Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th October 2014, 22:48   #12841  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,666
The message from eac3to about the aac tracks of this file is "parsing failed".
But it works when put in MKA (and probably also MKV), eac3to has maybe problems with aac in TS container.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoseM View Post
Could add support for this format in a update future .
Open your TS in MKVMerge, uncheck video if not needed, export in mka, open the mka in eac3to.
Strange thing : the aac 2.0 becomes 3.0 when in mka and the frequency becomes 22.05 KHz ;

Code:
Audio
ID                                       : 1
Format                                   : AAC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile                           : LC
Codec ID                                 : A_AAC
Duration                                 : 1mn 8s
Channel(s)                               : 3 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R
Sampling rate                            : 22.05 KHz
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Default                                  : Yes
Forced                                   : No

edit : I spoke too quickly ; analyzing works but not decoding ;

Code:
eac3to v3.27
command line: "C:\Program Files\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "F:\09-30_12-25-28_Globo HD_SP.mka" "F:\09-30_12-25-28_Globo HD_SP.wavs"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MKA, 1 audio track, 0:01:09
1: AAC, 3.0 channels, 22kHz
Track 1 is used for destination file "09-30_12-25-28_Globo HD_SP.wavs".
[a01] Extracting audio track number 1...
[a01] Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
[a01] Getting "Nero Audio Decoder 2" instance failed.  <ERROR>
Aborted at file position 220599.  <ERROR>

Last edited by Music Fan; 19th October 2014 at 23:09.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2014, 07:35   #12842  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,527
@RoseM

1) Extract with eac3to (ignore warnings)

2) Use vlc to convert LATM to standard .m4a (see http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...84#post1453484 ), for instance:

vlc.exe -I dummy aud_latm.aac --sout #std{access=file,mux=mp4,dst="aud_nolatm.mp4"} vlc://quit
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2014, 15:07   #12843  |  Link
RoseM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
@RoseM

1) Extract with eac3to (ignore warnings)

2) Use vlc to convert LATM to standard .m4a (see http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...84#post1453484 ), for instance:

vlc.exe -I dummy aud_latm.aac --sout #std{access=file,mux=mp4,dst="aud_nolatm.mp4"} vlc://quit
Okay.'ll Try

There's no mode of eac3to do the demux without having to use other programs.

TMPGEnc makes the conversion but isn't free. Wanted to use RipBot264

'm Half noob in conversions.

Thank you guys for replys

Last edited by RoseM; 20th October 2014 at 15:25.
RoseM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2014, 15:25   #12844  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoseM View Post
There's no mode of eac3to do the demux without having to use other programs.
eac3to demux the aac but still in LATM format not recognized by standard decoders.

I only know VLC to change the LATM to a standard AAC format.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2014, 11:55   #12845  |  Link
DonDan
Deblender
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Is there a way to properly pipe mono out of eac3to?

Hey guys,

I've been testing around for quite a while now trying to achieve the following: AC3 stereo (well fake stereo, originally mono source made to 2 identical stereo chans on DVD) to aac mono in one step piping output from eac3to to neroaac or fdkaac (to make sure it's not an encoder issue).

Whereas both commands (that encode stereo) work fine:

eac3to test.AC3 stdout.wav | neroaacenc -ignorelength -lc -q 0.4 -if - -of neroenc_out.mp4

eac3to test.AC3 stdout.wav | fdkaac --profile 2 --bitrate-mode 2 -o fdkaac_out.mp4 -

I fail as soon as I try to make eac3to output mono.

On the eac3to side I tried with adding -normalize -down16 -mono or just -mono, also tried naming the output both stdout.wav aswell as stdout.wavs.

On the encoder side I also tried all available options like --ignorelength --raw --raw-channels 1 --raw-rate 48000 --raw-format S24L for fdkaac and *well nothing* for neroaac to no extent...

Nero will just refuse to encode, fdkaac at least tries but the best I got so far was a file with noise for the correct duration of the input file.

Ofc when I encode the ac3 to mono.wav in eac3to and in a second step encode that to aac I get a proper result, but I'ld love to find a way to use a pipe to get there.


Anybody got an idea? Or is it just plain impossible?


