Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th March 2019, 17:10   #55161  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,965
the number of "cores" is only comparable in the same architecture at the same clock. nvidia turing and pascal card reach easily 1800 mhz out of the box a vega 56 or 64 can't do that.

the new turing cards can do a lot of "maths" types a lot faster we talk about stuff like x128 faster here then older generation GPUs.
if stuff liek this get's utilized the newer turing cards will run exclusive stuff only they can do and/or do it faster.

so there is a simple solution to this problem. if you don't need a new card don't get one and wait when this "stuff" gets used.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2019, 18:05   #55162  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
I use this to change 3dlut with the TV device, note the lowercase names:
Code:
if (HDR) "hdr"
else "sdr"
I could not get madVR to detect content properly based on (HDR) or (hdr). With (bitDepth), it will differentiate between 8-bit and 10-bit content, which in return will switch the TV into proper HDR mode when playing HDR content. Another workaround

I'm wondering why you use (HDR) to swap LUTs, though. You have a non-HDR display, so wouldn't having a separate LUT for each color space do the trick? I use DisplayCAL to create LUTs for each SDR slot in madVR, and madVR picks the appropriate one depending on the source.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2019, 18:16   #55163  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
I could not get madVR to detect content properly based on (HDR) or (hdr).
The variable is capital HDR. It works for me (OSD reads the filename of the used 3dlut). Which madVR version do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
I'm wondering why you use (HDR) to swap LUTs, though. You have a non-HDR display, so wouldn't having a separate LUT for each color space do the trick?
Not because of that but because HDR pixelshader needs gamma 2.2 3dlut all the time (with current madvr test builds), as I was told , otherwise I use gamma 2.4 during the evening with sdr content.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2019, 18:54   #55164  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
The variable is capital HDR. It works for me (OSD reads the filename of the used 3dlut). Which madVR version do you use?


Not because of that but because HDR pixelshader needs gamma 2.2 3dlut all the time (with current madvr test builds), as I was told , otherwise I use gamma 2.4 during the evening with sdr content.
I thought that's why you did it that way. You really need to upgrade your old LG. I had the 60" 550 from 2011 - 2013 *Just checked the old AVS thread, and I bought it back in 2010 LOL

I use the latest available test version of madVR. Same for LAV, MPC-HC, etc.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR

Last edited by VBB; 4th March 2019 at 18:59.
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2019, 22:24   #55165  |  Link
mkohman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the number of "cores" is only comparable in the same architecture at the same clock. nvidia turing and pascal card reach easily 1800 mhz out of the box a vega 56 or 64 can't do that.

the new turing cards can do a lot of "maths" types a lot faster we talk about stuff like x128 faster here then older generation GPUs.
if stuff liek this get's utilized the newer turing cards will run exclusive stuff only they can do and/or do it faster.

so there is a simple solution to this problem. if you don't need a new card don't get one and wait when this "stuff" gets used.
Thank you so much.. This makes complete sense.. Maybe it's time I gave nividia another chance

Currently I don't need a new GPU, however the reason I am making enquiries is because I can return my RX 580 to amazon until the 17th march for a full refund.. After that I'm stuck with it until I want to really upgrade..

I'm happy with it but I was wondering if its would be wise to get a refund and replace with a rtx 2060? That's what I was wondering.. And if so.. Is there a specific 2060 model that is recommended? Asus Strix comes to mind but I may be wrong.. Thanks
mkohman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2019, 22:33   #55166  |  Link
blackjack12
Registered User
 
blackjack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 46
D3D11 - MadVR support for interlaced media ... any idea when might be available

In my experience, the D3D11 hardware decoder is much more efficient when used correctly. Especially with internal Intel GPU's (like the 7 series and up). It allows 4K, HDR material to be played with no issues where any other setting does not.

madVR has produced the best video and color quality across the board when used with MPC-HC and MPC-BE as tested ...

madVR currently does not support interlaced formats with the D3D11 decoder ... deinterlacing with madVR and DXVA2 works very well.

Apologize if this has been addressed earlier, but have not had time to search the entire madVR site.

Any idea when/if interlaced formats will be supported by madVR with the D3D11 decoder?
__________________
MPC-HC and MPC-BE (latest), MadVR 0.92.17, LAV 0.73.1
Intel NUC w_650 internal, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield, Apple TV 4K
PLEX Server with QUADRO 2000
Windows 10 Pro (all latest updates)

Last edited by blackjack12; 4th March 2019 at 22:44.
blackjack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2019, 23:53   #55167  |  Link
vanden
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 81
Hello,

Is it possible to use DXVA resizing for chroma when LAV is in software mode ?

