Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd July 2024, 11:28   #1561  |  Link
WolframRhodium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by anton_foy View Post
Too bad, it is really fast and has so much better temporal stability compared to knlmeansCL.
The output of nlm-cuda should be closed to KNLMeansCL and should not result in an increase in image quality.
WolframRhodium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2024, 00:29   #1562  |  Link
anton_foy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolframRhodium View Post
The output of nlm-cuda should be closed to KNLMeansCL and should not result in an increase in image quality.
My mistake, yes they seem to give identical results yet only the first 4 frames seems to differ from eachother even when both using the same settings. But that doesn't bother me. Great plugin

@Tormento
Is the author here on Doom9 still? I cannot access his own forum.

Last edited by anton_foy; 23rd July 2024 at 08:53.
anton_foy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2024, 09:02   #1563  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by anton_foy View Post
Is the author here on Doom9 still? I cannot access his own forum.
I think he is lurking but not officially here.

You can’t access or you can’t register?

In the second case, perhaps some users here and on his forum can ask him to create you an account.

He is very capable but also a bit weird.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2024, 01:25   #1564  |  Link
JamesJohnston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 4
Likely bug: KNLMeansCL outputs garbage if image width is a multiple of 64

I reported this issue on GitHub, but I'm not sure if anyone's monitoring that, so posting it here as well. More details in the GitHub issue: https://github.com/pinterf/KNLMeansCL/issues/6

In short, if the image width is a multiple of 64, KNLMeansCL outputs garbage - as seen in this test case:

Code:
plugin_dir = "C:\VideoProject\Software\AviSynth-plugin\"
LoadPlugin(plugin_dir + "KNLMeansCL.dll")

function test(int width) {
    input = ColorBars(width=width, height=480, pixel_type="YV24").Trim(0, 50).Subtitle(String(width), size=36).FadeOut(50).ConvertToY8()
    output = input.KNLMeansCL(ocl_x=8, ocl_y=16, ocl_r=1)
    StackVertical(input, output)
}

StackHorizontal( \
    test(8*1),  test(8*2),  test(8*3),  test(8*4),  test(8*5),  test(8*6),  test(8*7),  test(8*8),  \
    test(8*9),  test(8*10), test(8*11), test(8*12), test(8*13), test(8*14), test(8*15), test(8*16), \
    test(8*17), test(8*18), test(8*19), test(8*20), test(8*21), test(8*22), test(8*23), test(8*24), \
    test(8*25), test(8*26), test(8*27), test(8*28), test(8*29), test(8*30), test(8*31), test(8*32), \
    test(8*33), test(8*34), test(8*35), test(8*36), test(8*37), test(8*38), test(8*39), test(8*40), \
    test(8*41), test(8*42), test(8*43), test(8*44), test(8*45), test(8*46), test(8*47), test(8*48) \
)
I posted an example of an output frame in the GitHub issue. But what happens is the bottom row (filter output) is missing outputs (they are all black) whenever width is a multiple of 64.

In real-world videos, I've seen where the filter output gets stuck at a specific frame, and doesn't change when I move the AvsPmod slider bar to other frames. Other times, it will show partial or total garbage pixels, as if it was displaying uninitialized memory.

In practice, I'm trying to crop a standard definition 720x480 video down by a multiple of 16, which is coming out with a width of 704. That seems like it would be a fairly common scenario...? but that's a multiple of 64, so the rendered output comes out as garbage.
JamesJohnston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.