Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th November 2017, 13:32   #14441  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,354
I never see that, 2 mpls with the same m2ts just in reverse order.

The problem seems located at time 0:06:26
You can load each m2ts in [9031+22220+13953+7113+17707+18946...] until reach that point.
Maybe is a corrupt m2ts or without the same audio stream than crash eac3to.

I don't know for what Handbrake work, maybe skip the problems without crash.
Are audio/video in sync after the point 0:06:26?
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 15:26   #14442  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska Dev-Helper
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I never see that, 2 mpls with the same m2ts just in reverse order.
A more strange Bluray for such behaviour is: BASTILLE_DAY.

There are more then 500 playlists with the same m2ts files in different orders.

@mtamimi
Looks like the m2ts files are corrupt.
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 15:52   #14443  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubblec4 View Post
A more strange Bluray for such behaviour is: BASTILLE_DAY.

There are more then 500 playlists with the same m2ts files in different orders.
They're not strange, that's a form of copy protection.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 19:37   #14444  |  Link
mtamimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I never see that, 2 mpls with the same m2ts just in reverse order.

The problem seems located at time 0:06:26
You can load each m2ts in [9031+22220+13953+7113+17707+18946...] until reach that point.
Maybe is a corrupt m2ts or without the same audio stream than crash eac3to.

I don't know for what Handbrake work, maybe skip the problems without crash.
Are audio/video in sync after the point 0:06:26?
Handbrake reports 2 playlists just like eac3to, however Handbrake also reports only 4 chapters for the 1st playlist, and 10 for the 2nd one. Hence the 2nd one is the correct one. I did encode the disc in Handbrake and the audio is in sync, no issues at all...

I was told that eac3to encodes audio better than Handbrake, so I thought I will use eac3to instead of Handbrake to encode the audio...

Any suggestions?
mtamimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 19:38   #14445  |  Link
mtamimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubblec4 View Post
@mtamimi
Looks like the m2ts files are corrupt.
So how come Handbrake successfully processed the whole disc?!
mtamimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 22:09   #14446  |  Link
kron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Hey, guys, is there someway to be sure the audio converted (using eac3to) from DTS HDMA to flac is really lossless?

I mean a program to show the result of such conversion?

kron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 22:22   #14447  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,379
Any compressed audio format (DTS-HD as well) is first decoded to uncompressed PCM samples. And this uncompressed audio is then compressed to FLAC.

The encoding to FLAC is lossless, certainly. The name already tells you: Free Lossless Audio Codec.
__________________

German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 23:05   #14448  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtamimi View Post
So how come Handbrake successfully processed the whole disc?!
Some soft can skip a error and continue.
eac3to abort with a error.

Maybe is a unique DTS frame corrupt and is only 11 ms lossed.
And the async is unnoticeable.

You can try extract only the dts:

eac3to.exe E:\ 2) 3: Audio.dts

without decode maybe eac3to do the job ok.
And after encode to AC3 with ffmpeg (preferred over libaften):

ffmpeg -i Audio.dts -acodec ac3 -ab 640k -center_mixlev 0.707 Audio.ac3
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 23:20   #14449  |  Link
mtamimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Some soft can skip a error and continue.
eac3to abort with a error.

Maybe is a unique DTS frame corrupt and is only 11 ms lossed.
And the async is unnoticeable.

You can try extract only the dts:

eac3to.exe E:\ 2) 3: Audio.dts

without decode maybe eac3to do the job ok.
And after encode to AC3 with ffmpeg (preferred over libaften):

ffmpeg -i Audio.dts -acodec ac3 -ab 640k -center_mixlev 0.707 Audio.ac3
Quote:
eac3to.exe E:\ 2) 3:Audio.DTSMA

a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
a03 0:27:28 Skipping dirty PES bytes...
I kept getting hundreds of messages similar to the above, so I halted eac3to...What do you think?!
mtamimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2017, 13:48   #14450  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtamimi View Post
I kept getting hundreds of messages similar to the above, so I halted eac3to...What do you think?!
Then is bug in eac3to or corrupt data in source.

In order to identify the problem you can test the first m2ts with, for instance:

eac3to.exe E:\BDMV\STREAM\22220.m2ts 2: Audio.dts

and upload a small m2ts than show the problem to http://eac3to.bugs.madshi.net/
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2017, 18:03   #14451  |  Link
pstn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 12
s

Does anyone know of a way to demux the whole playlist instead of just the first title in the playlist ? (for blurays of TV series)
pstn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2017, 21:39   #14452  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,354
eac3to show the mpls ordered by duration (maybe is not by the chapters order) and you can select the desired playlist.

In the sample before https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...09#post1823609

eac3to E:\ 2)

open the second playlist.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2017, 23:35   #14453  |  Link
pstn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
eac3to show the mpls ordered by duration (maybe is not by the chapters order) and you can select the desired playlist.

In the sample before https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...09#post1823609

eac3to E:\ 2)

open the second playlist.
sorry bud, I think I used the wrong terms, what I meant was how do I demux all .mpls at once from a disc? instead of going

"eac3to C:/ejfslflsifsihf 1) -demux"
"eac3to C:/ejfslflsifsihf 2) -demux"
"eac3to C:/ejfslflsifsihf 3) -demux"
"eac3to C:/ejfslflsifsihf 4) -demux"
pstn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2017, 23:48   #14454  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,647
You can put all these commands in a bat, it will execute them one after the other.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2017, 05:21   #14455  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
Feature Request:

Detect DTS:X audio streams.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2017, 01:18   #14456  |  Link
XMEN3
Registered User
 
XMEN3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Another sample with problems.

Remark the different size of extracted .h265
Code:
15/10/2017  22:03       177.693.906 Arrival UHD Sample.mkv_ 0.h265  (mkvextract)
15/10/2017  21:59       157.722.039 Arrival UHD Sample.mkv_1eng.h265 (eac3to)
found problem also with last UHD pirates and man of steel ectracted without problem but video size is 2gb less and have artefacts
XMEN3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2017, 00:05   #14457  |  Link
pstn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music Fan View Post
You can put all these commands in a bat, it will execute them one after the other.
thank you
pstn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2017, 02:02   #14458  |  Link
manuelin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Other samples of h265 videos that eac3to extracts its video track with artifacts:
Baby Driver
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales
Independence Day

I have also seen that this happens with The Fifth Element and Mad Max: Fury Road.

Last edited by manuelin; 12th November 2017 at 02:42.
manuelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2017, 17:56   #14459  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,070
Thanks for the samples, everyone. Could you please confirm that this test build fixes the HEVC/h265 issues?

http://madshi.net/eac3toHevcTest.rar
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2017, 19:18   #14460  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Thanks for the samples, everyone. Could you please confirm that this test build fixes the HEVC/h265 issues?

http://madshi.net/eac3toHevcTest.rar
were you able to find enough documentation about HEVC specs?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.