I explain in MadVR (scaling algo/chroma upscal) I can not select DXVA, it works if LAV is in DXVA/DXVA Copy-Back mode but not in software mode.
The problem is that in H265 my card is not able to decode more than 1920x1080 (and not all) so for 1440p or 2160p this is not possible ... no problem the CPU gets there ... But no algo for chroma (in scaling algo/chroma upscal) does work so I can not look at native resolution !

For example a film in 1440p x265 10bit HDR seen on my screen (in 2560x1440) even in Bilinear Chroma resizing, there are lost frames (MPC HC x64) :

https://i.goopics.net/djLWO.jpg

On the other hand the same film 1440p works perfectly on my screen (in 2944x1656) but resizing chroma and image DXVA (MPC HC x64) :

https://i.goopics.net/wEv2y.jpg

When there is an upscale or downscale of the image (luma) then DXVA is also used for chroma (LAV in DXVA or Software). On the other hand, when there is no resizing of the image (luma) and LAV is in Software mode the Chroma does not use DXVA ...

Even a movie 3840x1606 x265 10bit HDR seen on my screen (in 3104x1756) with DXVA (chroma and image) resizing work well (MPC HC x86 + Reeclock) :

https://i.goopics.net/eP7WP.jpg

But impossible to put in MPC Video Frame/Normal Size ... Chroma upscaling is texture unit or pixel shader ...


Is there a solution ?

Last edited by vanden; 10th March 2019 at 12:47.
vanden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 00:02   #55168  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkohman View Post

I'm happy with it but I was wondering if its would be wise to get a refund and replace with a rtx 2060? That's what I was wondering.. And if so.. Is there a specific 2060 model that is recommended? Asus Strix comes to mind but I may be wrong.. Thanks
I would. I'd probably pick the first card from ASUS, MSI or Gigabyte that a user says has little to zero coil whine.

Last edited by ryrynz; 5th March 2019 at 03:37.
ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 02:18   #55169  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,965
@vanden
if you set upscale and downscale to DXVA and chroma to bilinear you should get DXVA for everything.

@blackjack12
known limitation but no kown ETA at all.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 04:09   #55170  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
Can someone please tell me if I calculated the nits for my screen correctly please for using the target in madvr dynamic tone mapping.
My screen is a Studiotek curved microperf 145" diag with a gain of 1.2

I took a reading at the screen using 100% white, meter facing the JVC NX9 which was on half lamp.
The reading was in F.C. result 17.5 average over the scope screen with Isco IIIL lens in place.
I then converted FC to FL by multiplying by the screen gain 17.5 FL x 1.2 gain = 21 FL

Then converted FL to nits 1FL = 3.4263 nits
Result 21FL = 71.95 nits

Have I dont this correctly. so I use say 71nits for my target in madvr tone mapping?

I dont need to use the size of the screen in the calculations???
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 10:41   #55171  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Can someone please tell me if I calculated the nits for my screen correctly please for using the target in madvr dynamic tone mapping.
My screen is a Studiotek curved microperf 145" diag with a gain of 1.2

I took a reading at the screen using 100% white, meter facing the JVC NX9 which was on half lamp.
The reading was in F.C. result 17.5 average over the scope screen with Isco IIIL lens in place.
I then converted FC to FL by multiplying by the screen gain 17.5 FL x 1.2 gain = 21 FL

Then converted FL to nits 1FL = 3.4263 nits
Result 21FL = 71.95 nits

Have I dont this correctly. so I use say 71nits for my target in madvr tone mapping?

I dont need to use the size of the screen in the calculations???

Well after you load your 3D lut, just go by eye, because a number doesn't really help here, it's a To-Taste situation.

Freeze frame at scenes with HDR highlights, and tune it up or down until YOU like it.

Then try a few other scenes.


NX9 looks expensive. are you planning to buy a spectro to go with it ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 10:43   #55172  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
You really need to upgrade your old LG. I had the 60" 550 from 2011 - 2013 *Just checked the old AVS thread, and I bought it back in 2010 LOL
I also bought mine in 2010 The HDMI chip on its mainboard (the "only" thing that I use ) died 2 years ago (others had the same issue at that time!), I baked the mainboard in an electric oven and it was good for 2 months, after it died again I found only 1 mainboard in 1 online shop out of 30 worldwide, I bought it, replaced it and it works again.
I had been playing a bit with the thought of replacing my TV but after I learned more about current HDR implementation I decided not to. I'll use this TV until it lasts and I spend my money on anything else!

Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
I use the latest available test version of madVR. Same for LAV, MPC-HC, etc.
Strange, then I don't know why HDR variable doesn't work for you with that setting.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 10:49   #55173  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkohman View Post
Thank you so much.. This makes complete sense.. Maybe it's time I gave nividia another chance

Currently I don't need a new GPU, however the reason I am making enquiries is because I can return my RX 580 to amazon until the 17th march for a full refund.. After that I'm stuck with it until I want to really upgrade..

