Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th August 2018, 17:52   #52081  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that's messed up i try may r9 270 later.

edit: and with later i mean days i guess at week end.
sorry my r9 270 is working like a charm.
but my windows has a lot of changed settings to make it usable.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2018, 19:50   #52082  |  Link
kostik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 106
Previously D3D11 fullscreen windowed was showing only 8 bit but now , OSD shows me D3D11 fullscreen windowed (10 bit) .

Both in HDR and SDR modes.

I am not sure whether nvidia 398.98 hotfix fixed it or the new Win10 18214 build or maybe the latest madVR test build.

Last edited by kostik; 13th August 2018 at 19:55.
kostik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2018, 21:25   #52083  |  Link
KoKlusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Ok thanks, that's what I was hoping for.

EDIT:

Just re-read what you said. Not sure the latest version is using the same tonemapping as madVRhdrTestFinalColor4.zip, as they look very different on my setup, to my eyes anyway.
Well, I wrote that just minutes before latest version dropped, which did changed how madVR reads metadata.
KoKlusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2018, 22:04   #52084  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoKlusz View Post
Well, I wrote that just minutes before latest version dropped, which did changed how madVR reads metadata.
Where is this thread in the AVS forum?
Siso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2018, 22:19   #52085  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 513
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...projector.html
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 00:05   #52086  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by kostik View Post
Previously D3D11 fullscreen windowed was showing only 8 bit but now , OSD shows me D3D11 fullscreen windowed (10 bit) .
Test build fixed it. Surprised madshi didn't release an interim build or quick fix release here, he's pretty dedicated to avsforum and playing with HDR right now so I guess that's why.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 03:43   #52087  |  Link
ajp_anton
Registered User
 
ajp_anton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stockholm/Helsinki
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
yes they could go and read the timestamps before starting playback and could choice the refreshrate and if or if not SM should be used.

but this sounds like a lot of work.

just the info if it is VFR is not enough. the first frame could be reported with a shorter frame time and the rest is CFR but the file would still be reported back as VFR. this is a real "problem" BTW. but real VFR is really uncommon.

you could add a tag to force SM. sorry i don't know the name of them but pretty sure there is one.
If there's a lot of "fake" VFR, then that's a problem for sure. But VFR isn't as rare as you think. All of my recent smartphones record VFR video. Sometimes frames are skipped or delayed for whatever reasons... CPU throttling because of overheating, background tasks, who knows. Learned it after many hours of pulling my hair when trying to re-encode my videos using tools that assume CFR.
ajp_anton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 10:01   #52088  |  Link
svengun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Test build fixed it. Surprised madshi didn't release an interim build or quick fix release here, he's pretty dedicated to avsforum and playing with HDR right now so I guess that's why.
Where are these test builds available ?
svengun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 10:07   #52089  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,838
Been linked multiple times.. with the last like a page ago..
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 14:56   #52090  |  Link
svengun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Been linked multiple times.. with the last like a page ago..
I checked the last two pages , I can't find it , can you give me a hint ?
svengun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 15:08   #52091  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 513
You need to follow this thread:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...projector.html

madshi links new test builds there. Scan backwards from the last post to find recent builds. E.g., see post #1601.

Last edited by videoh; 14th August 2018 at 15:14.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 17:31   #52092  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,907
i hope people read the >projector< part.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 18:34   #52093  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,875
Once the project is done, in theory it'll work on any display and could be better than the HDR on some TV's. But it's still very early stages.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 21:39   #52094  |  Link
cyberscott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i hope people read the >projector< part.
True but madshi did implement at least one fix on the test builds in that forum: 10 bit full screen is (non-exclusive)working again. It was stuck in 8 bit after the Windows 1803 update.

Iím glad to see him actively working on madVR even if not within this forum.
cyberscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 23:23   #52095  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,235
It was not due to the Windows 1803 update. It was due to the Nvidia drivers returning poor quality when using HDR + Windowed 10 bit at the same time, so madshi disabled Windowed 10 bit as a quick and dirty "fix".
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2018, 00:24   #52096  |  Link
KoKlusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Once the project is done, in theory it'll work on any display and could be better than the HDR on some TV's. But it's still very early stages.
It's already working on any display, and it's much, much better than tonemapping of my TV.
KoKlusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2018, 00:45   #52097  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoKlusz View Post
It's already working on any display, and it's much, much better than tonemapping of my TV.
Yup, I've been following the AVS thread with great interest. I'm glad to see the work and testing being done. I've not had time to contribute to the testing, unfortunately, but, I'm very interested to see where it goes.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2018, 07:00   #52098  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
It was not due to the Windows 1803 update. It was due to the Nvidia drivers returning poor quality when using HDR + Windowed 10 bit at the same time, so madshi disabled Windowed 10 bit as a quick and dirty "fix".
So do the latest divers work?
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, EVGA GTX1070 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi 17.5, latest MadVR (x64), LAV Filter latest nightly (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)

LG 4K OLED (55C7D)
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2018, 08:54   #52099  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,235
I don't know how the fix worked, perhaps madshi simply changed it to only disable Windowed 10 bit for HDR (where the problem is)?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2018, 11:39   #52100  |  Link
tony359
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weirdo View Post
You were right, thanks. It's strange because Focus Assist was supposedly disabled, but problem went away only after unticking all options.
THANK YOU! I had set Focus Assist to OFF but it was still causing issues. I did not realise I had to "untick all the options" as you said!!

Cheers!
tony359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.