Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th February 2019, 19:56   #54781  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
did you ever try this?
I can imagine the result, what I mean is what Warner306 says, anything else can't really be considered HDR (nor clipping at 100 nits).
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 20:08   #54782  |  Link
alexnt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Is there any way to restore the settings.bin file That I backed up?
alexnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 20:59   #54783  |  Link
IceB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
MadVR FHD 8bit SDR vs UHD 10bit HDR to SDR comparison

I have red several threads on the HDR to SDR / UHD 10 bit to FHD comparison threads and finally decided to give it a go as there is more and more UHD 10bit HDR content.
After some learning curv with the latest build of madVR and testing the "Mehanik HDR10 test patterns", I have tuned my settings and made a comparison of the several frames of different versions ( FHD / UHD 10bit HDR ) of the same great action movie " Mission: Impossible - Fallout " .
I have also tested another movies and my conclusion is unequivocal - I definitely like the compressed UHD 10bit HDR to SDR by madVR in comparison to the FHD 8bit version on my rig. I watch movies in the dedicated HT room, small but all black walls and ceiling on 96" CARADA screen with good old JVC DLA-X30 that provides a very good black levels. The lamp has made around 2500 hours run, but still good with 100nits target on madVR . The pj was calibrated a while ago with my old MONACO XR DTP94 colorimeter for REC. 709 2.2 curve and since then I am using the i1pro spectro but waiting till I order a new lamp to get it re calibrated.

Since I have been looking for any detailed A/B images on the web and could not fine anything detailed and interesting (sorry if I missed something), I made for you a single frame comparison and uploaded it on my web site with the before/after view including the madVR settings data running on GTX 1070ti. Some frames have more obvious differences the others have less, yet as mentioned the UHD content compressed by the madVR has more clarity as a result with more details in near whites ( low highlight recovery is applied ), deeper and punchier colors with much more detailes and contrast darks that adds more depth to the picture. The textures are a bit sharper as well.

Enjoy and let me know what you think.

here

hover with the mouse over the screenshots

Last edited by IceB; 16th February 2019 at 21:00. Reason: additional info
IceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 22:09   #54784  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,005
I also prefer the HDR images. Even at 100 target nits, the improvement in contrast is noticeable. Maybe the only complaint I'd have is it looks like the gamma is ever so slightly raised in the HDR shots, which you can notice in some of the changes to some color tones. But none of the images look overbright.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 22:34   #54785  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by svengun View Post
HI SamuriHL, I also have GTX1060 and an LG OLED.

Do you use ToneMapping ? When applying ToneMapping for me, rendering for goes from 30ms to 55-60ms and makes it unwatchable

Only when I downscale a lot of settings (Chroma from NGU High to low, Image Upscaling to NGU low & downscaling to Spline, it is somewhat acceptable ( 30-35ms )

And strangely enough, I get the best values with 800 nits, while my 2015/16 OLED is rated at 540 nits

If you do use ToneMapping, would you mind sharing your settings ?

you're upscaling 4k to 8k ngu then downscaling to 4k ? < you shouldn't do this >

Because ngu will only touch chroma upscaling on 4k to 4k, LUMA is 1:1, so whatever ngu setting you put for LUMA upscaling doesn't affect performance


On my 1060, for 4K HDR, I have it on NGU medium (Chroma), w/ Tone Mapping to SDR + highlight recovery, it runs ~22-30ms. Luma is 1:1 untouched.

My 1060 runs at 2088mhz, it can go to 2112mhz, but it doesn't always auto boost to that high because madvr is not a saturating load at 22-30ms


For 1920x1080 upscale, setting is NGU high chroma, NGU high luma.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 16th February 2019 at 22:49.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 23:58   #54786  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I also prefer the HDR images. Even at 100 target nits, the improvement in contrast is noticeable. Maybe the only complaint I'd have is it looks like the gamma is ever so slightly raised in the HDR shots, which you can notice in some of the changes to some color tones. But none of the images look overbright.

The contrast is static no ? So, whatever tone mapping we do at 100nit , it's trading crush for highlights ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 00:00   #54787  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceB View Post
I have red several threads on the HDR to SDR / UHD 10 bit to FHD comparison threads and finally decided to give it a go as there is more and more UHD 10bit HDR content.
After some learning curv with the latest build of madVR and testing the "Mehanik HDR10 test patterns", I have tuned my settings and made a comparison of the several frames of different versions ( FHD / UHD 10bit HDR ) of the same great action movie " Mission: Impossible - Fallout " .
I have also tested another movies and my conclusion is unequivocal - I definitely like the compressed UHD 10bit HDR to SDR by madVR in comparison to the FHD 8bit version on my rig. I watch movies in the dedicated HT room, small but all black walls and ceiling on 96" CARADA screen with good old JVC DLA-X30 that provides a very good black levels. The lamp has made around 2500 hours run, but still good with 100nits target on madVR . The pj was calibrated a while ago with my old MONACO XR DTP94 colorimeter for REC. 709 2.2 curve and since then I am using the i1pro spectro but waiting till I order a new lamp to get it re calibrated.

