Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th May 2006, 22:18   #2181  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Two possible solutions:
two video types: AVCAVI and ASPAVI.... I'm not sure how that would work, though.

The muxers have a list of videocodecs that they support. So, not only does a mux path need to be found, but every muxer after the one that muxes it in needs to support that video codec. (Similar for audio codecs). I like this solution, but it still doesn't work when you just select an avi input file.... you don't know what codec it is. Perhaps MediaInfo would be useful for this?

EDIT: About MediaInfoLib. The things I see it as perhaps useful for are:
  • Finding the fps of sources that will be DirectShowSource'd. This should solve one of the main reasons that files can't be loaded into MeGUI
  • Used for muxing as mentioned above
  • Possible use in One Click Encode to allow DirectShow inputs there.
  • Use when muxing unknown inputs to determine the number of frames of the source file (because at the moment, there is no way to know, so it is set to 100 (arbitrary decision).
It could be made into a fourth kind of video reader: DirectShowReader. This would mean getting its properties via MediaInfo, and getting the video display via AviSynth.

Last edited by berrinam; 9th May 2006 at 22:58.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2006, 22:48   #2182  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Why are there two CQM fields in XviD config, although xvid_encraw only allows one CQM file, and all of Sharktooth's ASP CQMs are a single file?
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 08:16   #2183  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
Quote:
Why are there two CQM fields in XviD config, although xvid_encraw only allows one CQM file
Because mencoder wants the Intra and Inter matrix separately. iirc inly the intra matrix is used these days, the other is useless.

Quote:
Finding the fps of sources that will be DirectShowSource'd. This should solve one of the main reasons that files can't be loaded into MeGUI
Are we wrapping those sources into an AviSynth script? If so, wouldn't it not make any difference since the encoder would have the exact same issue?

Quote:
So, not only does a mux path need to be found, but every muxer after the one that muxes it in needs to support that video codec.
Hmm.. I initially thought of that but then scrapped the idea because it would just add another layer of complexity which at this point I didn't need (every muxer supported all kinds of content in input that was already in the desired container). It's the cleanest way though.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 08:27   #2184  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom9
Because mencoder wants the Intra and Inter matrix separately. iirc inly the intra matrix is used these days, the other is useless.
Well, in that case, I will remove the inter matrix textfield. I think it would also be good to get someone to redesign the XviD config dialog.

Quote:
Are we wrapping those sources into an AviSynth script? If so, wouldn't it not make any difference since the encoder would have the exact same issue?
I meant the problem with using AviSynth to load files via DirectShowSource -- AviSynth sometimes complains and says, "Can't load source. Can't detect framerate". If you provide it with the framerate, then it loads fine. So, finding out the framerate via MediaInfo would solve that problem.

Quote:
Hmm.. I initially thought of that but then scrapped the idea because it would just add another layer of complexity which at this point I didn't need (every muxer supported all kinds of content in input that was already in the desired container). It's the cleanest way though.
I think it won't make it overly complex to do that. I'll just add a supported Video/Audio codec property to IMuxing, and register another Mux Path checker.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 08:51   #2185  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
0.2.3.2136 10 May 2006
Commit by berrinam:
- Fixed Profile Importing/Exporting's CQM handling for XviD
- Added tritical's fix for AviSynthWrapper
- Fixed OneClick window loading
- Fixed LMP4 config loading

bins: http://rapidshare.de/files/20081273/....2136.zip.html or http://www.savefile.com/files/8710945
src: http://rapidshare.de/files/20081338/....2136.zip.html

Enjoy.

