Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th October 2010, 20:10   #1  |  Link
picrade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 44
Closed captions on BD

Some US BDs have closed captions.
Is there a tool to extract these?
picrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2010, 20:40   #2  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,271
Hi!

I personally haven't seen any true "closed captioning" (ALWAYS limited to white lettering on black background) on any of my Blu-rays. Instead, I have seen "SDH" ("Subtitles for the Deaf or Hard of hearing") subtitles. SDH streams are accessible/extractable in exactly the same way you'd access/extract "normal" subtitles...

Last edited by setarip_old; 6th October 2010 at 20:54. Reason: Omitted "Deaf"
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2010, 20:43   #3  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by picrade View Post
Some US BDs have closed captions.
Is there a tool to extract these?
I never thought BDs still contain CCs when selectable subtitles were mandatory (if present, and they must present be according to the current laws), and by far more flexible.
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 19:15   #4  |  Link
picrade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 44
They are there alright. Not on all Blu-rays, only on some. An example is Rocky US edition 2006.
I too didn't think there were CCs on Blu-ray. I stumbled upon it by accident.

To clarify, I am not talking about regular subs or SDH, but closed captions.

Even on DVDs the closed captions are not selectable via any menu item on DVD. They are not meant to be used that way.
You have to turn on a setting on the TV and/or DVD player to get CCs to display.
Such was the case with my DVD player and SD TV.
But I can find no setting on my HD TV or BD player (both Samsung) to turn on closed captions.

But I can see them on my PC.
In Total Media Theater the right-click popup menu has the closed captions as an item.
If the BD has closed captions this menu item is enabled and will display CCs.

The CCs are rather rough looking. The characters are not as neat as those in regular subtitles.
And the lines are not as neatly aligned or centered.

I don't think they are stored as another PG stream.
Otherwise they would show up in BDInfo, even if they are hidden tracks.

On DVD CC data is stored in an area called user data in the mpg stream.
But I haven't been able to find any info as to how they are stored in the m2ts stream.
picrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 20:56   #5  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,271
Quote:
But I can find no setting on my HD TV or BD player (both Samsung) to turn on closed captions.
The following lin may provide you with some additional (negative) insight:

http://www.amazon.com/closed-caption...sin=B00141AYM8
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2011, 21:46   #6  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 533
You may want to check out CCExtractor. It works great for mpeg files. As of v.56 it supports H.264. I haven't had the opportunity to try it, but it should be just what you are looking for.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 21:51   #7  |  Link
ChiDragon
Registered User
 
ChiDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 609
Bump. I've got a Blu-ray Disc with no subtitles (BDInfo and the main menu both confirm it) but that has Closed Captions that can be viewed in TMT3.

How can I rip them? CCExtractor doesn't come up with anything when I open the M2TS and try running it with default settings.
ChiDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.