Since I have been looking for any detailed A/B images on the web and could not fine anything detailed and interesting (sorry if I missed something), I made for you a single frame comparison and uploaded it on my web site with the before/after view including the madVR settings data running on GTX 1070ti. Some frames have more obvious differences the others have less, yet as mentioned the UHD content compressed by the madVR has more clarity as a result with more details in near whites ( low highlight recovery is applied ), deeper and punchier colors with much more detailes and contrast darks that adds more depth to the picture. The textures are a bit sharper as well.

Enjoy and let me know what you think.

here

hover with the mouse over the screenshots

Have you compared the lut between colorimeter only and spectro+ colorimeter ?

Is it a huge difference ? I'm hunting for a spectro atm.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 01:10   #54788  |  Link
IceB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Have you compared the lut between colorimeter only and spectro+ colorimeter ?

Is it a huge difference ? I'm hunting for a spectro atm.
Sure there is - different creature.
I got the spectro mostly for work. Will give the pj a go once I will get my hands on the new lamp. Profiling/calibration is time consuming.
IceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 01:12   #54789  |  Link
IceB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I also prefer the HDR images. Even at 100 target nits, the improvement in contrast is noticeable. Maybe the only complaint I'd have is it looks like the gamma is ever so slightly raised in the HDR shots, which you can notice in some of the changes to some color tones. But none of the images look overbright.
I can definitely live with that. The benefits are obvious.
IceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 01:28   #54790  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceB View Post
since then I am using the i1pro spectro but waiting till I order a new lamp to get it re calibrated.
Don't waste your money with an x-rite "recalibration" of your i1pro. It's not a re-calibration, it's a re-certification. They read it, and they certify it if it's still within specs (which it should be as they don't drift unlike filter based colorimeter). They don't correct or change anything. If it's out of specs, it's "defective" and they charge you more to correct it. But if it was defective, you would know it, no? so unless you suspect something to be wrong (and are ready to pay more than the initial recert), I'd just skip this.

I wasted the money once, and when I saw that the numbers on their new certificate were exactly the same as on my original certification (the one you get when you buy the thing), I asked them and that's how I found out. So personally I won't do it again.

I guess it's worth doing it if you do pro calibrations, but they people expect a better spectro than an i1pro in that case.

I've had my i1pro2 for years and I don't believe it has drifted one bit. My projectors, on the other hand, especially after a few thousand hours...

Just my .2 cents of course, it's your money
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1806 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 32Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 385.28 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.24
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 01:29   #54791  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceB View Post
Sure there is - different creature.
I got the spectro mostly for work. Will give the pj a go once I will get my hands on the new lamp. Profiling/calibration is time consuming.
I just meant by eye, did the spectro introduce a significantly different image vs colorimeter alone.

Not talking about measurement , since it's already known that spectro will improve delta-e greatly.


Also @ Manni, perhaps you could chime in on my question as well.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 17th February 2019 at 01:31.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 11:34   #54792  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,357
it depends on your end device and how far off your white point is with a colorimeter.

don'T forget this is mostly about the white point and if that white point is off doesn't matter that much as long as it is constantly off by the same margin so your eyes are fine and able fix the issue. one of the reasons you may not notice the drift.

the i1d3 drifts but not by much it also depends on how it is stored.
spectro meter drift like no one else business in comparison.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 13:33   #54793  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
The contrast is static no ? So, whatever tone mapping we do at 100nit , it's trading crush for highlights ?
Yes, but you are rolling off the brightest information, which should be handled more gracefully. Raising the target nits slightly will change the color saturation, but then the image would be darker relative to the SDR screenshots. So you are right that there is a tradeoff.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 16:26   #54794  |  Link
alexnt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Hi can some one explain me why cpu usage is so high?
Attachments Pending Approval
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 02-17-19 at 05.10 PM.jpg
alexnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 16:38   #54795  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexnt View Post
Hi can some one explain me why cpu usage is so high?
Upload the image to an external image site and post a link, as it takes a while to be cleared on site.

