Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th January 2019, 14:41   #54141  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
You would have to test it.
All valid points in the last two replys.

I guess I may just bite the bullet and go for passthrough as to be quite honest I don't even know what to look for, have no idea what my peak nits would actually be.

I think now I actually have a 4K TV now, the miriad of options for setting up HDR settings/contrast and colour, unlike setting up to maybe get a comparable ISF setting by reading reviews, there is very little on what HDR should actually look like.

I have been following your now updated guide which is very informative, the hard part is a lot of it boils down to what we like to see on our screens, and HDR/4K is still so new to me I do not know what is actually good or bad, I have long since stopped understanding the BETA builds and the testing of madVR for HDR, and maybe I just need to let it go and go passthrough as stated before.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 14:42   #54142  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Right now you'd be be better served by a 1080/Ti for madVR mostly due to the premium of the unused (for madVR) Tensor cores, otherwise if using it for gaming as well RTX makes some sense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
You can't exactly buy a 1080/Ti anymore (at least around here), other then super expensive or used. And some people like their warranty.

New 2070s are cheaper then new 1080s here, nevermind 1080 Tis (in which case 2080s are also cheaper).
Exactly what Nev said. Not to mention those tensor cores COULD have some usefulness in the future. And yes, I would use it for gaming, as well. Completely moot point right now anyway as I don't have the money but it's on the top of the list when I do.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 14:44   #54143  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
It is nothing fancy at all
https://www.philips.co.uk/c-p/65PUS6...ilight-3-sided

I did think I would be limited with chroma, but was a little naive about how much the tone mapping would hammer my 1050 GTX, it was a case of I could get better chroma settings and use passthrough, but was unsure what I would achieve by disabling the trade options comparable to passthrough, as it classed it as dumb on the OSD when you do this with the options ticked, and that used to be options in older madVRs.
IMO you're better off with passthrough if you enable dumb tonemapping in the trade performance options.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 15:22   #54144  |  Link
zapatista
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 16
Hi Madshi,

thank you for your great program, it really improves the video quality on my 1080p display compared to other pc video players, or when using a stand alone bluray player (assuming the source video file is of good quality)

Q1) is there a way i can set my display max nits in madvr ?


i am using madvr on my win 8.1 pc to play some 4k hevc h265 rec2020 video files, which i output over hdmi to my 1080 display (which is accepting 1080p 12 bit 4.4.4 RGB full) .
in madvr settings i am using DXVA2 for down-scaling wich gives me a gpu load of 72% and uses 90% of my 3gb vram (the other custom pixel shader settings like SSIM cause a significant rate of frames being dropped and i get micro stutters)

some of the 4k video files are HDR (which i know is not part of the SDR specs), but my 1080 tv display has a spec of 380 nits (compared to most older 1080 displays only going up to 150 nits usually)

i know that some of the higher end stand alone 4k bluray players (like the samsung or panasonic) allow you to select a max nits setting when outputting the 4k HDR video to 1080 (for ex on the samsung player i would have been able to set it to 350 or 400 nits iirc)

can i similarly set a max nits setting in madvr for my 1080p downconversion output ? (i remember discussion about this taking place in the madvr forum, but cant find the settings)

note: i am aware most HDR movies can range from 500 to 1000 nits (or even higher w dolby vision ?), but my display relatively low 350 nits ability would be nice to be able to use for higher luminance detail available from some of these HDR source files

Q2) is there a simple way i can save my preferred presets for different resolution video files that i might be playing ? (eg 720p, 1080p, 2160 4k files etc)
- for my pc hardware i can use higher quality settings for 720p and 1080p files, but for 4k files i can only just play them and have to dial several settings down

Q3) when playing 4k files (with my limited settings ) my GPU reports 72 or 75% GPU load, and 93 % vram used for ex, but my i7 cpu is only at 20 or 25% load.
- is there a way i can offload some of the video tasks more to the CPU and then be able to enhance other settings in madvr that are GPU load dependent ?
i have tried different "video decoder" selections in mpc-hc, but it doesnt seem to alter this (am using dxva2-copyback as this was suggested by you in an earlier setup guide iirc)

pc specs: win 8.1 (64 bit) w most recent video drivers and updates, i7 4770k, 32 gb ram, 1060 3gb GPU
using mpc-hc 6.3 with madvr latest version
zapatista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 15:27   #54145  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
IMO you're better off with passthrough if you enable dumb tonemapping in the trade performance options.
Yes I think I have to really.

One more thing and I am unsure if there is an issue with madVR and my TV. The one easy thing I seem to have is NV HDR is ativated quite easily, which is a blessing on having read back over multiple threads on it not for some people due to drivers et al.

But if I select the OSD for the TV once activated, sometimes it says BT 2020 and SMTPE 2084, but mostly only if I change a setting in the settings side of the TV. The majority of the time it will say RGB for colour space and 2160p24, but sometimes it will say 2160p24SMTPE 2084 for video and BT.2020 for colour space.

it looks to be getting the right information from looking at the madVR OSD, so is this an issue with my TV not being very clever and I can just ignore it, or do I need to mess with drivers to get this correct information.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 15:33   #54146  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapatista View Post
Hi Madshi,
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...942#pid2238942

Have a look at this guide for the presets, under profiles.

Also the target peak nits under HDR, but would assume you have seen this ?

