Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th June 2019, 18:57   #561  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
One last thing, how to crop visually? I want to crop after resize and not before.
The crop dialog uses the source filter as source because it's usually best to crop after the source filter.

Nobody ever requested to change it to use all filters before/until crop instead, it should be considered to change this I guess.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2019, 19:33   #562  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 268
I was thinking because depending of what output mod you have 4 or 8 or 16, it makes more sense to crop after resize to achieve your output mod.

After the resize you can crop less and keep some black lines to match your output mod. Before resizing you don't know how much to crop.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2019, 20:16   #563  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Maybe create an issue on the tracker, there is a chance that at some time somebody likes to implement this.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2019, 09:33   #564  |  Link
Natty
Noob
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 130
you can drag and drop crop filter to be after resize filter
Natty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 14:56   #565  |  Link
K.i.N.G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 66
Since a yuv420 source only has half resolution for the chroma information, how would one resize a 4K yuv420 source to 2K yuv444 in a way that it only resizes the luma and keeps the resolution of the chroma?
Would it work if i just convert the yuv420 to yuv444 before resizing?
K.i.N.G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 17:43   #566  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 6,775
@K.i.N.G
Assuming that StaxRip uses avisynth (think it does), then maybe below of use

Code:
Colorbars(pixel_type="YV12")
ConvertBits(10)
###
U=UtoY
V=VtoY
Y=Spline36Resize(Width /2,Height/2).ConvertToYUV444   # convertToY/Y8 is currently broken [EDIT: for non 8 bit]:- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...85#post1877985 
YtoUV(U,V,Y)
info
Mainly pointing out the problem with convertToY/Y8, and a way around the problem.

EDIT: Not sure if technically correct to just re-use raw UV without some kind of chroma shift for YUV444, maybe post in Avisynth usage to find out.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; Today at 01:17.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, hdr, hevc, staxrip, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.