Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd April 2015, 21:06   #1141  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,278
About the free DTS encoder I recommend use ffdcaenc (a fork of dcaenc): http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...50#post1688150
Accept wav int (16, 24 or 32) but not float (dcaenc don't accept 24 int), and make:

- CD-compatible DTS files from a multichannel 44.1KHz sample rate file:
ffdcaenc -i - -o output.dts -e -r -b 1411.2

- DVD-compatible tracks from a multichannel wav file 48 kHz sample rate:
ffdcaenc -i - -o output.dts -l -b 1509.75 (Transmission bitrate 1536)
ffdcaenc -i - -o output.dts -l -b 754.5 (Transmission bitrate 768)

Other options in README and ffdcadec -h

Edit: same time than Tom Keller
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 3rd April 2015 at 21:09.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 10:49   #1142  |  Link
jones1913
random user
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: #Neuland
Posts: 90
Quote:
I have to admit: it's not mandatory necessary to feed the encoder with floating point bitrate values, since every incarnation of dcaenc does some internal roundings for any given bitrate (depending on the sample rate). But i thought it may be useful to have the option to add floating point numbers as fixed values to a trackbar... and maybe(???) letters too?
Easy solution: trackbar fixed values list is now of "String[]" type, you can use numbers or letters or whatever you want now.
And the bug with the exception in case of missing "DefaultValue" attribute is fixed.

Quote:
Therefore it would be possible to use trackbars/sliders in extensions for some other purposes than "just" setting up the bitrate.
Yes but keep in mind that there only one trackbar exists assigned to currently selected radiobutton. When using the trackbar for other parameters then the bitrate must be set with another control eg. with a dropdown.

Btw. dcaenc extension looks good.

EDIT: removed invalid link
__________________
BeHappy Audio Transcoder > <Doom9 forum> <Gleitz forum> <GitHub>
MP4.tool GUI for MP4Box & L-SMASH muxer > https://www.mediafire.com/folder/3i6y6cbkyhblm/MP4.tool

Last edited by jones1913; 31st May 2015 at 10:43.
jones1913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 22:25   #1143  |  Link
Tom Keller
Registered User
 
Tom Keller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 77
Thanks a lot 'jones1913' - looking forward to do some tests with the new version.

Btw i did some changes to the dcaenc extension and modified it for ffdcaenc:

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php...08398181592540

The trackbar now uses 0.05 steps to allow pretty precise bitrate settings for most situations. Because of the wide bitrate range i increased the dialog width in order to make the trackbar usable. I also added the new "reduce bitrate" option and introduced some advices in the tool tips for creating dts files for DTS-CDs.

Last edited by Tom Keller; 4th April 2015 at 22:58.
Tom Keller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 10:01   #1144  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Keller View Post
...and introduced some advices in the tool tips for creating dts files for DTS-CDs.
Works fine.

Also we can modify:
<ToolTip>Constant Bitrate mode. In order to create DVD-BD compliant files use 1509.75 or 754.5 kb/s.</ToolTip>
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 14:15   #1145  |  Link
Tom Keller
Registered User
 
Tom Keller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 77
I thought about that - but i was unsure, if the DVD and/or BD specs may allow some lower bitrates for 1- and 2-channel DTS files too.
Tom Keller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 18:19   #1146  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Keller View Post
I thought about that - but i was unsure, if the DVD and/or BD specs may allow some lower bitrates for 1- and 2-channel DTS files too.
Of course there are others bitrates allowed, but this ones are the standard for 5.1.

I can't understand for what use DTS to encode mono or stereo.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 19:15   #1147  |  Link
Tom Keller
Registered User
 
Tom Keller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 77
A couple of years ago i didn't even know that movie releases with DTS mono or stereo sound existed... 'till someone mentioned to me having an old movie on Bluray with a DTS stereo track. I don't remember which movie it was and i didn't believe him at first - but he sent me a snippet for prove. I don't know why the BD producers used DTS for the stereo audio track of the movie... but they did it nonetheless.

