Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd October 2016, 10:02   #39821  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimAhKin View Post
Anyone has memory leaks when going full screen? I'm using PotPlayer.

I have a 390x GPU with 16.10.2 driver version.
well known.

http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=431
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 00:12   #39822  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Some 4chan morons would like to sue madshi:
http://boards.4chan.org/g/thread/57186738

And it seems that another one released all the madshi's algorithms for fun:
http://boards.4chan.org/g/thread/57186738#p57194586

Last edited by foozoor; 24th October 2016 at 01:00.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 00:29   #39823  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,494
http://boards.4chan.org/g/thread/57186738#p57207398
*yawn*

Now madshi will waste time reading 4chan instead of developing next version thanks to you...
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 00:34   #39824  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 634
Nothing serious in there. And they don't have Madshi's algorithms, but just Open Source algorithms Madshi put in madVR, and I'm quite sure he respects licences since there have already been discussion about it in the past.
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 00:58   #39825  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by pirlouy View Post
Nothing serious in there. And they don't have Madshi's algorithms, but just Open Source algorithms Madshi put in madVR, and I'm quite sure he respects licences since there have already been discussion about it in the past.
Did you look at this archive?
https://0x0.st/eqp.txz

There is everything, even the deringing algo!

Last edited by foozoor; 24th October 2016 at 01:22.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 02:20   #39826  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 909
Sometimes I think Madshi should open a thread just for updates and info but keep it locked so only he can post in it.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 06:06   #39827  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by foozoor View Post
Did you look at this archive?
https://0x0.st/eqp.txz

There is everything, even the deringing algo!
So what? Is someone going to release a version that costs less than madshi's? It's been free for way too long.

There are thousands of us waiting to send madshi money when he finally releases the 1.0 version. He's not going to suffer.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 08:21   #39828  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
So what? Is someone going to release a version that costs less than madshi's? It's been free for way too long.
Looks like they don't even know what they're talking about IMO. Waste of time.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 10:28   #39829  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I think it looks too sharp. NNEDI3 isn't the one to beat anyway, it's super-xbr AR.
Do you mean super-xbr anti bloating? What's AR? Sorry for the stupid question.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 12:53   #39830  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
What's AR?
Anti-ringing.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 14:48   #39831  |  Link
adhara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by adhara View Post
Hi all,

This is about RGB output levels with a 10 bits display (so dithering 10bits and more activated in MadVr).
I know this is not a new question but I would like a clear explanation as we can read everything and its opposite arround this subject.

Basically there are 3 options:

Setup 1 :
GPU outputs 0-255
MadVr outputs 0-255
Display expects 0-255

Setup 2:
GPU outputs 16-235
MadVr outputs 16-235
Display expects 16-235

Setup 3:
GPU outputs 0-255
MadVr outputs 16-235
Display expects 16-235

Problems:
-There is no way on my UHD (10 bits) TV to select limited or full range.
- Graphic Card GTX 1070: When output is set to 2160p(4k) - RGB Full range, bitdepth is limited to 8 bits / To have 10/12 bits outptut on the GPU, I have to lower outptu level to limited range (16-235).

So what is the best setting for my own use (4k) ?

Madvr (0-255 / 10 bits) --> GPU (0-255 / 8 bits) --> Display

OR

Madvr (16-235 / 10 bits) --> GPU (16-235 / 10 bits) --> Display

OR

Madvr (0-255 / 10 bits) --> GPU (16-235 / 10 bits) --> Display

OR (other ?)

Thanks
madshi, warner306, ... others that know the answer, any idea ? thanks
adhara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 14:58   #39832  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by adhara View Post
Hi all,

This is about RGB output levels with a 10 bits display (so dithering 10bits and more activated in MadVr).
I know this is not a new question but I would like a clear explanation as we can read everything and its opposite arround this subject.