Muchas Gracias!
__________________
This post has been created out of recycled electrons only
DonDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2014, 17:12   #12846  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,527
When you decode AC3 2.0 to stdout.wav with the -mono parameter (Left channel only) with:

eac3to test.AC3 stdout.wav -mono | neroaacenc -ignorelength -q 0.4 -if - -of neroenc_out.mp4

NeroAacEnc send the message: "Invalid Channel mask" and finish.
In fact the stdout.wav have the channel mask 3 (Left + Right) like the original AC3 file.

A workaround is use simple wav header instead the default WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE header with:

eac3to test.AC3 stdout.wav -mono -simple | neroaacenc -ignorelength -q 0.4 -if - -of neroenc_out.mp4

And now work fine.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2014, 18:31   #12847  |  Link
DonDan
Deblender
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
I guess this is the right time to say: 'That -simple?!?' ;-)

__________________
This post has been created out of recycled electrons only
DonDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2014, 08:49   #12848  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,707
Madshi, could you take a look here and enlight us ?
Is it something you add on your own, or can it be handled by an option using flac.exe (or libflac) ?
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2014, 11:33   #12849  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
Is it something you add on your own, or can it be handled by an option using flac.exe (or libflac) ?
What do you mean with "it" exactly?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2014, 11:58   #12850  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,707
... You're right indeed... "it" was not clear. It was the "HDCD" and "VALID_BIT" tags. But, i think Groucho2004 provided the answer.
I am right to say it's a custom meta_data tag, finaly exclusive specific to eac3to, and so irrelevant or with no interest for any other software ?
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2014, 13:37   #12851  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Well, any other software is free to use it, but yes, it's not an "official" meta data tag.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2014, 13:02   #12852  |  Link
mini-moose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 371
apologies if this was asked before..

Are there plans to add support for TrueHD Atmos?
mini-moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2014, 17:16   #12853  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,527
Use 'Search this Thread' (up right of the page) "Atmos"
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 10:27   #12854  |  Link
xerox44
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Can be used to decode the track but can't be used by eac3to until madshi can parse the track and add new libav dll's.

By the moment you can do, for instance:

ffmpeg -i 000000.m2ts -map 0:1 recoded.flac
Is there any news regarding eac3to supporting Dolby Atmos streams? Support, as in, stripping the atmos meta-data, so that we can decode the truehd track into mono-wavs as we could before atmos was added?

I've tried using the latest ffmpeg (the above code), but the best I can get from a truehd/atmos track is the ac3 subtrack. Is there any way to get the truehd track by using ffmpeg in the mean time? I've googled and tried working through the man-pages of ffmpeg, but no luck so far.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
xerox44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 10:56   #12855  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,851
LAV Filters 0.63.0 and L-SMASH Works (with Libav, r733 by the_weirdo) are now able to ignore Atmos extensions correctly. But to support it in ffmpeg too, someone would have to port this patch to the ffmpeg source repository...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 11:08   #12856  |  Link
Lenmaer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Would be nice if someone would actually be willing to update eac3to. It kinda feels like a dead project now, the developer seems to have abandoned it. >.<
Lenmaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 11:15   #12857  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
LAV Filters 0.63.0 and L-SMASH Works (with Libav, r733 by the_weirdo) are now able to ignore Atmos extensions correctly.
Does it allow to keep the True HD track (removing the Atmos extensions) or it can only decode the True HD to wav ?
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 11:39   #12858  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenmaer View Post
Would be nice if someone would actually be willing to update eac3to. It kinda feels like a dead project now, the developer seems to have abandoned it. >.<
But eac3to is not OpenSource. Noone else can do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Music Fan View Post
Does it allow to keep the True HD track (removing the Atmos extensions) or it can only decode the True HD to wav ?
Neither is just a demultiplexer. Both are decoders (as DirectShow filter or as AviSynth source plugin).

Well, I am not sure if LAV Filters could be used as splitter only. And if it would strip Atmos extensions off TrueHD separately, not just in the decoder.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 12:06   #12859  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
LAV Filters 0.63.0 and L-SMASH Works (with Libav, r733 by the_weirdo) are now able to ignore Atmos extensions correctly. But to support it in ffmpeg too, someone would have to port this patch to the ffmpeg source repository...
Or compile the FFmpeg executable using the LAV FFmpeg branch...
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2014, 12:10   #12860  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,851
Ah, OK ... is there a usual source for such binaries? Do zeranoe builds use "legacy" or LAV libs?
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.