Long story made short:
Even if it's uncommon, there may be users out there trying to create (for whatever reason) DTS 1- and 2-channel files for their DVDs or Blurays. So i would simply suggest writing :

<ToolTip>Constant Bitrate mode. In order to create DVD-BD compliant 6-channel files use 1509.75 or 754.5 kb/s.</ToolTip>


Btw. just out of interest @tebasuna51:
Why didn't you add the 6.1-to-5.1 and 7.1-to-5.1 downmix setups you posted a couple of years before as two additional downmix options to BeHappy :

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...61#post1465361

Last edited by Tom Keller; 6th April 2015 at 16:19.
Tom Keller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2015, 21:51   #1148  |  Link
siella
Registered User
 
siella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Turkey
Posts: 65
ffdcaenc

I edited e.dcaenc.ext for ffdcaenc i changed some little options and logo. Btw. i added yours tooltip


I edited e_FhgMP3.ext. too
I added tooltip for cbr and replaced min max of Trackbar with fixed value.
Also i fixed e_Flac.ext. There was problem with wav header.
@jones1913
Can you add end of box tex area for note. e.g. " it's only support 1 2 or 6 channels audio input"
Additionally There are a lot of config info at encoder select box. So when I reopen behappy, windows is expanding on the screen. could you make it as optional that who appear on selected info .
Also i tried NumericUpdown and Dropdown without Radiobutton and TitleFormatString and it was appeared fisrt "???" at selected info.
Attached Files
File Type: zip e_FFdcaenc.zip (9.0 KB, 41 views)
File Type: zip e_FhgMP3.zip (5.9 KB, 23 views)
File Type: zip e_Flac.zip (7.3 KB, 22 views)
__________________
Behappy
BePack.v3.2BeHappy,BeSweet,BeLight,BeSplit,BeSliced,BdAC) with last plugin, encoder and extensions.
Avisynth Movie Screenshot, thumbnails creator

Last edited by siella; 9th April 2015 at 14:17.
siella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2015, 14:11   #1149  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Keller View Post
Btw. just out of interest @tebasuna51:
Why didn't you add the 6.1-to-5.1 and 7.1-to-5.1 downmix setups you posted a couple of years before as two additional downmix options to BeHappy :

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...61#post1465361
I don't use these downmix now to avoid Normalize and low the volume of front channels.

Now I use:
flr = Getchannel(a, 1, 2, 3, 4)
blr = Getchannel(a, 5, 6)
slr = Getchannel(a, 7, 8)
sur = MixAudio(blr, slr, 1.0, 1.0).SoftClipperFromAudX(0.0)
return mergechannels(flr,sur)

We need AudioLimiter.dll http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=108470

Added to d_DownMix.ext, downloads:
Attached Files
File Type: 7z d_DownMix.7z (1.1 KB, 25 views)
File Type: 7z AudioLimiter.7z (40.3 KB, 25 views)
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2015, 16:32   #1150  |  Link
jones1913
random user
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: #Neuland
Posts: 90
First thanks for all contributions, I am happy to integrate them in the next release.

Quote:
I edited e.dcaenc.ext for ffdcaenc i changed some little options and logo.
You have used another approach for bitrate setting, but I will only integrate one ffdcaenc extension in Behappy.
I can not decide which is better, because I'm not interested in DTS encoding...

Quote:
Can you add end of box tex area for note. e.g. " it's only support 1 2 or 6 channels audio input"
Somehow I dislike the idea of writing help text in the config window...
And if the encoder not support the audio input then you see it on the exception thrown

Quote:
Additionally There are a lot of config info at encoder select box. So when I reopen behappy, windows is expanding on the screen.
On my machine the text is simply cutted off, the window never expands itself.

Quote:
could you make it as optional that who appear on selected info .
An additional parameter for each option to specify if it should be shown in summary? Probably not...

Quote:
Also i tried NumericUpdown and Dropdown without Radiobutton and TitleFormatString and it was appeared fisrt "???" at selected info.
I will check this next time.
__________________
BeHappy Audio Transcoder > <Doom9 forum> <Gleitz forum> <GitHub>
MP4.tool GUI for MP4Box & L-SMASH muxer > https://www.mediafire.com/folder/3i6y6cbkyhblm/MP4.tool
jones1913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2015, 16:51   #1151  |  Link
siella
Registered User
 
siella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Turkey
Posts: 65
Quote:
You have used another approach for bitrate setting, but I will only integrate one ffdcaenc extension in Behappy.
I can not decide which is better, because I'm not interested in DTS encoding...
I've used ffdcaenc_213-20141209 because it has extra options. like support multiple adio input and Reduced Bit Depth for DTS CD. well in the future maybe you will add multiple auido input for behappy with GetChannel of avisynth

Quote:
Somehow I dislike the idea of writing help text in the config window...
And if the encoder not support the audio input then you see it on the exception thrown
I am a bit forgetful and lazy
Quote:
An additional parameter for each option to specify if it should be shown in summary? Probably not...
{0} in <TitleFormatString> mean it will show all options ?

