Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th February 2016, 04:28   #36441  |  Link
hu1kamania
Registered User
 
hu1kamania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
That's what image enhancement SHOULD look like, looks good.
Can't image anyone who would rather look at the slightly softer picture.

It actually looks like there's more resolution which is exactly what you want, no aliasing, no white haloing, no excessive brightness.

Could you post another the same image with the same settings without supersampling for comparison? (with enhancements)
Here is another before and after SuperSampling, was that what you wanted?

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/163079
hu1kamania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 04:39   #36442  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by hu1kamania View Post
Here is another before and after SuperSampling, was that what you wanted?

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/163079
If the only difference is enabling/disabling NNEDI3 then yes. I ony wish to observe the difference between the image enhancements working on a 2x upscale and the effects of SSIM 1D vs enhancements working on the original 1080 image. It feel it's unfair to compare stock 1080 with no enhancements vs a supersampled enhanced picture.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 05:12   #36443  |  Link
hu1kamania
Registered User
 
hu1kamania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
If the only difference is enabling/disabling NNEDI3 then yes. I ony wish to observe the difference between the image enhancements working on a 2x upscale and the effects of SSIM 1D vs enhancements working on the original 1080 image. It feel it's unfair to compare stock 1080 with no enhancements vs a supersampled enhanced picture.
I agree, it's not a fair comparison! Here is one without the refinements, aside from SR 2. VERY difficult to discern a difference:

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/163082

Not nearly as much fun, and perhaps not the ideal source for this experiment.

As I understand it, applying image refinements to a doubled image should boast better results vs. regular image enhancements. I mainly just wanted to show that nice results can be achieved with SuperSampling.
hu1kamania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 05:58   #36444  |  Link
thewebchat
Advanced Blogging
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
madVR since 0.90.11 has crashed w/ Skylake iGPU (HD 520) on videos with dimension 702x480. Default settings, 64-bit.
thewebchat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 06:09   #36445  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewebchat View Post
madVR since 0.90.11 has crashed w/ Skylake iGPU (HD 520) on videos with dimension 702x480. Default settings, 64-bit.
Yup, that'll be the same problem already reported a few times, I suspect it'll be fixed in the next version.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 06:10   #36446  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by hu1kamania View Post
I agree, it's not a fair comparison! Here is one without the refinements, aside from SR 2. VERY difficult to discern a difference:
Actually if you could do that with your previous screenshot (Smaug on his treasure) that'd be great.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 08:39   #36447  |  Link
MokrySedeS
I am the one who knocks
 
MokrySedeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Yes, I know about these settings in the player, as I say they have NOTHING to do with MadVR's decision to rescale a frame if it has black borders when the auto A/R is enabled. My player is set to normal size, no zoom, original A/R etc, and if I switch to EVR-CP (or if I switch MadVR's auto A/R off), as mentioned earlier, there is no scaling/zooming problem (but then of course, there is no auto A/R from MadVR).

I don't think anyone understands what the issue is, hopefully Madshi will and will agree that in some cases (namely for those using exclusively vertical shift to move the picture up/down according to its A/R on 16/9 screens) we should be able to use the auto A/R without any scaling/zooming, i.e. the picture will shift up/down to get rid of one of the black bars and we'll get small black bars on the sides. It's not difficult to do, it simply needs a "no scaling" option in the existing list of sizes of black borders for which we don't want to apply scaling, or to put a value there much larger than 50, something like 100 or even 200.
But in my screenshot you can clearly see that the image is cropped by madvr, shifted to the top and the zoom is at 100%.
Isn't it exactly what you want?

Here's a better example:

The option you mention doesn't even have to be enabled.
MokrySedeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 09:06   #36448  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
@Manni, can you please post a screenshot of the situation when zooming happens although it shouldn't, with Ctrl+J OSD turned on, with your media player set to 100% or "no zoom"?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 09:19   #36449  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
Hey man, even with the changes your guide has a lot of incorrect informations,
The problem with most of the guides is afirmations without explanations, I started using madvr with a guide that has a lot of wrong informations, for a beginner this is bad because we tend to believe on guides
Did you reads the thread madvr options explaned?
You should try to explain the configs and if you want talk about your preferences as personal preferences
Like the topic about image refinements and upscaling refinements, is simple wrong and not explained...
Doubling and chroma upscaling too
Thanks for pointing that out.

I edited it and added a few words about those segments of the review, please help me improve, if you feel that it is not quite there.
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 10:29   #36450  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,343
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
That sucks... Hopefully HEVC won't become THE standard...
It will. What videocard do you have? My Kepler GT650m can only accelerate 1080p 8bits HEVC not 4k.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
I noticed that rips performed with HEVC run much worse than rips performed with h.264/x.264 using similar settings... Is that normal?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Yes as unless you have a 960 or 950 there is no h/w acceleration for HEVC 10bits in LAV. ... In the meantime, moving to 64bits significantly helps. HEVC 10bits files used to stutter badly on my rig (see my sig) with 32bits LAV/MadVR/MPC-Be, and moving to 64bits made them fully playable.
It's not just about that but as Madshi told us a week ago or so if you use the black border detection feature then playback gets significantly slower since it consumes CPU not GPU and it's not mutlithreaded (and that can be a problem if you use CPU for playback). So, in the meantime, I ended up creating a new profile for 4k content where this feature is disabled. With this I can play 4K 10bits HEVC content without problem with up to 50mbps and 30fps.

