Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th February 2018, 18:42   #27021  |  Link
kufo
Registered User
 
kufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 56
Thanks for the backup, jdobbs. The issue with audio and video getting out of sync, was discussed in Redfox before. I read about that, obout two weeks before.
I'll be patient...
Thanks for your great work
anyway!

Last edited by kufo; 13th February 2018 at 20:03.
kufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2018, 21:52   #27022  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by kufo View Post
Thanks for the backup, jdobbs. The issue with audio and video getting out of sync, was discussed in Redfox before. I read about that, obout two weeks before.
I'll be patient...
Thanks for your great work
anyway!
Did anyone come to any conclusion?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2018, 21:57   #27023  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Did anyone come to any conclusion?
Yeah...

gonca is a wee wee head...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2018, 23:15   #27024  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,500
Suggestion mode: Allow DTS audio for background music.

Thanks.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2018, 23:17   #27025  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I just wanted to give everyone an update on the UHD capability. I have BD-RB working. It can import 2160p MKVs etc. It can do full backups and movie-only backups of non-protected UHD-BD sources. But... I am having a lot of trouble with audio/video sync after TSMUXER muxes them. I can't blame TSMUXER, however, because MKVMERGE has the same issue after muxing. It may be some inconsistency in the HEVC stream generated by X265, or possibly FFMPEG (used for frame serving) could be losing frames... I really don't know. I don't think it is the audio, as it doesn't necessarily get reencoded, and it is handled no differently than with previous BD-RB versions.

I haven't figured out why this is happening yet, but if and when I do I'll release a test version here on Doom9. The biggest problem is that it takes anywhere between 10 and 18 hours for my system to do a full movie (even at the fastest encode speed and using one-pass ABR)... so you can only do so much in a day.

I think I'll do a couple encodes using AVISYNTH just to eliminate the FFMPEG possibility -- but even if it works correctly that's not a long term solution as it would also be losing the HDR and 10 bit attributes during encode.
It looks as though frames are being added during the encode process (FFMPEG?). I just ran the original and the output from the encode through AVISYNTH using StackVertical() and the new encode slowly lags more-and-more behind the original as it plays (at the same frame rate). Because of the apparent addition of frames, the total length of the new encode is 31 seconds longer than the original on the test I'm doing. I'm now running the exact same encode using AVISYNTH as the frame server rather than FFMPEG. I'll see what happens in about 15 hours or so.

If I'm lucky I may find that its caused by my use of the "-r" option in FFMPEG... but that'll take another encode as well.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 13th February 2018 at 23:28.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2018, 23:30   #27026  |  Link
kufo
Registered User
 
kufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Did anyone come to any conclusion?
@jdobbs
Unfortunately, I can not find the post anymore. I'm afraid it was deleted ... How does it look if MKV is selected as the output format?
I remember it was related to the output format. Details were as far as I remember not mentioned. That's probably a secret from Elby CBD.
It is about 2 weeks (may be 3 weeks) ago that I have read the post. I'm sorry that I can not say more about that.

If I'm lucky I may find that its caused by my use of the "-r" option in FFMPEG... but that'll take another encode as well.

I hope this is the solution to the problem.

Last edited by kufo; 13th February 2018 at 23:37.
kufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 00:41   #27027  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by kufo View Post
@jdobbs
Unfortunately, I can not find the post anymore. I'm afraid it was deleted ... How does it look if MKV is selected as the output format?
I remember it was related to the output format. Details were as far as I remember not mentioned. That's probably a secret from Elby CBD.
It is about 2 weeks (may be 3 weeks) ago that I have read the post. I'm sorry that I can not say more about that.

If I'm lucky I may find that its caused by my use of the "-r" option in FFMPEG... but that'll take another encode as well.

I hope this is the solution to the problem.
No. That wasn't the problem. In fact the problem persists even if I frame serve with AVISYNTH. So that eliminates FFMPEG as the culprit. That points to X265 as the source of the problem. I even removed all options from the X265 command line and used the default settings --- and it still appears that frames are being added. The original video gradually gets out of sync with the newly encoded video when I play them back together in AVISYNTH.

Not sure how I am going to fix this -- my next step will be to see if there is anything documented as a bug fix and try a newer X265 version.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 00:42   #27028  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I just wanted to give everyone an update on the UHD capability. I have BD-RB working. It can import 2160p MKVs etc. It can do full backups and movie-only backups of non-protected UHD-BD sources. But... I am having a lot of trouble with audio/video sync after TSMUXER muxes them. I can't blame TSMUXER, however, because MKVMERGE has the same issue after muxing. It may be some inconsistency in the HEVC stream generated by X265, or possibly FFMPEG (used for frame serving) could be losing frames... I really don't know. I don't think it is the audio, as it doesn't necessarily get reencoded, and it is handled no differently than with previous BD-RB versions.