Basically there are 3 options:

Setup 1 :
GPU outputs 0-255
MadVr outputs 0-255
Display expects 0-255

Setup 2:
GPU outputs 16-235
MadVr outputs 16-235
Display expects 16-235

Setup 3:
GPU outputs 0-255
MadVr outputs 16-235
Display expects 16-235

Problems:
-There is no way on my UHD (10 bits) TV to select limited or full range.
- Graphic Card GTX 1070: When output is set to 2160p(4k) - RGB Full range, bitdepth is limited to 8 bits / To have 10/12 bits outptut on the GPU, I have to lower outptu level to limited range (16-235).

So what is the best setting for my own use (4k) ?

Madvr (0-255 / 10 bits) --> GPU (0-255 / 8 bits) --> Display

OR

Madvr (16-235 / 10 bits) --> GPU (16-235 / 10 bits) --> Display

OR

Madvr (0-255 / 10 bits) --> GPU (16-235 / 10 bits) --> Display

OR (other ?)

Thanks
I think 2106p60, 10 bit, RGB444 is not possible with current HDMI 2.0 a/b connection because of bandwidth limitations.

So you have to decide to go 2160p, RGB 444, 8 Bit or 2160p, 422, 10 bit.

I use 2160p, RGB 444, 8 Bit with my RX480 on my 4K TV with Setup Nr 1 (all 0-255)
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 15:02   #39833  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by adhara View Post
madshi, warner306, ... others that know the answer, any idea ? thanks
Man the second settings are wrong
If tv is expecting limites the right is

Madvr 16-235 gpu 0-255 tv 16-235

Also you can try

Madvr 0-255 gpu 16-235 TV 16-235 this can be a good choice for 10 bit on your system
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Last edited by CarlosCaco; 24th October 2016 at 15:04.
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 20:25   #39834  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
Madvr 0-255 gpu 16-235 TV 16-235 this can be a good choice for 10 bit on your system
I would say there is no point to sending 10-bit out of madVR if you then have the GPU compress 0-255 to 16-235.

Personally 10-bit or 422 subsampling is an easy choice for me. 8-bit 444 is always preferred. 10-bit is for that little extra improvement after everything else is perfect. Using the GPU to halve the color resolution and letting the TV up sample and do another color conversion is not perfect. Untouched properly dithered 8-bit RGB directly out of madVR is much better.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 21:10   #39835  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by foozoor View Post
Did you look at this archive?
There is everything, even the deringing algo!
Wow. Indeed, I didn't read it carefully. With this tool, it looks like you can't protect your shaders. Don't know if it's a flaw.

Last edited by pirlouy; 24th October 2016 at 21:22.
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 21:25   #39836  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
These are your options:

HDMI 2.0a/b (maximum output - 3840 x 2160):

- 10-bit RGB/Y'CbCr 4:4:4 at 30 Hz
- 10-bit Y'CbCr 4:2:2 at 60 Hz
- 8-bit RGB/Y'CbCr 4:4:4 at 60 Hz

Last edited by Warner306; 24th October 2016 at 22:02.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 21:30   #39837  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,982
i'm not going into the details but there are a lot of wrong numbers in there.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 21:37   #39838  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
madVR 16-335 -> GPU 0-255 -> TV 16-235

Messes up the desktop but the signal is untouched from madVR.

madVR 0-255 -> GPU 16-235 -> TV 16-235

Desktop remains accurate but GPU must do a color conversion. This is the simplest solution.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 21:38   #39839  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i'm not going into the details but there are a lot of wrong numbers in there.
This is from the official HDMI spec page:

HDMI 2.0a/b UHD Support:

Black fonts indicate formats supported by HDMI 1.4.
HDMI 2.0 supports 4:2:0 at 4K60.


*Cable lengths of 15' or greater require the use of an active HDMI cable to support 18.0 Gbits/s signals.

Last edited by Warner306; 24th October 2016 at 21:53.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2016, 21:46   #39840  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
I currently use the JVC X9000 with the Lumagen Pro and MadVR.
I have never tried to use any 4K upscaling on my setup but would like to try...
Currently I use image doubling on everything set to always. Using the 1080 video card.

To try this out, do I set both the PC and Lumagen Pro to 4K, or just the Lumagen to upscale 1080p from the PC?
What is the resolution I should use 2160 x ???

I take it I turn off Image Doubling in MadVR with a 4K setup, is that correct?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.