Another question, forexample nicauido and bassaudio are support ac3 decode. So will you choise only one? also the same question for ffmpeg and libav decode?
well i am thinking of making ffmpeg aac and ac3 encoder ext with more options.
__________________
Behappy
BePack.v3.2BeHappy,BeSweet,BeLight,BeSplit,BeSliced,BdAC) with last plugin, encoder and extensions.
Avisynth Movie Screenshot, thumbnails creator

Last edited by siella; 9th April 2015 at 17:14.
siella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2015, 20:11   #1152  |  Link
jones1913
random user
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: #Neuland
Posts: 90
Quote:
I am a bit forgetful and lazy
We all are, thats the whole point of GUIs. That we not have to remember all those annoying commandline switches.
I will think of a way supplying informations in config dialog, maybe a button which opens an info window or a tooltip?

Quote:
{0} in <TitleFormatString> mean it will show all options ?
Yesss

Quote:
Another question, forexample nicauido and bassaudio are support ac3 decode. So will you choise only one? also the same question for ffmpeg and libav decode?
Of course not, different encoders or decoders which support the same formats will stay in there. But I will not add several extensions for the same encoder in the BeHappy standard download package.
So you provided a ffdcaenc extension and TomKeller provided one, now we have to choose one for BeHappy download archive.

Quote:
well i am thinking of making ffmpeg aac and ac3 encoder ext with more options.
Looking forward to this. I always wondered how ffmpeg AC3 encoder compares to Aften, or is ffmpeg using the Aften code?
__________________
BeHappy Audio Transcoder > <Doom9 forum> <Gleitz forum> <GitHub>
MP4.tool GUI for MP4Box & L-SMASH muxer > https://www.mediafire.com/folder/3i6y6cbkyhblm/MP4.tool
jones1913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2015, 21:42   #1153  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I don't use these downmix now to avoid Normalize and low the volume of front channels.

Now I use:
flr = Getchannel(a, 1, 2, 3, 4)
blr = Getchannel(a, 5, 6)
slr = Getchannel(a, 7, 8)
sur = MixAudio(blr, slr, 1.0, 1.0).SoftClipperFromAudX(0.0)
return mergechannels(flr,sur)
Is this the same as eac3to -down6?
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2015, 21:51   #1154  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by jones1913 View Post
So you provided a ffdcaenc extension and TomKeller provided one, now we have to choose one for BeHappy download archive.
With Siella .ext I can't obtain 1509.75 bitrate. For me the TomKeller one is ok.

Quote:
Looking forward to this. I always wondered how ffmpeg AC3 encoder compares to Aften, or is ffmpeg using the Aften code?
ffmpeg AC3 encoder and Aften have the same developer jruggle, maybe there are some improvements in ffmpeg: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...77#post1522077

BTW ffmpeg have some other problems:
- can't accept additional parameters like Aften
- poor STDIN support (without -readtoeof 1, wrong remap ignoring wav channelmask, ...)

I only can recommend ffmpeg encoder for stereo, multichannel output with BeHappy don't work.

EDIT: new ffmpeg versions need bitrate in b/s the .ext need add a 'k' in:
<Value>-ab {0}k</Value>
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 9th April 2015 at 21:56.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2015, 22:19   #1155  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard1485 View Post
Is this the same as eac3to -down6?
Nope, this is more advanced downmix using SoftClipperFromAudX(0.0) to avoid clip in surround channels without touch the front and LFE channels.

eac3to -down6 is the same than http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...61#post1465361
Some peaks adding Side to Back channels can force (normalize) to down front volume.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2015, 09:50   #1156  |  Link
siella
Registered User
 
siella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Turkey
Posts: 65
Quote:
With Siella .ext I can't obtain 1509.75 bitrate. For me the TomKeller one is ok.
ffdcaenc doent support continues bitrate e.g. it cant encode 443.25 kpbs except 755.50 and 1509.75
How is this?

@jones1913
tooltip will be fine.
If you think aften better i just will write aac enc ext. for ffmpeg.