Last edited by berrinam; 10th May 2006 at 12:43.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 08:55   #2186  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,579
Quote:
AviSynth sometimes complains and says, "Can't load source. Can't detect framerate". If you provide it with the framerate, then it loads fine. So, finding out the framerate via MediaInfo would solve that problem.
Ahh.. I know that one. You make a compelling argument to include MediaInfoLib.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 11:57   #2187  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by berrinam
0.2.3.2136 10 May 2006
Commit by berrinam:
- Fixed Profile Importing/Exporting's CQM handling for XviD
- Added tritical's fix for AviSynthWrapper
- Fixed OneClick window loading
- Fixed LMP4 config loading

bins: http://rapidshare.de/files/20081273/....2136.zip.html
src: http://rapidshare.de/files/20081338/....2136.zip.html

Enjoy.
Can you upload binaries somewhere else because i have net with proxy which is not supported by rapidshare. Thanks
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2006, 12:48   #2188  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by berrinam
I think it won't make it overly complex to do that. I'll just add a supported Video/Audio codec property to IMuxing, and register another Mux Path checker.
Well, it's more complex than I realised.

The main difficulty arises from the fact that we now need to know the codec at every level, as opposed to just knowing the VideoType (these aren't always interchangeable). It isn't a terrible problem; it should just require working through all of the code and replacing OutputType with MuxableType (a struct which will contain an OutputType and the codec used). Unfortunately, this sort of tedious work can't be done right now. I'll have to leave it for a little while.

@shon3i: edited my above post.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 01:38   #2189  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Since the CVS is down, latest sources can be found on the anon SVN: https://svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/megui (use a svn client)

EDIT: i updated the version number in AssemblyInfo.cs to 0.2.3.2136

Last edited by Sharktooth; 11th May 2006 at 12:36.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 11:32   #2190  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth
Until the CVS is down, latest sources can be found on the anon SVN: https://svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/megui (use a svn client)

EDIT: i updated the version number in AssemblyInfo.cs to 0.2.3.2136
I guess you mean "because CVS is down" or "until CVS is back online", latest sources can be found on the anon SVN....

The checkout went fine, are there are problems for using SVN then?

(besides the fact that i can't compile again, see bug report thread)
bob0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 12:35   #2191  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
yeah... no, but the old versions history is gone. so it preferable to still use the CVS until we can migrate the whole thing to the SVN.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 14:20   #2192  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Sources and Bins are available here too (from now on):
http://mirror05.x264.nl/Sharktooth/?dir=./MeGUI
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 17:03   #2193  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
CVS is BACK.
Read the SF email to know how to access the new service.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 12th May 2006 at 17:11.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 23:38   #2194  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Committed 0.2.3.2135 and .2136 to CVS. I'll finish and commit the update I'm working on now, and then let's move to SVN?
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 23:42   #2195  |  Link
ChronoCross
Does it really matter?
 
ChronoCross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,542
anon cvs is still broken so svn would be great lol. I just wish gpac would move to subversion as well.
ChronoCross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 00:02   #2196  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Well, if anon CVS is still broken, then a transition won't be so easy. EDIT: Anonymous CVS is working now -- I just tested. You need to reconfigure the settings, though: http://sourceforge.net/docs/E04/

Last edited by berrinam; 13th May 2006 at 00:04.
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 02:16   #2197  |  Link
berrinam
Registered User
 
berrinam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,740
Code:
0.2.3.2137 13 May 2006
Commit by berrinam:
  - Added a check for whether muxers support the codec in mux path finding
  - Added a warning message on the bitrate calculator (it needs a refactor)
  - Fixed the mp4 bug with the calculator
  - Fixed a bitrate calculation bug in AutoEncode
berrinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 14:47   #2198  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
I'll try to migrate again...

EDIT: migration from CVS is "currently not available"

Last edited by Sharktooth; 13th May 2006 at 14:52.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 19:46   #2199  |  Link
dimzon
BeHappy/MeGUI developer
 
dimzon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,727
Is this settings valid ???


Code:
In C:\MeGUI: "C:\Program Files\TortoiseCVS\cvs.exe" "-q" "checkout" "-P" "MeGUI-src.CVS"
CVSROOT=:ext:dimzon@megui.cvs.sourceforge.net:443/cvsroot/megui

cvs.exe checkout: bad CVSROOT - Cannot specify port: :ext:dimzon@megui.cvs.sourceforge.net:443/cvsroot/megui
cvs.exe [checkout aborted]: Bad CVSROOT.

Error, CVS operation failed
dimzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2006, 20:35   #2200  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
port number is wrong. remove it.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
development, megui, not a help thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.