Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th August 2020, 22:40   #29861  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
OK, after 2 days of testing, gradually removing paramters from the stax-string and then adding the parameters from the BDRB string (which I should have done the other way around, because I found it on the second-to-last parameter ) the cause for the flickering is found ...
If the --pic-struct is removed from the command line string, the file plays fine.

But I also noticed, some scenes are WAY to dark on my TV.
A file with intact video (vFormat=8 in the alternate.txt) on the other hand is bright in the same scenes.
I'll do some more testing to find the cause for that...
Well done
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2020, 23:21   #29862  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Thanks! Your help is very much appreciated -- I had no way of testing it myself.

[Edit] I went back through requirements of the BD standard information that I have to see when the pic-structure is needed, and I think removing that parameter will be ok.
I'll try to get my hands on a HDR10+ capable player, to see if the flicker is there when played from disk...
If not, then it might be enough if the parameter is removed in alternate output only.

What does this parameter do anyway? I read something about shutter timings
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2020, 23:40   #29863  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
--pic-struct <integer>

Set the picture structure and emits it in the picture timing SEI message. Values in the range 0..12. See D.3.3 of the HEVC spec. for a detailed explanation. Required for HLG (Hybrid Log Gamma) signalling. Not signalled by default.
Not required for HDR10+
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 00:19   #29864  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Not required for HDR10+
I went through the spec -- and there are three conditions where it has to be used... none of which really apply to HEVC/UHD.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 00:37   #29865  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 1,014
I was referring to x265 (HEVC)
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 21:47   #29866  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 122
After some more testing I'm pretty sure, that's an encoder thing ...

My TV is showing the HDR10+ logo when playing the intact file, which is bright, also the file encoded with x265 and metadata.

Same brightness on an encoded file, either x265 and nvenc (surprisingly), without HDR10+ metadata, TV then shows a HDR-Logo

A file encoded with nvencc plus metadata also shows the HDR10+ logo, but dark scenes are much too dark, barely visible... where in the same scene on the other files everything was distinguishable...

I tried playing with maxcll values, but that doesn't help either ... plus - I don't want to mess up the original settings

I even tried to set my TV to max backlight and brightness, still too dark

Any ideas what else I could try?
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:16   #29867  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
After some more testing I'm pretty sure, that's an encoder thing ...

My TV is showing the HDR10+ logo when playing the intact file, which is bright, also the file encoded with x265 and metadata.

Same brightness on an encoded file, either x265 and nvenc (surprisingly), without HDR10+ metadata, TV then shows a HDR-Logo

A file encoded with nvencc plus metadata also shows the HDR10+ logo, but dark scenes are much too dark, barely visible... where in the same scene on the other files everything was distinguishable...

I tried playing with maxcll values, but that doesn't help either ... plus - I don't want to mess up the original settings

I even tried to set my TV to max backlight and brightness, still too dark

Any ideas what else I could try?
Does it look the same if you use the "copy" feature in the command line (with NVENCC) instead of the JSON reference?

I wish I could help, but I have no equipment that has the ability to playback HDR10+.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; Yesterday at 22:19.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:00   #29868  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Does it look the same if you use the "copy" feature in the command line (with NVENCC) instead of the JSON reference?

I wish I could help, but I have no equipment that has the ability to playback HDR10+.
Yep, "copy" or using the JSON file gives the same negative result...

The file is extracted with
Code:
ffmpeg -i "input.m2ts" -c:v copy -vbsf hevc_mp4toannexb -f hevc - | hdr10plus_parser.exe -o metadata.json -
Correct?

Problem might be, that rigaya does not have the equipment either. I think I'll post an issue on his github page.

I suggest to disable the feature by default and only enable it optional... until the root cause is found.
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:05   #29869  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Yep, "copy" or using the JSON file gives the same negative result...

The file is extracted with
Code:
ffmpeg -i "input.m2ts" -c:v copy -vbsf hevc_mp4toannexb -f hevc - | hdr10plus_parser.exe -o metadata.json -
Correct?

Problem might be, that rigaya does not have the equipment either. I think I'll post an issue on his github page.

I suggest to disable the feature by default and only enable it optional... until the root cause is found.
Yes. The JSON file is extracted with that command line -- it actually comes from the hdr10plus_parser.exe documentation.

Yeah. I'll do that.

The NVENCC documentation does say the "copy" option is "experimental". Interestingly it doesn't say that about --dhdr10-info with the JSON file.

You mentioned that x265 looks ok without the metadata. Have you tried an X265 encode using the JSON file?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; Yesterday at 23:53.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:33   #29870  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Yes. The JSON file is extracted with that command line -- it actually comes from the hdr10plus_parser.exe documentation.

Yeah. I'll do that.

The NVENCC documentation does say the "copy" option is "experimental". Interestingly it doesn't say that about --dhdr10-info with the JSON file.

You mentioned that x265 looks ok without the metadata. Have you tried an X265 encode using the JSON file?
Yes, that works well with BDRB:
Quote:
"V:\BD_Rebuilder\tools\ffmpeg.exe" -probesize 100MB -i "V:\FULLDISC\BOHEMIAN_RHAPSODY\BDMV\STREAM\00685.m2ts" -an -pix_fmt yuv420p10le -f yuv4mpegpipe -strict -1 - | "V:\BD_Rebuilder\tools\x265-64.exe" - --preset ultrafast --profile main10 --uhd-bd --repeat-headers --vbv-bufsize 45000 --vbv-maxrate 48000 --hdr --chromaloc 2 --colorprim bt2020 --transfer smpte2084 --colormatrix bt2020nc --master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(10000000,50)" --dhdr10-info "V:\OUTPUT\WORKFILES\VID_00685.JSON" --fps 23.976 --slow-firstpass --qpfile "V:\OUTPUT\WORKFILES\VID_00685.CHP" --keyint 24 --crf 30 --y4m --stats "V:\OUTPUT\WORKFILES\VID_00685.AVS.hevc.stats" --output "V:\OUTPUT\WORKFILES\VID_00685.AVS.hevc"
That one is unaltered from LASTCMD, brightness is right and also comes without flicker.
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 21:47   #29871  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Yes, that works well with BDRB:


That one is unaltered from LASTCMD, brightness is right and also comes without flicker.
Ahh so that makes it clear that the issue is within NVENCC.

Thanks.

I'll do a couple encodes with each encoder and then look at the SEI extension data in the HEVC files to see what differences I can find.

I think if I can get past that one, I'm ready for a new release (a real one rather than test version).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; Today at 21:52.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.