Last edited by madjock; 7th January 2019 at 15:49.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 15:34   #54147  |  Link
border.community
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
If you use the display mode switcher in MPC-HC, you can add an audio delay that only applies to 23-24 Hz.
Thanks Warner, that's what I ended up doing in LAV settings. For some reason I thought a perfect custom timing in madvr would naturally fix that delay.
border.community is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 16:53   #54148  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
Yes I think I have to really.

One more thing and I am unsure if there is an issue with madVR and my TV. The one easy thing I seem to have is NV HDR is ativated quite easily, which is a blessing on having read back over multiple threads on it not for some people due to drivers et al.

But if I select the OSD for the TV once activated, sometimes it says BT 2020 and SMTPE 2084, but mostly only if I change a setting in the settings side of the TV. The majority of the time it will say RGB for colour space and 2160p24, but sometimes it will say 2160p24SMTPE 2084 for video and BT.2020 for colour space.

it looks to be getting the right information from looking at the madVR OSD, so is this an issue with my TV not being very clever and I can just ignore it, or do I need to mess with drivers to get this correct information.
Couldn't tell you on that one. For HDR content, it should be BT.2020 unless you have madvr tonemap and convert it to rec.709. But if you're doing passthrough, it should be showing at BT.2020. RGB is what madvr will output to. I don't know how you have your GPU driver set, but, it should also be set to RGB, as well, to avoid unnecessary conversions.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 18:51   #54149  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
Which one of these three gpu load readings I can trust?Gpuz gpu load goes up and down as you see and the other two are stable.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 18:58   #54150  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
I was thinking of going down the Windows 8.1 route, but that is a bit of a step back in some respects, and unsure what I would gain.
Performance wise, nothing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
My problem just now is a new 4K TV, and working with only a 2GB 1050 card
The only way to achieve some kind of smooth playback with 4K and 2 GB VRAM is to lower the render and present queues until you're below the VRAM limit. Try something like present queue 3 or 4, render queue 5 or 6. If you're using DXVA/D3D11 native mode for the decoder, also lower the decoding queue to 7 or 8, as those modes use more VRAM too.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 20:18   #54151  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
Which one of these three gpu load readings I can trust?Gpuz gpu load goes up and down as you see and the other two are stable.
madVR load is odd, once the buffer is full it runs as fast as possible for one frame and then waits for the next frame. This causes aliasing artifacts that change with the polling rate which can make it look like the load is fluctuating a lot.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 20:42   #54152  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
All three were different and got confused.
I guess the answer is that you can't measure it in % accurately then.I'll measure it in ''dropped frames''
Thanks.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 20:44   #54153  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,572
If you set the polling rate really fast you can get a better idea of the real load, something like 100 ms.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 21:03   #54154  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
I see.No big deal,just curious because previous gpu years ago was giving me more stable readings without spikes in gpu z.Thanks again.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 22:09   #54155  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,756
Depending on how the workload is structured, you would want an average load that takes into account bursts and idle periods. GPU-Z seems to not do that. Spiky 0/100 graphs are not very useful.

madVR is rather special in how it works load-wise, because it has practically no CPU limit, so when it can work it'll work 100%, but it has a hard frame rate limit, so it doesn't have endless work - ie. very spiky behavior. An ordinary 3D renderer would be CPU limited and/or capable of rendering an unlimited amount of frames, so it would either always cap the GPU, or be limited consistently by the CPU, but not simply by "time".
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 23:21   #54156  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
Ok,I'll stay with ''no dropped frames,all good''.Thank you too.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2019, 00:49   #54157  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Definitely not, although I haven't seen your TV. Use passthrough then.
"Definitely not" but I don't really know for sure. Lol.

If configured right I would expect better results but a 1060/1070/2060 would really help a lot.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2019, 07:25   #54158  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
"Definitely not" but I don't really know for sure. Lol.

If configured right I would expect better results but a 1060/1070/2060 would really help a lot.
Haha, well I have mostly given up after trying all the different options, I could never really get much below 36ms at a base level, with obvious spiking and jumps into stutter levels or having it at dumb.

Just can't justify a Graphics Card more expensive than the TV I just got, so it is what it is.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2019, 09:14   #54159  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,166
That's a shame, with 2060 out now 1060's should start to lower in price so if you're okay with second hand jump on one, preferably the 6GB model.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2019, 09:49   #54160  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapatista View Post
Q3) when playing 4k files (with my limited settings ) my GPU reports 72 or 75% GPU load, and 93 % vram used for ex, but my i7 cpu is only at 20 or 25% load.
- is there a way i can offload some of the video tasks more to the CPU and then be able to enhance other settings in madvr that are GPU load dependent ?
i have tried different "video decoder" selections in mpc-hc, but it doesnt seem to alter this (am using dxva2-copyback as this was suggested by you in an earlier setup guide iirc)
1060 3gb GPU
What's checked in trade performance options? If nothing then check only "scale chroma separately..." option, it should improve things a lot.
Also use DXVA11 native in LAV filters not copyback, it's way faster.
Although the 3GB version of 1060 has less shaders than the 6GB one but I think it should handle 4k hdr well on 1080p screen. But you'll see

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
"Definitely not" but I don't really know for sure. Lol.
I meant exactly this for a starter:

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
IMO you're better off with passthrough if you enable dumb tonemapping in the trade performance options.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
if you're okay with second hand jump on one, preferably the 6GB model
I second that, just buy a used 1060 6GB model (it has more shaders (=more powerful) than the 3GB variant) that's what I did. If noise level is important than go for MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB (although probably that's the most expensive card out of all of them).
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros; 8th January 2019 at 09:54.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.