I have just tried convert 16 bit ac3 to dts but when i used bass and nic source read audio as 32 bit float but when i used directshowsouce read correct value?? (BeHappy_testing_2015-04-04)
Attached Files
File Type: zip e_FFdcaenc.zip (12.4 KB, 20 views)
__________________
Behappy
BePack.v3.2BeHappy,BeSweet,BeLight,BeSplit,BeSliced,BdAC) with last plugin, encoder and extensions.
Avisynth Movie Screenshot, thumbnails creator

Last edited by siella; 10th April 2015 at 11:58.
siella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2015, 21:23   #1157  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by siella View Post
...I have just tried convert 16 bit ac3 ...
Don't exist 16 bit AC3, AC3 don't have bitdepth, have bitrate.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2015, 09:55   #1158  |  Link
jones1913
random user
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: #Neuland
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by siella View Post
I have just tried convert 16 bit ac3 to dts but when i used bass and nic source read audio as 32 bit float but when i used directshowsouce read correct value?? (BeHappy_testing_2015-04-04)
Isn't that related to this question you have already asked in the past:
Quote:
Originally Posted by siella View Post
I looked ac3 file with mediainfo and it gave 16 bit but when i try to decode with bassadio, ffaudio or nicac3 behappy show 32 bit float.
And LigH has given an accurate answer:
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Again this confusing topic...

Most lossy audio compression technologies with psycho-acoustic spectrum masking (like MP2, MP3, AC3, AAC...) work in a floating-point mode, they will transform the samples into audio spectrums of brief blocks and store parameters of a Fourier transformation. Decoding them back into samples again will return floating point samples at first. They may be converted to integer samples later, or not, depending on the decoder.

I don't know which resolution of 16 bit MediaInfo reports. That may be the resolution of the input samples which the encoder used. But that doesn't matter. As soon as there is an AC3 bitstream, there are no more 16 bit integer samples. Only a sequence of encoded frequency spectrums in AC3 blocks.
Probably the DirectShow decoder on your system is doing a conversion to 16 bits, but we can't know which decoder is used on your system.
__________________
BeHappy Audio Transcoder > <Doom9 forum> <Gleitz forum> <GitHub>
MP4.tool GUI for MP4Box & L-SMASH muxer > https://www.mediafire.com/folder/3i6y6cbkyhblm/MP4.tool
jones1913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2015, 10:12   #1159  |  Link
siella
Registered User
 
siella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Turkey
Posts: 65
Sorry I sad before I am a bit forgetful
There is lav filter on my system.
But really strange, why do ac3 header has bit depth information?
Also http://stnsoft.com/DVD/ac3hdr.html ?
that means when ac3 to dts converting all time need firts converting bit depth 16,24 or 32? Because dts has bit depth

I converted dts to ac3 and eac3 for testing with ffmpeg
Code:
Audio
Format                                   : AC-3
Format/Info                              : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension                           : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness              : Big
Duration                                 : 1h 52mn
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 640 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                                : 16 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 513 MiB (100%)
Code:
Audio
Format                                   : E-AC-3
Format/Info                              : Audio Coding 3
Format settings, Endianness              : Big
Duration                                 : 1h 52mn
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 768 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 615 MiB (100%)
eac3 hasnt bit depht but ac3 has
__________________
Behappy
BePack.v3.2BeHappy,BeSweet,BeLight,BeSplit,BeSliced,BdAC) with last plugin, encoder and extensions.
Avisynth Movie Screenshot, thumbnails creator

Last edited by siella; 11th April 2015 at 12:35.
siella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2015, 12:40   #1160  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by siella View Post
But really strange, why do ac3 header has bit depth information?
Also http://stnsoft.com/DVD/ac3hdr.html ?
Like you can see don't exist bit depth info in AC3 header.

Quote:
that means when ac3 to dts converting all time need firts converting bit depth 16,24 or 32? Because dts has bit depth
Only DTS-MA have bitdepth, and convert AC3 to DTS have no sense at all.

To standard DTS you can apply the LigH comment also.

The DTS header have a field to remember the original bitdepth of the source, but you can't trust this info.
Some encoders (Surcode, ffdcaenc,...) put always 24, and is ok because is always recommended decode to 24 bit int at least, no mather the original bitdepth of the source.

EDIT: Please don't trust in all than MediaInfo say. The ac3 'Bit depth' info is wrong.
https://sourceforge.net/p/mediainfo/bugs/908/
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 11th April 2015 at 13:09. Reason: Add info
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
behappy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.