Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th September 2010, 00:37   #1  |  Link
OvejaNegra
ekTOMBE STUDIOS
 
OvejaNegra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cuba
Posts: 253
filtering hybrid DVD footage and encoding to AVCHD or BluRay

Let's say i have a typical hybrid anime DVD with the usuall problems (rainbow, dothcrawl, and of course mixed frame rate)

after the usuall filtering + tivtc i have a vfr video with a time code

i cannot put that on avchd or blu ray with x264, those require constant frame rate.

what can i do?

TFM will match the frames and remove the combing but i still have duplicate frames.

Yes, i know i can produce constant frame rate with tivtc but that will introduce stutering on the pannig scenes or any scene with 29.976 fps.

Yes, i know i can encode the original stream in interlaced mode, but what about the other filters on my chain (denoisers, color correction, levels, etc) some of them will work with interlaced input, but some will require a progressive input)

Maybe i can revert the tivtc after all processing but i dont know how to do it.

Before you ask, yes, i know this post is maybe best suited for the avisynth trheads but maybe, maybe there is a way of encoding this correcly with x264 using h264 pulldown flags and the timecode produced by tivtc, maybe not.

The reason to do this is because if i can put my x264 encodes on a disc, with a standard format (BD5 / AVCHD) with menus, well why not?

thanks
__________________
So, it works or not???
OvejaNegra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2010, 09:52   #2  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by OvejaNegra View Post
Yes, i know i can encode the original stream in interlaced mode, but what about the other filters on my chain (denoisers, color correction, levels, etc) some of them will work with interlaced input, but some will require a progressive input)
Bob it, filter it, reinterlace it.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2010, 20:20   #3  |  Link
OvejaNegra
ekTOMBE STUDIOS
 
OvejaNegra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cuba
Posts: 253
i assume you are talking about bob() on avisynth
why not separate fields?
because the picture wont be large enough to some filters?
can you recommend a bob filter that does not interpolate the picture (well i think that's impossible)
i meant, a way to bob the picture without change the content of the lines (to avoid losing detail)

thank you
__________________
So, it works or not???
OvejaNegra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2010, 23:47   #4  |  Link
nm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by OvejaNegra View Post
can you recommend a bob filter that does not interpolate the picture (well i think that's impossible)
i meant, a way to bob the picture without change the content of the lines (to avoid losing detail)
Most simple bobbers keep the original lines unchanged and only interpolate the added ones.
nm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 01:10   #5  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by OvejaNegra View Post
why not separate fields?
because the picture wont be large enough to some filters?
No, it's not a size issue. When you separate fields, you need to allow for the field offsets. It's a difficult calculation that most users don't understand and will mess up, destroying resolution. The correct alignments are achieved automatically when using the bobbing approach.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 15:06   #6  |  Link
OvejaNegra
ekTOMBE STUDIOS
 
OvejaNegra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cuba
Posts: 253
Quote:
Most simple bobbers keep the original lines unchanged and only interpolate the added ones.
According to the aisynth documentation:
To strictly preserve the original fields and just fill in the missing lines.
bob(0.0, 1.0)
Bob(0.0, 1.0) preserves the original fields for RGB and YUY2 and preserves the Luma but not the Chroma for YV12.

Whats the color output of dgdecode?

Well i think i can use
converttoYUY2() (maybe)
bob(0.0, 1.0)
my_filters()
AssumeTFF()
Separatefields()
Selectevery(4,0,3)
Weave()
encode on interlaced mode with TFF

please correct me if im wrong!!

I will give a try to that
Thanks!!
__________________
So, it works or not???

Last edited by OvejaNegra; 6th September 2010 at 15:31.
OvejaNegra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avchd, bd5, hybrid, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.