I'm happy with it but I was wondering if its would be wise to get a refund and replace with a rtx 2060? That's what I was wondering.. And if so.. Is there a specific 2060 model that is recommended? Asus Strix comes to mind but I may be wrong.. Thanks
Maybe Madshi goes AMD in the future because Vega 7 has some sort of advantage given its HBM ram. Or some other feature set.

We can't buy a graphics card , "betting" that madshi will implement some use for it in the future.. Because no one knows if that will happen, not even madshi..

If you need a card, at this very moment, 1070/1080 gtx seems to be the performance lvl necessary for NGU chroma + HDR tonemapping

If you're not NGU obsessed 1050ti and 1060 will be fine.

I saw used 1050ti from evga for ~$90

used 1060 is tough, because there are lots of bad models, but good models usually go for $170-180. it got more expensive recently after the amd announcement of no competition for that bracket.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 5th March 2019 at 10:52.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 10:50   #55174  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
I also bought mine in 2010 The HDMI chip on its mainboard (the "only" thing that I use ) died 2 years ago (others had the same issue at that time!), I baked the mainboard in an electric oven and it was good for 2 months, after it died again I found only 1 mainboard in 1 online shop out of 30 worldwide, I bought it, replaced it and it works again.
I had been playing a bit with the thought of replacing my TV but after I learned more about current HDR implementation I decided not to. I'll use this TV until it lasts and I spend my money on anything else!


Strange, then I don't know why HDR variable doesn't work for you with that setting.
Light Modulated IPS is the future.. OLED is obsolete.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 11:09   #55175  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
We can't buy a graphics card , "betting" that madshi will implement some use for it in the future.. Because no one knows if that will happen, not even madshi..

If you need a card, at this very moment, 1070/1080 gtx seems to be the performance lvl necessary for NGU chroma + HDR tonemapping
I agree with you in this, especially with these insane GPU prices. It's not just about the money for me but principles.
And that's the good thing about HTPC that you don't have to be future proof but only buy a new (used) card when it's absolutely needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Light Modulated IPS is the future.. OLED is obsolete.
Then I hope my current TV will last another 10 years!
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 11:12   #55176  |  Link
vanden
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
@vanden
if you set upscale and downscale to DXVA and chroma to bilinear you should get DXVA for everything.
Alas not at all !

See my screenshot : I can read a video 2560x1440 420 resized by DXVA (chroma and luma / resize in 2944x1656 / GPU @ 65-75%).
But I can not play a video 2560x1440 420 in native resolution (resized in 2560x1440 only chroma Bilinear / GPU @ 90-100%) ...
Ditto : I can read a video 3840x1606 420 resized by DXVA (chroma and luma / resize in 3104x1522 / GPU @ 60-70%).
But I can not play a video video 3840x1606 420 in native resolution (resized in 3840x1606 only chroma Bilinear / GPU @ 90-100%) ...
vanden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 12:17   #55177  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Light Modulated IPS is the future.. OLED is obsolete.
So you keep saying, but a Google search mostly brings up talk of Panasonic in 2016.
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 12:23   #55178  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanden View Post
Alas not at all !

See my screenshot : I can read a video 2560x1440 420 resized by DXVA (chroma and luma / resize in 2944x1656 / GPU @ 65-75%).
But I can not play a video 2560x1440 420 in native resolution (resized in 2560x1440 only chroma Bilinear / GPU @ 90-100%) ...
Ditto : I can read a video 3840x1606 420 resized by DXVA (chroma and luma / resize in 3104x1522 / GPU @ 60-70%).
But I can not play a video video 3840x1606 420 in native resolution (resized in 3840x1606 only chroma Bilinear / GPU @ 90-100%) ...
Alas no one can see your screenshots as you can see, they are awaiting moderation. Upload them to an image site and share the links.

But I think you are trying to do too much with the information you have given.
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 12:31   #55179  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post

Result 21FL = 71.95 nits

Have I dont this correctly. so I use say 71nits for my target in madvr tone mapping?

I dont need to use the size of the screen in the calculations???
Sounds about right, provided the screen gain is actual and not advertised. My advertised screen gain is 1.3 (Carada BW), actual is just above 1. I think you only need screen size to calculate lumens.

So yes, 71nits for the target in HDR pixel shader is what you can use, but there are other settings that have a strong impact on the picture brightness.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 5th March 2019 at 12:33.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 12:33   #55180  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Light Modulated IPS is the future.. OLED is obsolete.
Eh, can't watch content on future TV sets yet. OLED ain't going down the stack any time soon.. Look at that 1000 nit peak GZ2000 beast and drool.
ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.