Madshi, can make it multithreaded, since especially 4k can profit of the cropping feature? (of course only if you think it would make a difference)

Another observation with the public HDR sample (Exodus, Life of Pi): it's still slower than the above mentioned examples, although Exodus is <50mbps and 24 fps. Can something similar be the cause of it? (I'm thinking about HDR detection, application, or colorspase conversion.)
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 10:52   #36451  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
That sucks... Hopefully HEVC won't become THE standard...
Just because your hardware is old, it shouldn't block progress in video coding. We all want better quality, higher resolution, more colors. So buy a new PC if you want that too.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 11:04   #36452  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Just because your hardware is old, it shouldn't block progress in video coding. We all want better quality, higher resolution, more colors. So buy a new PC if you want that too.
Problem is that some of us have better and faster GTX970/980 and they don't support it. But yea, progress ftw.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 11:22   #36453  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
Problem is that some of us have better and faster GTX970/980 and they don't support it. But yea, progress ftw.
Some great stuff coming this year and supersampling is almost giving me a reason to go beyond a GTX 960. Performance? Power efficiency? Both? You got it, hold on to your pants.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 12:05   #36454  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
I'm searching for some good image enhancements settings to start with. Currently I upscale my 1080p BD Rips to my 2160p screen resolution with SuperXBR 100 and SR3. Any suggestions for a good setting to start experimenting with?
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 14:41   #36455  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,343
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
Problem is that some of us have better and faster GTX970/980 and they don't support it. But yea, progress ftw.
Unfortunately this is/always was nVidia's business politics: they release the strongest card with the old technology then after they release a slightly slower one with a new tech. You have to be always informed before you buy any.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
I'm searching for some good image enhancements settings to start with. Currently I upscale my 1080p BD Rips to my 2160p screen resolution with SuperXBR 100 and SR3. Any suggestions for a good setting to start experimenting with?
Take a look at the top post on this page.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 14:42   #36456  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Unfortunately this is/always was nVidia's business politics: they release the strongest card with the old technology then after they release a slightly slower one with a new tech.
Thats just a matter of timing, the GTX960 is several month newer than the 970/980. The top-end cards are (mostly) always the first to release, so..
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 24th February 2016 at 15:26.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 15:24   #36457  |  Link
jmelan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 18
with stereo 3d output in madVR, is there support for Nvidia 3D vision (frame sequential 120 Hz?)

thanks
jmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 16:00   #36458  |  Link
mastan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmelan View Post
with stereo 3d output in madVR, is there support for Nvidia 3D vision (frame sequential 120 Hz?)
It works on mine GF980 + ASUS VG278.

Switching to Fullscreen Exclusive and back takes ages(maybe 10 seconds).
Switching from Windowed to Fullscreen Windowed takes 1-3 seconds and sometimes during this time temporary switches left/right image. 20-80 dropped frames.
Regular resizing is instantaneous, 2-4 dropped frames.

MPC HC x32 1.7.10
LAV 0.67.0.126-git
madVR 0.90.12

P.S. Switching any non-3D video from windowed to fullscreen windowed crashes the player.
It's happening only in the case of non-3D video on stereoscopic 3D-mode screen.
3D on 3D ok
3D on non-3D ok, image SBS.
non-3D on non-3D ok.

Last edited by mastan; 24th February 2016 at 16:15. Reason: addition
mastan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 16:14   #36459  |  Link
hu1kamania
Registered User
 
hu1kamania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Actually if you could do that with your previous screenshot (Smaug on his treasure) that'd be great.
I'll need a few hours, but that won't be a problem.

If you actually zoom in on the one I posted, you can see some difference. Zoom in and look at his eye. Ever so subtle improvement.
hu1kamania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2016, 17:27   #36460  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
@Manni, can you please post a screenshot of the situation when zooming happens although it shouldn't, with Ctrl+J OSD turned on, with your media player set to 100% or "no zoom"?
Sure, here are two screenshots and the auto AR options:

Auto AR off: https://www.dropbox.com/s/hzek8rabi5...f.png?dl=0Auto
AR on: https://www.dropbox.com/s/aiwl6wnldj...%20On.png?dl=0
A/R options: https://www.dropbox.com/s/jom6ms9kr7...tions.png?dl=0

My player is always set to 100% / no zoom. The issue goes away if I deselect the black bar detection in MadVR or if I switch to EVR-CP in MPC-BE.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25PR2
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 24th February 2016 at 19:59.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.