I haven't figured out why this is happening yet, but if and when I do I'll release a test version here on Doom9. The biggest problem is that it takes anywhere between 10 and 18 hours for my system to do a full movie (even at the fastest encode speed and using one-pass ABR)... so you can only do so much in a day.

I think I'll do a couple encodes using AVISYNTH just to eliminate the FFMPEG possibility -- but even if it works correctly that's not a long term solution as it would also be losing the HDR and 10 bit attributes during encode.
Vapoursynth allows retention of HDR10 metadata
This app allows for the addition of HDR10 metadata to the hevc stream
https://github.com/SK-Hardwired/nv_hevc_hdr_patcher

@Lathe
Weak, very weak
About your limit I guess
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 00:53   #27029  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 822
@jdobbs
What happens to the sync if you re encode to MKV?
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 00:56   #27030  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
@jdobbs
What happens to the sync if you re encode to MKV?
MKV is a wrapper, so that is not going to make a difference.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 00:58   #27031  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
MKV is a wrapper, so that is not going to make a difference.
DOHHHHHH!

... and WHO is outta their league now...?
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 01:14   #27032  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
MKV is a wrapper, so that is not going to make a difference.
Would eliminate TsMuxer as the issue, process of elimination

Note
I am re encoding UHD to MKV and I have no sync issues
Using DGIndexNV, Vapoursynth and NVEnc

@Lathe
That would be you!!!
797 and climbing
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 01:34   #27033  |  Link
kufo
Registered User
 
kufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
MKV is a wrapper, so that is not going to make a difference.
In CBD it did make a diffrence. Maybe it was software related, but output to MKV was playing fine for me.
kufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 06:13   #27034  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,500
Maybe I should have added some fine print. jdobbs indicated that it is an encoder issue, therefore no matter what wrapper is used, it isn't going to make the encoder issue go away. As the old saying goes, crap in, crap out.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 06:16   #27035  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,500
On a different note, I went looking for an option that would cause the background for the menu to loop if it contains audio, but I didn't find it. Is there one?
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 15:27   #27036  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Would eliminate TsMuxer as the issue, process of elimination

Note
I am re encoding UHD to MKV and I have no sync issues
Using DGIndexNV, Vapoursynth and NVEnc

@Lathe
That would be you!!!
797 and climbing
It does the exact same think in MKV.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 15:28   #27037  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
On a different note, I went looking for an option that would cause the background for the menu to loop if it contains audio, but I didn't find it. Is there one?
Sorry, but no. That has been on the "to do" list for a long time.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 17:13   #27038  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
No. That wasn't the problem. In fact the problem persists even if I frame serve with AVISYNTH. So that eliminates FFMPEG as the culprit. That points to X265 as the source of the problem. I even removed all options from the X265 command line and used the default settings --- and it still appears that frames are being added. The original video gradually gets out of sync with the newly encoded video when I play them back together in AVISYNTH.

Not sure how I am going to fix this -- my next step will be to see if there is anything documented as a bug fix and try a newer X265 version.
Handbrake produces properly sync re-encodes with HDR, I think it uses FFMPEG too.
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 20:34   #27039  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Sorry, but no. That has been on the "to do" list for a long time.
OK. Thanks, just making sure.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 23:30   #27040  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 822
@jdobbs
x265 version
2.6+31-3712d13c09bf

test 1
script
Quote:
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
core.avs.LoadPlugin(r'C:\Program Files (Portable)\dgdecnv\x64 Binaries\DGDecodeNV.dll')
clip = core.avs.DGSource(r'I:\Morgan.dgi', fieldop=0, fulldepth=True)
clip.set_output()
cmd line
Quote:
"xxxx\avs2pipemod\avs2pipemod64.exe" -y4mp | "C:\Program Files (Portable)\x265\x265.exe" --crf 18 --preset ultrafast --profile main10 --level-idc 5.1 --output-depth 10 --frames 0 --y4m --output W:\TEMP\yyy.hevc -
test 2
same script
cmd line
Quote:
"xxxx\avs2pipemod\avs2pipemod64.exe" -y4mp | "C:\Program Files (Portable)\x265\x265.exe" --crf 18 --preset ultrafast --profile main10 --level-idc 4.1 --output-depth 10 --hdr --uhd-bd --frames 0 --y4m --output W:\TEMP\yyy.hevc -
results
original 14400 frames
test 1 14400 frames
test 2 14400 frames

same frame count, no extra frames
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.