Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th May 2019, 19:42   #56201  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
I think leeperry just raised this issue a few posts earlier: when using 'touch window from outside', image gets scaled to bigger than screen size and then displayed with areas outside the screen, which wastes GPU, instead of being pre-cropped then scaled to full screen.

Also, when using NGU in combination with anamorphic scaling you can possibly end up using two different scaling steps depending on how you configured NGU settings.
For example I get this with broadcast SD when scaling to FHD:
luma x: 720 > [NGU] 1440 > [selected upscaling algorithm] 1920
luma y: 576 > [NGU] 1152 < [selected downscaling algorithm] 1080
Even if I choose the exact same algo for both upscaling and downscaling in NGU config, e.g. Lanczos 3 AR, the OSD still shows two different scaling steps for x and y.
Yeah, I am getting 2 NGU steps, but I can't see how to avoid this.

Honestly I just want a simple scale for the stretch heh.

I can post my madVR settings and my OSD later tonight.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2019, 20:28   #56202  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 490
I'm not sure it's two NGU steps, I think it doubles with NGU, then (for my example) upscales in the x direction with the upscale algo, then downscales in the y direction with the downscale algo, so 720x576 > 1440x1152 > 1920x1152 > 1920x1080
But I may be wrong. I'll check later with ShowRenderSteps.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2019, 01:28   #56203  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,167
@sirmaster. Plz don't quote entire lengthy posts directly above yours. You can edit them down or just not quote at all. Makes for a lot less wasted space on the forum, cheers.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2019, 13:15   #56204  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Does anyone have much experience with the anamorphic lens option in madVR?

I am helping set up a new HTPC for a friend and we put in a RTX 2070. Anyways, with the settings we are using the render time is about 28-30ms which seems decent.

However, when I enable the anamorphic lens option, the render times go way up to 130-150ms!

Also, the anamorphic mode on his actual projector will stretch the content off the top and bottom edges of the screen (which is intentional). Like if it's a 16:9 native video and he wants to view it on his 2.40 screen, the 16:9 needs to be vertically stretched where the top and bottom get stretched off the screen. How can you do this with madVR anamorphic mode? I tried playing with the stretch numbers, but I can't get it to stretch the video vertically off the top and bottom of the screen. Maybe I have to use the "define visible screen area by cropping masked borders" feature?

I just assumed madVR would be really flexible with this sort of video manipulation, but I just can't seem to figure it out.

Anyone have any insights on either of these issues (the terrible anamorphic stretch performance) and (getting 16:9 content to vertically stretch)?
Try the playing with the zoom control settings. I know the two can interact, but I can't remember how the last person configured these settings to get all aspect ratios to fit. It might be possible to find past posts on this topic through Google. I think I was reading a post at the JRiver forums.

Last edited by Warner306; 11th May 2019 at 13:18.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2019, 19:04   #56205  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 382
Is there a way to change zoom percentage on MPCHC or Madvr ? for fine control ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2019, 19:33   #56206  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
numpad has the zoom control hotkeys. 9 is zoom in.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 00:42   #56207  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 250
Careful with Nvidia 430.64

It revert output Dynamic Range to Limited everytime I turn my TV

Last edited by x7007; 12th May 2019 at 01:34.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 02:28   #56208  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,188
Alright, madvr, let's see what you got. I just upgraded my HTPC to a 9900k, 32 gigs of 3200 ddr4, and a founder's edition 2070. I'm tired of being on the edge of UHD playback. Now to re-tweak madvr after I get this clean driver install done and configured for these new 20xx cards.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 07:29   #56209  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I just upgraded my HTPC to a 9900k, 32 gigs of 3200 ddr4, and a founder's edition 2070.
This is not an HTPC but a power plant!
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 07:42   #56210  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 101
Is there any way to use the Nvidia noise reduction with madVR? I'm fed up with the grain/noise added to some UHD videos. I've tried all the decoding options but it doesn't work. I'm testing the Gradual Denoise from ffdshow now, but the performance is not very good and produces some artifacts. Some other alternative?
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 08:32   #56211  |  Link
svengun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
Is there any way to use the Nvidia noise reduction with madVR? I'm fed up with the grain/noise added to some UHD videos.
I would like to know this as well
__________________
Livingroom: Ryzen 7 1700@3.9ghz - Win Insiders Fast Ring - MSI RTX 2700 Gaming - Philips 65OLED803 | Bedroom Ryzen 3 1200 - Win 8.1 - GTX1060 - LG OLED EG920V 55" > All with MadVR latest test build

Last edited by svengun; 12th May 2019 at 08:40.
svengun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 08:38   #56212  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
Some other alternative?
Have you tried madVR's?

There is no way to use Nvidia's but madVR's processing -> artifact removal -> reduce random noise on 2-4 works pretty well for me, on content with grain that bothers me.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 09:18   #56213  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 101
It doesn't work for me, continuous frame drops, and it doesn't improve too much anyway. Gradual Denoise works quite well but I have to reduce other settings a bit.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 10:41   #56214  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
it should work with DXVA scaling.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 11:54   #56215  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
I'm fed up with the grain/noise added to some UHD videos.
Added? That would probably be "preserved".
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 12:51   #56216  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,188
Preserved in most cases, yes. In some movies they've done really stupid things and attempted to add film grain to make it feel more like film. I can't think of it off the top of my head but I encountered one of them recently and it was very distracting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
This is not an HTPC but a power plant!
Lol! I wasn't messing around. I wanted something that would handle the settings I choose to use. Madvr can be power hungry at times.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED

Last edited by SamuriHL; 12th May 2019 at 12:54.
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 13:34   #56217  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
madVR can be CPU hungry?

don't waste your money on a CPU just get a bigger GPU.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 14:05   #56218  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,188
The CPU wasn't for madvr. My 3770k machine developed a bad Mobo and the whole machine had to be upgraded. And I don't like upgrading often so I tend to go all out when I do. I completely agree that the 9900k is overkill for madvr.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 14:13   #56219  |  Link
Charky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Added? That would probably be "preserved".
I think that depends.

The grain is indeed "preserved" if we're talking about a movie shot on actual film stock that's being digitally scanned afterwards.

With more recent movies, mostly shot with digital cameras, grain is often added in post-production to achieve a film look. I don't really mind (I like "organic" dirty looking pictures) unless the filmmakers turns the knob to 11.
__________________
Charky

"Rule #1 : If it works, don't change anything."

Last edited by Charky; 12th May 2019 at 14:17.
Charky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2019, 14:18   #56220  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
madVR can be CPU hungry?

don't waste your money on a CPU just get a bigger GPU.
I'm using a Core i5-Haswell with a GTX 1060 6gb and because the GPU is doing every video processing now, can I downgrade the CPU to a Pentium eg.G3450 without lowering madVR power ?
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.