You will need to give more information on your setup and settings as well ?
__________________
Windows 10-1809 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 385.28 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 16:54   #54796  |  Link
alexnt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
Upload the image to an external image site and post a link, as it takes a while to be cleared on site.

You will need to give more information on your setup and settings as well ?
https://postimg.cc/JstcR1SP

i5 4690k stock
r9 290 4gb stock
16gb ram
settings in madvr?
alexnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 17:13   #54797  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexnt View Post
https://postimg.cc/JstcR1SP

i5 4690k stock
r9 290 4gb stock
16gb ram
settings in madvr?
that's not high cpu usage, the core is only running at 35x instead of full , so it just looks higher.

But if you enable dx11 accleration in lav filter, it may bring that down further assuming the gpu accleration works on the file you're using.


If you delid and overclock to 4.8ghz , it'll look even lower.
Keep in mind, if you run any 4k files on 64bit mpchc cpu decode, it will use an avx code path, which may require lowering memory frequency to reach 4.8ghz stable.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 17th February 2019 at 17:17.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 17:29   #54798  |  Link
alexnt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
that's not high cpu usage, the core is only running at 35x instead of full , so it just looks higher.

But if you enable dx11 accleration in lav filter, it may bring that down further assuming the gpu accleration works on the file you're using.


If you delid and overclock to 4.8ghz , it'll look even lower.
Keep in mind, if you run any 4k files on 64bit mpchc cpu decode, it will use an avx code path, which may require lowering memory frequency to reach 4.8ghz stable.
it goes from 35 to 38 and has some drops to around 20.
and render time is lower than I remember, it was around 18-20s.

https://postimg.cc/nXJ5cSvX
settings in lav filter

As i remember I had lower cpu usage and higher render time.
I had some time to watch a movie and yesterday when I switched to fullscreen monitor went black. It was fullscreen exclusive that had a problem(i never had it before). I use madvr for years with no problem.
So i uninstalled madvr, mpc before I figured out.
Then reinstalled and noticed those numbers.
Do you believe it ok?
alexnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 22:38   #54799  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 552
Regarding the i1Pro re-certification, they measure 12 tiles or so to check if the measurement deviations are still inside a certain dE range, and do another check to see if repeated measurements of the white tile are within 0.1 dE. If it is, then that's all. If it isn't they can change the light source in the spectro with a new one. The "Certificate of Performance" is valid for only one year.

I have a request for madshi, regarding madVR: right now, madVR is able to passthrough the HDR metadata to the display. I would request to also be able to send the display the Dolby Vision metadata. This kind of metadata can now be preserved in the HEVC stream when using x265 3.0.

LG is providing mp4 video files for SDR / HDR / DolbyVision at these links, that can be used to test:
■ SDR - https://lgtca.box.com/v/SDR
■ HDR - https://lgtca.box.com/v/HDR
■ Dolby Vision - https://lgtca.box.com/v/DoVi

When using the files on a USB stick connected to one of the TV USB ports, the TV switches on HDR or DolbyVision as expected. I imagine the signaling in the video stream is all that's needed for that. PC games can also switch on Dolby Vision, so sending the metadata from a graphics card should also be possible.

As a side-note, for DolbyVision to work with Mass Effect Andromeda on the LG 65C8, the GPU needs to be configured to send RGB full range 8 bits, from my experiments. Using YcbCr will not work for enabling DolbyVision - you'll get a pink corrupted image.

These files are mentioned in the LG OLED 2019 AutoCal FAQ v2.0 pdf file that Ted posted on avsforum, as a way for users to make the TV switch in HDR or DV mode in order to be able to perform display calibration of those modes.
KoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2019, 00:49   #54800  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexnt View Post
it goes from 35 to 38 and has some drops to around 20.
and render time is lower than I remember, it was around 18-20s.

https://postimg.cc/nXJ5cSvX
settings in lav filter

As i remember I had lower cpu usage and higher render time.
I had some time to watch a movie and yesterday when I switched to fullscreen monitor went black. It was fullscreen exclusive that had a problem(i never had it before). I use madvr for years with no problem.
So i uninstalled madvr, mpc before I figured out.
Then reinstalled and noticed those numbers.
Do you believe it ok?

I don't know what you saw before/after.

if the dxva says inactive "While the movie" is playing. That means the gpu acceleration is not compatible with the file you're trying to play.

-In which case- it will default to CPU decoding. Different files have different compatibility.

But overall, it does not look high to me.

Again, you have other options, such as overclocking, if you need more oomph for hard to decode files. (not this one obviously)
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.