Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th October 2018, 01:49   #53361  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,059
Yea, that would be accurate, at least paired with my 3770k. I don't know if having a faster CPU would make any difference or not. I doubt it. If you want all the bells and whistles, though, a 1070 would be a better choice. Then again, at this point I'd not buy anything but a 20x0. I suspect in the future those tensor cores will prove useful.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2018, 03:43   #53362  |  Link
Tpain145
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
Hi, I want to know if a gtx 1070 ti can do the fallowing in madvr. I find it much cheaper than a gtx 1080. Can someone please try these settings and let me know the rendering times for 1080p@25,1080p@60, 720p@25,720p@60, 480p@25, 480p@60.

Scaling
1080p@25--4k
chroma upscaling== Sharp high
Image downscaling== SSIM ID Strenth 100%
scale linear light check
activate anti-ringing filter relaxed check
activate anti-bloating filter check

Image Upscaling Processing

algorighm quality: Artifact Removal:
Luma doubling: Sharp very high Reduce banding artifacts:
Luma Quadrupling: Sharp high default banding strength: Low
Chroma: Sharp high Strength during fade in and out: High

activate doubling/quadrupling
Doubling: only if scaling is 1.2x (or bigger)
Quadrupling: Only if scaling is 2.4x (or bigger)

If any (more) scaling needs to be done:
Upscaling algo: Jinc AR
Downscaling algo: SSIM ID100 AR

Upscaling refinement:

Enhance Detail 2.3
Soften edges 2
Add grain 3

SuperRes 3
Rendering: ?

1080p@60--4k Processing
Artifact Removal:
Reduce banding artifacts:
default banding strength: Low
Strength during fade in and out: High
chroma upscaling== Sharp high
Image downscaling== SSIM ID Strenth 100%
scale linear light check
activate anti-ringing filter relaxed check
activate anti-bloating filter check

Image Upscaling

algorighm quality:
Luma doubling: Sharp very high
Luma Quadrupling: Sharp high
Chroma: Sharp high

activate doubling/quadrupling
Doubling: only if scaling is 1.2x (or bigger)
Quadrupling: Only if scaling is 2.4x (or bigger)

If any (more) scaling needs to be done:
Upscaling algo: Jinc AR
Downscaling algo: SSIM ID100 AR

Upscaling refinement:

Enhance Detail 2.3
Soften edges 2
Add grain 3

SuperRes 3
Rendering: ?

720p@25--4k Processing
chroma upscaling== Anti-Alias high Artifact Removal:
Reduce banding artifacts:
Image downscaling== SSIM ID Strenth 100% default banding strength: Low
scale linear light check Strength during fade in and out: High
activate anti-ringing filter relaxed check
activate anti-bloating filter check

Image Upscaling

algorighm quality:
Luma doubling: Sharp high
Luma Quadrupling: Sharp high
Chroma: Sharp high

activate doubling/quadrupling
Doubling: only if scaling is 1.2x (or bigger)
Quadrupling: Only if scaling is 2.4x (or bigger)

If any (more) scaling needs to be done:
Upscaling algo: Jinc AR
Downscaling algo: SSIM ID100 AR

Upscaling refinement:

Enhance Detail 2.3
Soften edges 2
Add grain 3

SuperRes 3
Rendering: ?

720p@60--4k Processing
chroma upscaling== Anti-Alias high Artifact Removal:
Reduce banding artifacts:
Image downscaling== SSIM ID Strenth 100% default banding strength: Low
scale linear light check Strength during fade in and out: High
activate anti-ringing filter relaxed check
activate anti-bloating filter check

Image Upscaling

algorighm quality:
Luma doubling: Sharp high
Luma Quadrupling: Sharp high
Chroma: Sharp high

activate doubling/quadrupling
Doubling: only if scaling is 1.2x (or bigger)
Quadrupling: Only if scaling is 2.4x (or bigger)

If any (more) scaling needs to be done:
Upscaling algo: Jinc AR
Downscaling algo: SSIM ID100 AR

Upscaling refinement:

Enhance Detail 2.3
Soften edges 2
Add grain 3

SuperRes 3
Rendering: ?

