Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Capturing Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st March 2020, 17:40   #1  |  Link
Coaster Master
Spanish Doom9 Global Mod
 
Coaster Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: GDL, MX
Posts: 14
VirtualDub2 BD capture settings tweak #1

I'm in a quest to find the best custom settings for specific sources, starting with computer animation from a 23.976 fps BD via composite capturer.

Given the framerate, I tried setting such 23.976 fps, but found interlaced and audio ralentized result, so I retried with 29.97 and plan to deinterlace, or better, perform Inverse TeleCine if a tool for this is found, I really don't know yet if I should round the capture framerate to 30 fps. Asking for any help with this.

VirtualDub2 is almost untouched, I only adjusted the capture format to 720x480 thinking it's the best for DVD as destination. I can hardly wait to find more settings to customize (i.e. where to set 16:9 instead of 4:3), if this results in better clips and time/space/resources saving. Thanks for any comment!
__________________
Coaster Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2020, 11:21   #2  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 767
If you really must use SD analog capturing and composite output, then 30000/1001 = 29,97fps.

But you got a BD disc, so would suggest to rip the BD using makemkv,
then process from there to your desired delivery format.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2020, 12:43   #3  |  Link
Coaster Master
Spanish Doom9 Global Mod
 
Coaster Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: GDL, MX
Posts: 14
Thank you Emulgator, I decrypted that BD a while ago, I just wanted to know what would it look like when using my Pinnacle capturer. I ignore the background behind the 30000/1001 quotent, but I found perfect sync only when 29.97 so I kept it.

I processed with TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 6, where I combined the 24 fps Motion Prioritized Deinterlace Mode with the Inverse Pulldown Method for a 23.976 result with 0 combing effect, given the footage is really a movie instead of interlaced material.

So I post this MPEG with 16:9 flag which was set at the AVI->DVD conversion time for all technical critics to make comments, which I thank with gratitude beforehand.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Xyo...ew?usp=sharing
__________________
Coaster Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2020, 17:06   #4  |  Link
Coaster Master
Spanish Doom9 Global Mod
 
Coaster Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: GDL, MX
Posts: 14
Configurations are here...

1.- VirtualDub2_43786\VirtualDub64.exe (should I use another version for capture with an i5-2410M @2.3 GHz?)
2.- Is Options->Preferences->Video compression threads=1 correct for such a processor?
3.- LordSmurf from the Digital FAQ promotes VirtualDub 1.9.1.1 32-bit with preloaded filters, and says: "Do not use VirtualDub filters during capture. Not ever. VirtualDub hooks into your capture device's software and can link you to its proc amp settings. The only adjustments you should use during capture are Brightness and Contrast. They are used for setting input black levels and white levels and can be checked with VDub's capture histogram. Filtering, denoising, color, etc., are processed after capture. Always. Read more: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...#ixzz6HcurVk2f How to adjust such Brightness and Contrast variables (if this is righteous)?

Any help is highly appreciated.
__________________
Coaster Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2020, 22:21   #5  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 767
I still would suggest to just decode the .m2ts from the BD, not capture it in a lossy way.

If that would be for a capturing exercise, well:
In your upload Black values are lifted, compression artifacts introduced.

I wouldn't consider any further work on that file.
Maybe the pinnacle box introduced that, maybe the later reencoding...

Once you decide to capture a HD source with a SD capturer: you lose quality.
If the capturing device uses lossy codecs: you lose quality again.
I once had a Pinnacle DV box: this one introduced compression artifacts at the block borders.
Any MPEG2 capturing box I tried from 2002 to 2004: useless, video was damaged.
Still I got a Canopus ADVC300 : this went ok for VHS to DV quality.
And recently a Blackmagic Decklink: Finally 10bit 4:2:2 uncompressed, good enough for all VHS sources.

HD capturing: I would say once it is digitized, take it from there, not capturing again.
Maybe for better understanding you could upload your BD source sample ?
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 25th March 2020 at 22:34.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.