Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th June 2018, 13:46   #51301  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
I assume its Driver Version 398.11. After reading your post I thought I would try again as I had the same old issues with this driver and not saving custom resolutions.
I managed to get the Nvidia custom resolution to save for 24Hz. When I specified that as a resolution for madVR to switch to now my 23.976 stuff launches with the 24Hz custom res and I don't get frame drops. I'll switch it back to 23Hz when the driver isn't borked, down side is I can't switch to 10-bit output with this driver at this refresh rate.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 15:24   #51302  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
I assume its Driver Version 398.11. After reading your post I thought I would try again as I had the same old issues with this driver and not saving custom resolutions.

This time I used DDU to wipe out any remnants of my older driver 390.77 which is the one I have had success with for frame rates.

Wiped, and then restarted and installed 398.11, tried a video and yes it looks like as I said previously in another post Nvidia seem to have created a 23.976 fix, but for me it was Frame repeats every 12 minutes which I verified watching a video.

I then tried to create a custom resolution, and again and again, it would switch to the 23 mode when you selected test, but after you selected ok, the custom resolution dissapeared, tried various times no joy.

Used the madVR custom res mode and it created one, it said I would have frame repeats every 7 hours, went into control panel, and yes there was a custom mode there, tried a video, and same again, drops every 12 minutes ish. So I then amended the madVR custom mode in Nvidia Control Panel, and no matter what I changed the frame rate seems to be locked by Nvidia for me.

Unsure if it is because I am Bitstreaming and others are not to see the benefit, ah well.
That is really weird. I'm not having the same issue creating the custom res. I did it two different ways...once with madvr and once manually and both were able to stick. Madvr told me I was going to get a frame repeat every 10 or so minutes but upon validating by watching a movie it was 1 frame repeat every 45 minutes or so which I can live with. This is while bitstreaming. This is the best I've seen in many months so I'm rather happy. I've not tested 3D yet and I'm sure that's going to be a whole different ballgame.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 15:43   #51303  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I managed to get the Nvidia custom resolution to save for 24Hz. When I specified that as a resolution for madVR to switch to now my 23.976 stuff launches with the 24Hz custom res and I don't get frame drops. I'll switch it back to 23Hz when the driver isn't borked, down side is I can't switch to 10-bit output with this driver at this refresh rate.
Oh damn I missed that it switched it to 8 bit and locked it there. Yea, that's absolutely true. sigh
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 16:05   #51304  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,323
Well now I've gone and done it. I broke it. LOL I did a DDU/clean driver install and now I'm not able to recreate my custom res at all. It's just not sticking. Nor is 12 bpc for 23 sticking. So glad I tried a clean install! WOOPS! I'll see if I can figure out how to fix it.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 19:56   #51305  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 228
nVidia driver v.398.11 still has audio bug. Also, I doubt it survives a 12bit reboot without reverting back to 8bit which is the least of the problems anyway. https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...609#pid2742609
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1909 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5 PotPlayer
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 23:06   #51306  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,323
Yea, the 12 bit is absolutely NOT sticking. At all. SIGH.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 23:51   #51307  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
Osd

Hello everyone, can anyone tell me if my OSD is good, sufficient or bad? thanks to everyone bye.

https://imageshack.com/my/images
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 23:53   #51308  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,959
This is not a shareable URL.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 00:16   #51309  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
How can I post a picture? which url is shared? others I have seen that they have posted other url.
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 00:56   #51310  |  Link
Magik Mark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 556
Hi!

Does anyone here keeping record of which Nvidia driver is best for all types of custom refresh rates?
__________________
Asus X99 Sabertooth - Xeon E5 2695 - Asus Strix GTX 960 4G - DDR4 16GB Predator - Pioneer KRP 600M (isf calibrated) - Yamaha A3030 - Windows 10 x64 - Kodi with DSplayer - Lav - MadVR - XYsubtitle
Magik Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 09:44   #51311  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magik Mark View Post
Hi!

Does anyone here keeping record of which Nvidia driver is best for all types of custom refresh rates?
390.77 works for me.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 10:02   #51312  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by giulianoprs View Post
How can I post a picture? which url is shared? others I have seen that they have posted other url.
Once you upload the image you share the link from it, the link you shared shares nothing, try the link you create before posting it to see if it works. If you click on the one you have shared already it does not show anything at all.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 10:28   #51313  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by giulianoprs View Post
How can I post a picture? which url is shared? others I have seen that they have posted other url.
I don't have an account on ImageShack, I don't know how their site looks; but I would assume that they provide URL's for each specific image, possibly pre-formatted to paste as HTML snippet or bbCode (this would be the format for a web forum like this).

An easier to use image hoster may be: https://frupic.frubar.net (they don't provide pre-formatted URL's, but their page URL per image is short, and you may as well copy the image address by right-clicking the uploaded image).
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 12th June 2018 at 10:32.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 11:14   #51314  |  Link
sat4all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 60
Hi guys,

Custom resolution is not working anymore with window fullscreen mode. i've tried to create custom resolution with both nvidia cp or madvr, the result will always produce 1 repeated frame in 4.xx min. switching back to FSE fix the problem. i've noticed also that windowed mode provide better rendering time 15ms vs FSE 21ms.
I'm on last windows 10 update and nvidia driver, any body else?
__________________
ZOTAC MAGNUS EN1060K: Win 10 x64 + Kodi DSPlayer x64
LG OLED65C8 / Denon AVR-X3200W / KEF E305+ONKYO SKH-410 / Synology DS2415+ / Logitech Harmony 950

Last edited by sat4all; 12th June 2018 at 11:19.
sat4all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 11:39   #51315  |  Link
gfxnow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 34
This might be a silly question but should I force enable my onboard Intel GPU (HD Graphics 630) in BIOS to use it as a D3D11 CB device in LAV? The logic being that it might free up resources on my GTX 1070 allowing me to further crank up MadVR settings.
gfxnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 11:48   #51316  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,965
fixed function hardware decoder doesn't cost notable performance you are wasting your time.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 12:10   #51317  |  Link
gfxnow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
fixed function hardware decoder doesn't cost notable performance you are wasting your time.
Thanks, not gonna bother then!
gfxnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 14:48   #51318  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
Osd

https://frupic.frubar.net/fullsize/36926

in this way is it visible?
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 14:52   #51319  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,227
It is, but geez it's kinda small. You resized it a bit much and if I click on it the tab just closes =/
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2018, 15:03   #51320  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
Osd

https://frupic.frubar.net/36927

I hope it's better now, and sorry if I'm bothering you, but I do not understand much the OSD data and I would like an opinion from some madvr expert, thanks and bye.
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.