480p@25--4k Processing
chroma upscaling== Anti-Alias,very high Artifact Removal:
Reduce banding artifacts:
Image downscaling== SSIM ID Strenth 100% default banding strength: Low
scale linear light check Strength during fade in and out: High
activate anti-ringing filter relaxed check
activate anti-bloating filter check Reduce compression artifacts: Check
Strength: 8, quality: High
Image Upscaling Activate only if it comes for free (as part of NGU sharp): Check

algorighm quality: Reduce random noise: Check
Luma doubling: Sharp very high Strength: 1
Luma Quadrupling: Sharp very high
Chroma: Sharp very high

activate doubling/quadrupling
Doubling: only if scaling is 1.2x (or bigger)
Quadrupling: Only if scaling is 2.4x (or bigger)

If any (more) scaling needs to be done:
Upscaling algo: Jinc AR
Downscaling algo: SSIM ID100 AR

Upscaling refinement:

Enhance Detail 2.1
Soften edges 3
Add grain 1

SuperRes 3
Rendering: ?

480p@60--4k Processing
chroma upscaling== Anti-Alias,very high Artifact Removal:
Reduce banding artifacts:
Image downscaling== SSIM ID Strength 100% default banding strength: Low
scale linear light check Strength during fade in and out: High
activate anti-ringing filter relaxed check
activate anti-bloating filter check Reduce compression artifacts: Check
Strength: 12, quality: medium
Image Upscaling Activate only if it comes for free (as part of NGU sharp): Check
Reduce random noise: Check
algorighm quality: Strength: 1
Luma doubling: Sharp very high
Luma Quadrupling: Sharp very high
Chroma: Sharp very high

activate doubling/quadrupling
Doubling: only if scaling is 1.2x (or bigger)
Quadrupling: Only if scaling is 2.4x (or bigger)

If any (more) scaling needs to be done:
Upscaling algo: Jinc AR
Downscaling algo: SSIM ID100 AR

Upscaling refinement:

Enhance Detail 1.3
Soften edges 3
Add grain 2

SuperRes 3
Rendering: ?

Last edited by Tpain145; 20th October 2018 at 03:50.
Tpain145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2018, 17:29   #53363  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,004
@1080P24 -> 4K

Maybe, if you lowered chroma upscaling to low and got rid of SuperRes. SuperRes doesn't work well with NGU, anyways.

@1080P60 -> 4K

Not a chance if you want to use NGU very high image upscaling.

@720P24 -> 4K

Seems likely if you stick to NGU high upscaling and lower chroma upscaling to low or medium.

@720P60 -> 4K

The same settings as above could work.

@480P24 -> 4K

It would work if you lowered chroma upscaling to medium or high.

@480P60 -> 4K

You might have to lower image upscaling to NGU high.

Last edited by Warner306; 20th October 2018 at 17:35.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2018, 20:18   #53364  |  Link
Tpain145
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
@1080P24 -> 4K

Maybe, if you lowered chroma upscaling to low and got rid of SuperRes. SuperRes doesn't work well with NGU, anyways.

@1080P60 -> 4K

Not a chance if you want to use NGU very high image upscaling.

@720P24 -> 4K

Seems likely if you stick to NGU high upscaling and lower chroma upscaling to low or medium.

@720P60 -> 4K

The same settings as above could work.

@480P24 -> 4K

It would work if you lowered chroma upscaling to medium or high.

@480P60 -> 4K

You might have to lower image upscaling to NGU high.
Thank for the reply.

@1080P60 -> 4K

could it work if use image upscaling to NGU high ?.
Tpain145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2018, 13:35   #53365  |  Link
mrmarioman
Registered User
 
mrmarioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
Question about 'Tone map HDR using pixel shaders'. Is this setting doing dynamic tone mapping, ala HDR10+?
And which value for peak nits should I use? I have a Sony X900F. Not sure which value should I put. Max nits 10% window? 100%? Real scene peak nits? sustained nits? also, should I use BT.2390?
mrmarioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2018, 14:42   #53366  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,345
HDR10+ doesn't do dynamic tone mapping it is providing dynamic meta data.

use the nit option that looks best to you.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2018, 18:03   #53367  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 183
@Tpain145

If the 1070 is all you can afford, you will just have to adapt to what you have.

A lot of these settings are subjective at best, so you may not even need half of them to be as high.

madVR is changing all the time, so various settings HDR wise also affect what you can do with the equipment you have/will have.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2018, 19:26   #53368  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH in the U.S.A.
Posts: 421
One thing I've always admired about madshi's work is that madVR will improve rendering quality no matter what graphics hardware you have. I have a 9" tablet that runs Win 8.1 on an Atom chip, and at default settings madVR performs just fine.

