Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th March 2014, 04:56   #12641  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 795
Another big to Bigmango,

BTW, that useful info was originally written @

http://makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic....&t=7201#p30255
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2014, 17:47   #12642  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmango View Post
This is a problem with eac3to.

Makemkv doesn't have this problem.
...
So, if you want to make sure you are having a perfect DTS-HD to flac converstion as done by the reference DTS decoder, without needing to worry about the decoder dll version, process your MKV or bluray/iso with Makemkv...
Thanks to show us a new method to decode DTS-HD.

BTW let me say than the conversion of DTS-HD 7.1 strange setup is not perfect because the channels Ls-Rs from DTS are converted to SL-SR channels in flac/wavex, when the channels SL-SR are the DTS channels Lss-Rss from the standard 7.1 setup.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2014, 17:55   #12643  |  Link
Bigmango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 380
Some other advantages to the way makmkv converts DTS-HDMA:
  • multiple DTS-HDMA track conversion on the fly, in 1 shot (eac3to can only do 1 at a time)
  • thanks to the way it directly reads the dts decoder dll, it also works on Linux (and I guess Mac too, although I haven't used the Mac version)
  • it writes the channel layout in the FLAC tags (as DTS and Dolby do). I'm not sure if this really changes anything as FLAC is supposed to have a standard channel mapping, but it is nice to have nevertheless as we get a FLAC that more resembles the original audio track. Perhaps this is useful for channel number (matrix) down conversion (i.ex 7.1 to 5.1 to 2.0) as found in DTS/Dolby (when the original track used this feature) ?
  • Better compression. Makemkv uses the ffmpeg flac encoder (max compression level 12), whereas eac3to is using libflac (max compression level 8). In my experience, the ffmpeg level 12 results in better compression for ~98% of the tracks. Some rare tracks will however still compress a little better with eac3to's libflac (perhaps ~2% of the tracks I have done or less).

Advantage of eac3to:
  • when a 24 bit DTS-HDMA (or TrueHD) only contains 16 bit, it removes the empty bits to output a smaller file. Makemkv doesn't do this yet (the developer said he'll add this feature in the future). So after converting with Makemkv, I often re-extract the resulting FLAC tracks with eac3to to check this. (but in my experience, although this often happened with movies a few years ago, it rarely is the case today. Most new films almost always contain real 24bit audio on their 24bit tracks; especially DTS-HDMA. This is however still less the case with TrueHD, as 24bit audio is a prerequisite for TrueHD it can't contain 16 bit audio; so, some studios convert the 16 bit to 24bit and this results in a file eac3to will save back in 16 bit).

Last edited by Bigmango; 2nd April 2014 at 19:00.
Bigmango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2014, 07:20   #12644  |  Link
junior_l3oss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
i want to use slowdown speeddown and another option?

why dont you add another option?
for example i saw 25300 fps...
i want to change this fps to 23976...
...
is this possible ?
junior_l3oss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2014, 11:23   #12645  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by junior_l3oss View Post
why dont you add another option?
for example i saw 25300 fps... i want to change this fps to 23976...

is this possible ?
Nope, with eac3to only standard fps can be used (23.976, 24.000 and 25.000).

You can use SSRC with AviSynth to do the same job, but not all conversions can be done, read http://avisynth.nl/index.php/SSRC
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 01:54   #12646  |  Link
torturesauce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
I'm trying some DTS-ES files to FLAC with eac3to. I'm using Arcsoft and everything. The .dts files have been demuxed properly from the DVD (they show up as ES in MediaInfo), but when I'm using the "convert to flac" command, the files, though 6.1, sound distorted and slowed down.
torturesauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 06:27   #12647  |  Link
the_weirdo
Yes, I'm weird.
 
the_weirdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Asia
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by torturesauce View Post
I'm trying some DTS-ES files to FLAC with eac3to. I'm using Arcsoft and everything. The .dts files have been demuxed properly from the DVD (they show up as ES in MediaInfo), but when I'm using the "convert to flac" command, the files, though 6.1, sound distorted and slowed down.
Which version of dtsdecoderdll.dll you're using? IIRC, version 1.1.0.8 has problem with decoding DTS(-HD) 6.1.
__________________
“Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.” — Mark Twain
the_weirdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 09:22   #12648  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,177
When I convert DTS 5.1 to AC3 with eac3to v3.27 (using the ArcSoft DTS decoder v1.1.0.0), the conversion is extremely slow: around 15 minutes to convert an input file of 1:16:00. Is it normal, or should I try to re-install eac3to or the ArcSoft decoder? Is it something I can do to boost the conversion?
Code:
> eac3to.exe Fra.dts Fra.ac3 -640

DTS, 5.1 channels, 1:15:53, 1509kbps, 48kHz
Decoding with ArcSoft DTS Decoder...
Remapping channels...
Encoding AC3 <640kbps> with libAften...
Creating file "Fra.ac3"...
The last DTS frame is incomplete and thus gets skipped.
eac3to processing took 15 minutes, 3 seconds.
Done.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 09:31   #12649  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,362
I'd check Task Manager to make sure that the eac3to process is running as fast as it can. Have you tested decoding to WAV, is it as slow?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 10:11   #12650  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,177
Thanks.

