Maybe because "wmode" has changed? For v1.0.0-beta.1, you should set it to 0 (Welsch weighting function), which is used in v0.7.7 by default.
Uh... is there any doc for newer version? I found nothing in the release zip file, only a changelog on github.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2016, 17:37   #1007  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
Uh... is there any doc for newer version? I found nothing in the release zip file, only a changelog on github.
v1.0.0-beta.2 will be well documented.
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2016, 17:39   #1008  |  Link
WolframRhodium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
Uh... is there any doc for newer version? I found nothing in the release zip file, only a changelog on github.
I'm also looking for official document for new version...

Update: oh the next version will be documented, that's great!

Last edited by WolframRhodium; 12th December 2016 at 17:42.
WolframRhodium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2016, 23:07   #1009  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolframRhodium View Post
I'm also looking for official document for new version...

Update: oh the next version will be documented, that's great!
I have to finish to update the wiki
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2016, 01:16   #1010  |  Link
WolframRhodium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanattila View Post
I have to finish to update the wiki
That wiki helps me a lot, thank you.

Anyway, isn't the default value of "wmode" is 1(DFT_WMODE)? The wiki says by default the value is 0. And there are 3 kind of Bisquare weighting function but the wiki just mention 2.
WolframRhodium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2016, 09:24   #1011  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 262
Easiest is to say, that while the 1.0 branch is in 'beta' the doc and wiki will be outdated or have a chance to be incorrect. It's a beta for a reason, a quick release to find problems, not to have a complete finished and documented release :P.

Then again, there are a lot of plugins and products around here that never leave the beta phase so. mweh .
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2016, 13:33   #1012  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 983
A beta can't be really tested until parameters are known
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2016, 16:27   #1013  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
A beta can't be really tested until parameters are known
Done.
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2016, 17:40   #1014  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanattila View Post
Great. Thanks.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 10:36   #1015  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolframRhodium View Post
Maybe because "wmode" has changed? For v1.0.0-beta.1, you should set it to 0 (Welsch weighting function), which is used in v0.7.7 by default.
It seems it is the default value for both releases.

So, I dunno why output bitrate changed.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 10:44   #1016  |  Link
WolframRhodium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
It seems it is the default value for both releases.

So, I dunno why output bitrate changed.
I just read the source code and perhaps I made a mistake.

The update log mentions "Improved de-noising quality around image edge." Maybe that's the reason?

Update:
I have made another test of v1.0.0-beta.1 on vapoursynth just now.
Yes, the default value of "wmode" is 1 for both version, but in v0.7.7, it indicates "Welsch weighting function", while in v1.0.0-beta.1, it indicates "Modified Bisquare weighting function", so what I have suggested you before to set it to 0 for v1.0.0-beta.1 is to return to use "Welsch weighting function".

I'm sorry for my poor English expression. I'm not a native English speaker.

Last edited by WolframRhodium; 14th December 2016 at 11:01.
WolframRhodium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 11:58   #1017  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolframRhodium View Post
I just read the source code and perhaps I made a mistake.

The update log mentions "Improved de-noising quality around image edge." Maybe that's the reason?

Update:
I have made another test of v1.0.0-beta.1 on vapoursynth just now.
Yes, the default value of "wmode" is 1 for both version, but in v0.7.7, it indicates "Welsch weighting function", while in v1.0.0-beta.1, it indicates "Modified Bisquare weighting function", so what I have suggested you before to set it to 0 for v1.0.0-beta.1 is to return to use "Welsch weighting function".

I'm sorry for my poor English expression. I'm not a native English speaker.
There were several problems in the release of v1.0.0-beta1, so before I make other changes I release beta2.

https://github.com/Khanattila/KNLMea.../v1.0.0-beta.2
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 12:33   #1018  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolframRhodium View Post
Yes, the default value of "wmode" is 1 for both version, but in v0.7.7, it indicates "Welsch weighting function", while in v1.0.0-beta.1, it indicates "Modified Bisquare weighting function", so what I have suggested you before to set it to 0 for v1.0.0-beta.1 is to return to use "Welsch weighting function".
Nope. Welsch is the default wmode with both even with different wmode numbers, i.e. 1 for 0.7.7 and 0 for 1.0.

Different noise treatment should be somewhere else. Khanattila, can you please tell us what is under the hood?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 12:40   #1019  |  Link
WolframRhodium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
Nope. Welsch is the default wmode with both even with different wmode numbers, i.e. 1 for 0.7.7 and 0 for 1.0.

Different noise treatment should be somewhere else. Khanattila, can you please tell us what is under the hood?
khanattila just pushed the last commit of v1.0.0-beta.2, which is "Change default value of wmode" (https://github.com/Khanattila/KNLMea...573bd0e5ccedf1)
WolframRhodium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 13:08   #1020  |  Link
Khanattila
Registered User
 
Khanattila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
Nope. Welsch is the default wmode with both even with different wmode numbers, i.e. 1 for 0.7.7 and 0 for 1.0.

Different noise treatment should be somewhere else. Khanattila, can you please tell us what is under the hood?
v0.7.7 wmode=1 -> Welsch
v1.0.0 beta1 wmode=1 (my fault) -> Bisquare
v1.0.0 beta2 wmode=0 -> Welsch
__________________
github.com
Khanattila is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.