A 1070 card upscaling to a 4K display will produce obvious PQ improvements with any level of NGU. The question then becomes, as always, is it worth spending the bucks on a new graphics card for the amount of improvement you're going to get beyond that. Only your eyes (and your wallet) can answer that one.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2018, 19:54   #53369  |  Link
ABDO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 64
@madshi, is it possible to add (auto white balance algorithm) to madvr, i try many avisynth plugins and scripts for that but The result not good at all, and most tvs can do a lot better than avisynth in this case i don't know why، i also try many profissional video editor but The result are good in some and bad in other, i know that you are too busy but i wish if you think about this great Feature in madvr
edit
or may be we can replace (auto wb) with manual (temperature) and (tint) if it safer

Last edited by ABDO; 21st October 2018 at 20:42.
ABDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2018, 23:21   #53370  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 391
White balance adjustment of content is a capture/production job, not a rendering job.
If you want to reproduce content with high fidelity you should calibrate your display, not use fake "auto white balance" processing.
__________________
HTPC: W10 1803, E7400, 1050 Ti, DVB-C, Denon 2310, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: W10 1809, 4690K, HD 7870, Dell U2713HM | MediaPortal 1/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2018, 00:20   #53371  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
Hi, please can someone check something for me, I dont know if this is something ive somehow missed before or i have a problem. Avengers infinity war, i'm seeing ghosted black vertical bars quite thick sometimes right from the start of the movie, they appear to me more pronounced when there is more popping out of the screen, is this normal,have I just missed this?

checked a few other 3D movies I have, nothing but I checked regnorock, that has then as well, sometimes thick sometimes very thin, sometimes not there at all.

Its like the movie isnt centered properly or something, i've check there is no zoom and my aspect ratio is correct, does this with all my players so not software issue I dont think.
__________________
i7 Gen2 - OLED EF950 - RX580 - AVRX2200
Win10-1809 - 4K - 444 RGB 60hz AMD 18.9.3
KODI DS - MAD 92.17 0. - LAV 0.73.1 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2018, 00:51   #53372  |  Link
ABDO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
White balance adjustment of content is a capture/production job, not a rendering job.
If you want to reproduce content with high fidelity you should calibrate your display, not use fake "auto white balance" processing.
this make sense, i always thinking why madvr did not have auto wb, now i understood that it best to let this job to the display in the first place to make true White balance
thanks @el Filou to explained this.
ABDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2018, 12:32   #53373  |  Link
aduwind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
MADVR preferred OS

Hi MASHDI,
Thank you for your superb work!!
Your preferred OS is Windows 8.1 yet?
Thanks in advance
aduwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2018, 14:00   #53374  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,345
he was very clear that he recommends 8.1 over 10 the last time he did it in this thread is about a month ago.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2018, 17:14   #53375  |  Link
aduwind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
he was very clear that he recommends 8.1 over 10 the last time he did it in this thread is about a month ago.
OK
many thanks.
I'll try it.
Just starting to install in a new SSD.
aduwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 08:20   #53376  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 157
But...the newest build of MadVr works just fine under Windows 10 too.
__________________
My HTPC : i5 6600K | nVidia GTX 1080Ti | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 08:32   #53377  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,345
no one said it doesn't work on 10.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 17:46   #53378  |  Link
whitestar999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
A small query,does system ram mode(single/dual) & frequency matters for madvr. I have a ryzen 1200+B350mobo(yet to open) & used 1050Ti but no ddr4 ram.I am planning on getting a single stick 4gb 2400mhz ram for now. This system is mainly used for watching 720p/1080p videos connected to a 1080p TV.
whitestar999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 18:09   #53379  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,345
the ram speed shouldn't be important for madVR but 4Gb is asking for troubles this is a close call and depends a lot on how much your OS things it has to use.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2018, 18:55   #53380  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH in the U.S.A.
Posts: 421
4Gb might work fine if all you're doing is playing videos. You didn't say what OS you're using, but you'll want to look at the minimum requirements for the OS and how much RAM your video player uses. If you have an SSD, virtual memory won't be terribly slow if the OS needs to use it. Anti-virus programs can be major memory hogs, as can the Chrome browser if you keep a lot of tabs open, so factor in any other programs you'll be running on the machine.

You're going to want 8Gb eventually, but hopefully RAM prices will have come down by then.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.