Nothing wrong in task manager. eac3to uses only one CPU core. It's a pity, but afaik it's normal.

I just did a conversion to WAV. The process took exactly the same time: 15 minutes, 5 seconds. So, it appears that it's the decoding process that is damn slow. I will try to uninstall the ArcSoft decoder, to see if the default DTS decoder (which one is it?) is faster...
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 10:18   #12651  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
Thanks.

Nothing wrong in task manager. eac3to uses only one CPU core. It's a pity, but afaik it's normal.

I just did a conversion to WAV. The process took exactly the same time: 15 minutes, 5 seconds. So, it appears that it's the decoding process that is damn slow. I will try to uninstall the ArcSoft decoder, to see if the default DTS decoder (which one is it?) is faster...
eac3to just uses the functions that the decoder/encoder libraries provide (dtsdecoder.dll, libaften, libav, etc.). If these are not multi-threaded, the process won't be multi-threaded. The default DTS decoder is libav and it is a lot faster than Arcsoft's.
Encoding to AC3 with libaften should be multi-threaded (I think).
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 10:19   #12652  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,069
The ArcSoft DTS decoder is pretty slow - and it's single threaded. eac3to itself tries to process multi-threaded, as far as possible. But if the main decoder is single threaded that's the bottleneck and there's not much eac3to can do about it. No need to uninstall ArcSoft, try "-libav", that will use libav for decoding and process quite a bit faster (but also single threaded). But of course the ArcSoft decoder is using DTS reference code, so it might be "better" than libav. Or maybe not, who knows...

Edit: Cross-post, Groucho2004 was faster...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 10:24   #12653  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,362
And something positive: Sonic is even slower
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 10:31   #12654  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,177
Thanks everybody! That confirms that it's Arcsoft the culprit. I'll try with -libav. Thanks for the tip!

I'm not a specialist in audio decoding, but I wonder why ArcSoft is supposed to give better results than Libav. IMO, any decoder should give the same result, regardless of the techniques it uses. It's only when encoding that it is important to use a good encoder. Or am I wrong? What's the benefit of using "DTS reference code"?

Sorry for that newbie questions.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 10:43   #12655  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q-the-STORM View Post
is there a way to force eac3to to encode AC3 with libav instead of aften?
I second this request. It would be great to be able to do this and to be able to set dialnorm and DRC profile. While I know that some people (justifiably) consider dialnorm obsolete, I still like to use sometimes.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 11:06   #12656  |  Link
torturesauce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_weirdo View Post
Which version of dtsdecoderdll.dll you're using? IIRC, version 1.1.0.8 has problem with decoding DTS(-HD) 6.1.
Thank you! Yeah, I think it was 1.1.0.8. I replaced it with 1.1.0.1 and it worked like a charm!
torturesauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 11:21   #12657  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
I'm not a specialist in audio decoding, but I wonder why ArcSoft is supposed to give better results than Libav. IMO, any decoder should give the same result, regardless of the techniques it uses. It's only when encoding that it is important to use a good encoder. Or am I wrong? What's the benefit of using "DTS reference code"?
The so-called "reference code" is supposed to return a "bit-exact" decompression of lossy DTS. The bit-"exactness" is necessary for the correct decompression of DTS-HD Master Audio.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 12:45   #12658  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
The so-called "reference code" is supposed to return a "bit-exact" decompression of lossy DTS. The bit-"exactness" is necessary for the correct decompression of DTS-HD Master Audio.
I see. So, there should be no difference when decoding a "simple" (no HD) DTS 5.1. Right?

@Richard1485:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard1485 View Post
I second this request. It would be great to be able to do this and to be able to set dialnorm and DRC profile. While I know that some people (justifiably) consider dialnorm obsolete, I still like to use sometimes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
No need to uninstall ArcSoft, try "-libav", that will use libav for decoding and process quite a bit faster (but also single threaded).
And for the dialnorm, try -keepDialnorm
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV

Last edited by r0lZ; 22nd April 2014 at 12:49.
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 14:27   #12659  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 202
@r0lZ
What are you talking about? The post that you quoted refers to using libav as a decoder, not an encoder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
And for the dialnorm, try -keepDialnorm
That keeps the dialnorm of an AC-3 track when extracting. It does not give the user the ability to set dialnorm (let alone a DRC profile) when encoding.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2014, 14:37   #12660  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,177
Oops, mismatch! Sorry.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.