Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th January 2020, 12:46   #18281  |  Link
Pauly Dunne
Grumpy Old Man.
 
Pauly Dunne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Out There....
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by duffbeer View Post
I'm currently buying some parts to upgrade my encoding PC and I need a little advice. I've never used a dedicated graphics card before as I never play any games so I just use the integrated graphics.
My new CPU does not have integrated graphics so I need to buy a GPU. Noise levels are very important to me so I was planning to buy a GT 1030 2GB passive GPU.
My question is this:
Will this card be sufficient to benefit from GPU decoding in RipBot? Should I be looking at a more powerful card or is this one sufficient?

I would appreciate any advice. Cheers.
A couple of things I'd like to add...

Just how much benefit would a GT 1030 give..(compute units)

Is passive cooling going to be sufficient if being used for heavy use..

I have an MSI GTX 1080, and an MSI RX 480, both have 2 big fan's, but don't spin until they get hot, and then they are very quiet.

What CPU are you running ??
__________________
Not poorly done, just doin' it my way !!!
Pauly Dunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 13:14   #18282  |  Link
duffbeer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
100% sufficient.
Great, thanks for confirming.

So there is no performance benefit (for encoding) in buying a more powerful GPU?
duffbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 13:19   #18283  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by duffbeer View Post
Great, thanks for confirming.

So there is no performance benefit (for encoding) in buying a more powerful GPU?
You would be surprised how irrelevant is difference between gt710 and RTX2080ti in terms of video decoding speed...

GT710 can decode AVC blu-ray (~26Mbps) at ~120fps
Code:
AVSMeter 2.5.3 (x64) - Copyright (c) 2012-2017, Groucho2004
AviSynth+ 3.4 (r2925, master, x86_64) (3.4.0.0)

Number of frames:                14405
Length (hh:mm:ss.ms):     00:10:00.809
Frame width:                      1920
Frame height:                     1080
Framerate:                      23.976 (24000/1001)
Colorspace:                       i420

Frames processed:               14405 (0 - 14404)
FPS (min | max | average):      38.51 | 195.9 | 121.7
Memory usage (phys | virt):     95 | 259 MiB
Thread count:                   20
CPU usage (average):            2%

Time (elapsed):                 00:01:58.320

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 27th January 2020 at 13:27.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 13:27   #18284  |  Link
Pauly Dunne
Grumpy Old Man.
 
Pauly Dunne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Out There....
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
You would be surprised how irrelevant is difference between gt710 and RTX2080ti in terms of video decoding speed...
Interesting comment, but really, if you have substantial CPU power, why would you want to use GPU, unless you have several.

Surely it's only a small % of "help", and there's only some filters that use GPU's for filtering, not encoding.

MDegrain is CPU, KnlMeansCL is GPU.
__________________
Not poorly done, just doin' it my way !!!
Pauly Dunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 13:33   #18285  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pauly Dunne View Post
Interesting comment, but really, if you have substantial CPU power, why would you want to use GPU, unless you have several.

Surely it's only a small % of "help", and there's only some filters that use GPU's for filtering, not encoding.

MDegrain is CPU, KnlMeansCL is GPU.
You do not have to tell me that In practice GPU decoding may reduce encoding time by only ~5%.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 13:47   #18286  |  Link
Pauly Dunne
Grumpy Old Man.
 
Pauly Dunne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Out There....
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
You do not have to tell me that In practice GPU decoding may reduce encoding time by only ~5%.
Hmmm, better spending that money on CPU's, not necessarily on powerful GPU's.
__________________
Not poorly done, just doin' it my way !!!
Pauly Dunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 13:53   #18287  |  Link
Pauly Dunne
Grumpy Old Man.
 
Pauly Dunne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Out There....
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
You would be surprised how irrelevant is difference between gt710 and RTX2080ti in terms of video decoding speed...

GT710 can decode AVC blu-ray (~26Mbps) at ~120fps
Code:
AVSMeter 2.5.3 (x64) - Copyright (c) 2012-2017, Groucho2004
AviSynth+ 3.4 (r2925, master, x86_64) (3.4.0.0)

Number of frames:                14405
Length (hh:mm:ss.ms):     00:10:00.809
Frame width:                      1920
Frame height:                     1080
Framerate:                      23.976 (24000/1001)
Colorspace:                       i420

Frames processed:               14405 (0 - 14404)
FPS (min | max | average):      38.51 | 195.9 | 121.7
Memory usage (phys | virt):     95 | 259 MiB
Thread count:                   20
CPU usage (average):            2%

Time (elapsed):                 00:01:58.320
So how would this change, if you were decoding 4K footage ??

And then with 8K "just around the corner", that will really throw a "cat among the pigeons"....
__________________
Not poorly done, just doin' it my way !!!
Pauly Dunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 14:21   #18288  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,349
Quote:
And then with 8K "just around the corner", that will really throw a "cat among the pigeons"....
8K around the corner? Where? In Japan or South Korea?

Quote:
So how would this change, if you were decoding 4K footage ??
Why don't you check yourself. If GPU supports HEVC decoding then 4k should not be a problem. I expect again 120+ fps during pure decoding on GT1030.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 27th January 2020 at 14:23.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 15:06   #18289  |  Link
Pauly Dunne
Grumpy Old Man.
 
Pauly Dunne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Out There....
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
8K around the corner? Where? In Japan or South Korea?


Why don't you check yourself. If GPU supports HEVC decoding then 4k should not be a problem. I expect again 120+ fps during pure decoding on GT1030.
I'm just saying....ok it is sort of starting to show up.. I mean, I can buy 8K TV here in Australia if I wanted to, but where are you going to get 8k footage from...

I doubt that I will test GPU decoding.... I don't use GPU for anything but 4k playback and display for my 4K LG monitor...
__________________
Not poorly done, just doin' it my way !!!
Pauly Dunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2020, 15:15   #18290  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,349
Quote:
I doubt that I will test GPU decoding.... I don't use GPU for anything but 4k playback and display for my 4K LG monitor...
It is simple. Just click on AVS METER icon. Do not forget to activate GPU decoding in options first and do not perform any filtering in script.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 27th January 2020 at 15:17.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:02   #18291  |  Link
Pauly Dunne
Grumpy Old Man.
 
Pauly Dunne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Out There....
Posts: 240
A small feature request

Atak,

You know it would be VERY handy to be able to shutdown the Client PC, at any chosen chunk, instead of having to sit there, until the chunk(s) is completed, then manually stop the process.

If this:- = SHUTDOWN SERVER AT IDLE STATE (Finish encoding current chunk and then shutdown), could be added to the Clients options, instead of just the Servers.

Or better still (just on the Client), if the encoding process could be gracefully closed, and not start the next chunk, then you could abort out, without the job having been completed, ready to resume, whenever...
__________________
Not poorly done, just doin' it my way !!!
Pauly Dunne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:20   #18292  |  Link
blublub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 103
Hi

is there any way to make an encode with HDR10+ from a DolbyVision title?
blublub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.