Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st February 2018, 04:08   #22641  |  Link
Wackyphill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
When using LAV to decode H265 video and have NVIDIA CUVID set as the hardware decoder it use the nVidia PureVideo H265 decoding capabilities of a GTX1080Ti to do decoding or just use generic hardware acceleration on the video card?
Wackyphill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2018, 04:14   #22642  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,803
CUVID is just another way to access the hardware decoders so yes they should be all the same and avoid CUVID if possibile.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2018, 05:11   #22643  |  Link
jaytrinitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 13
UHD Blu-Ray Parsing

Does the new ability of LAV splitter 0.71 to parse UHD Blu-Ray mean that I can play a UHD Blu Ray in my disk drive in MPC-HC using LAV? Will I still get the HDR, Atmos/DTS:X decoding, 4k, 10 bit, etc.?
jaytrinitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2018, 06:33   #22644  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 1,981
There is no Atmos/DTS:X decoder. ffmpeg can decode only TrueHD/DTS.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2018, 06:37   #22645  |  Link
jaytrinitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
There is no Atmos/DTS:X decoder. ffmpeg can decode only TrueHD/DTS.
Oh yeah I had forgot there was nothing for PC that decodes that. But Atmos and DTS:X have a DTS-HD MA and TrueHD core right? And what about on the video side? Can I still put a UHD disc in and have MPC-HC play it, with HDR, 4k, 10 bit and all the rest (using LAV)?
jaytrinitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2018, 08:08   #22646  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaytrinitron View Post
Oh yeah I had forgot there was nothing for PC that decodes that. But Atmos and DTS:X have a DTS-HD MA and TrueHD core right? And what about on the video side? Can I still put a UHD disc in and have MPC-HC play it, with HDR, 4k, 10 bit and all the rest (using LAV)?
If you have a way to decrypt the disc, it should work.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2018, 16:54   #22647  |  Link
PCU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 54
i don't know why, but the quality of d3d11 hardware acceleration is so much better than intel quicksync.
PCU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2018, 17:47   #22648  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 319
I use latest versions of MPC-BE x64, LAV Filters and madVR and MPC-BE crashes when I play a file recorded with my STB. Going back to 0.71.0-5 works fine.

EDIT: reinstalled latest LAV 0.71.0-8, now it is fine. I don't know what it was.

Last edited by Klaus1189; 22nd February 2018 at 18:00.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 16:28   #22649  |  Link
P.J
🎸
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 499
Why does AYUV use about twice more CPU rather than RGB32 for 4:4:4 10bit videos?
P.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 21:22   #22650  |  Link
neno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Hi, nevcairiel. I use lav 0.71 with latest madVR in D3D11 native mode, and the picture is always(no matter what video) split into the top and bottom part. The top part is the picture content turned into a flat size, and the bottom part is often a green image.
While D3D11 CB can just play normally.
I use WIN10 and a RX480.
Is there any idea about the problem?
Thanks.
neno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 21:27   #22651  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,312
Sounds like a driver problem to me. But you'll probably want to talk to madshi instead, since madVR handles the processing of "native" frames.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2018, 07:24   #22652  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 830
Did anything change with the audio mixing or DRC since the last stable version?

I can't decide now whether to use software or D3D11. Versus software, D3D11 is a bit faster on native 1080p movies and slightly slower when upscaling (for example 720p) is involved.

Last edited by JarrettH; 25th February 2018 at 03:01.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2018, 16:05   #22653  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 200
Hi, can you give me details about this?

D3D11 hardware accelerated decoding (native mode with madVR, Copy-Back otherwise).

Can't update lav/madvr now. This means in madvr there is a new D3D11 option?

Just curious, btw I'll update these days. Thanks
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2018, 16:08   #22654  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,032
https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...ostcount=22604
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2018, 15:38   #22655  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
PCs cannot stay in YUV. Its always RGB at some point. Basically you always have to feed RGB to the GPU, even if the GPU then outputs YUV again (which should therefor be avoided, if possible).
What about OpenGL?
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2018, 15:55   #22656  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,312
The final frame buffer is always RGB.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2018, 17:56   #22657  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,309
Thank you.
Is it really a problem assuming we convert YUV<=>RGB at high precision? All high-end grading/finishing tools operate on GPU so on RGB (even if source is YUV based) and no one really questions this.
I assume this is not end of the world (if done accurately) as at the end signal will became RGB anyway (at the display).

If we talk about pure transcoding then this should be avoided (as in this case it's much easier).
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2018, 17:59   #22658  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,312
No, its perfectly fine. There is just a bit of loss in every YUV<->RGB conversion due to potential rounding, so if you do something like YUV (file) -> RGB (frame buffer) -> YUV (HDMI) -> RGB (display), thats a lot of conversions. Best would of course be to do YUV (file) -> RGB (everywhere else), but a lot of things don't necessarily support that.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2018, 18:15   #22659  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,309
So in case of a player if you can send RGB over HDMI it's better to set output to RGB to limit number of conversions.

In the same time if you use e.g. DisplayPort 1.2+ connection to your "end monitor", which supports RGB for "all" signals (at least up to UHD 60p 10bit) then you don't really loose quality at all compared to some pro equipment which can send YUV data "as is" to monitor. In both cases you end up with 1x YUV->RGB conversion for YUV based source (assuming your player path is well designed). The difference is that conversion happens at different stage.
For high-end work which is RGB based (from source) you are actually gaining quality and reducing delay which is always present with additional pro cards (data has to go from GPU to the card).

Last edited by kolak; 7th March 2018 at 13:46.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2018, 12:08   #22660  |  Link
pkirill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 17
Hello Hendrik, thanks for the great project.
We are making an educational application (CoSpaces) and we need to be able to play mp4 and m4a audio in our app.
We have many target platforms: WebGL, iOS, Android, and Windows.
All we know that on Windows DirectShow stack does not support playing m4a out of the box.
So I have two questions here:

Is it possible to include you binaries into our app ?
Is it possible to use you binaries inside the app (in our process) without COM registration on the admin level, having only user level rights.
To build a FilterGraph over a m4a with you splitter in the process.

Thanks
-Kirill
pkirill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.