Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th January 2016, 23:40   #35381  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Where did we do the previous discussion about this? In the bug tracker? I don't remember the conclusion of the our previous discussion, so I'm not sure right now if this behaviour is as intended or not.
I had a chance to look this up, and it seems that I was mistaken - the behavior I saw with the "wrong" profile being selected is actually working as intended.
http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=349

The srcHeight/Width behavior was only changed for Zoom Control profiles (since that actually broke things) and not all profiles.
It's not what I would personally prefer, but I think your decision to handle it this way does make sense, so I'll keep using uncroppedSrcHeight/Width for the affected profiles.

Last edited by 6233638; 16th January 2016 at 01:24.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 01:47   #35382  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
So basically you're saying that a passive 3D TV when looked at without glasses has lines 1, 3 and 5 for left eye and lines 2, 4 and 6 for right eye? So I would simply render as if it were 2D and the TV wouldn't even have to know that I'm sending 3D, the user would simply put on his glasses and that's all?

Implementing that should be relatively easy.
I think you are right. You can try render as usually 2D picture and alternate lines for the left and right eyes(1 - left, 2 - right, 3 - left, 4 - right and so on.) Passive TV must from such image do 3D in half resolution for height(1080 -> 540).

You can try make test build - and i check it on my TV.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 02:54   #35383  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Oh ok. I guess I didn't understand how passive 3D works. So basically you're saying that a passive 3D TV when looked at without glasses has lines 1, 3 and 5 for left eye and lines 2, 4 and 6 for right eye? So I would simply render as if it were 2D and the TV wouldn't even have to know that I'm sending 3D, the user would simply put on his glasses and that's all?

Implementing that should be relatively easy.

@Aleksoid1978, would that do the trick for your TV?
this may work but what the TV is subsampling. after that there is nothing worth calling 3D/in the chroma channel.

this issue doesn't exist with top bottom and side by side.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 06:58   #35384  |  Link
omarank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
this may work but what the TV is subsampling. after that there is nothing worth calling 3D/in the chroma channel.

this issue doesn't exist with top bottom and side by side.
PC mode, Game mode or Graphics mode, which doesn’t downsample chroma, can be used in the TV. 3D output this way should still be better, rather much better, than after the unnecessary processing done by the TV when its 3D processing engine is active.

Row/ Column Interleaved output is anyway going to be optional in the settings. Passive TV users can always use frame packed 3D output to compare and decide which output method they like the most.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ver Greeneyes View Post
Do 4k TVs with passive 3D have polarization filters applied as a coating, alternating between columns? Otherwise, I wonder how glasses would know which lines to show.
Yes, not only just 4K Passive TVs, all Passive 3D TVs have a special coating which, for example in case of Row Interleaved Type, polarizes the light coming from odd lines in one way and from even lines in the opposite way. Passive 3D glasses have corresponding polarization filters which ensure that one eye sees just the odd lines and the other eye sees the even lines only. As the odd lines comprise View 1 and even lines View 2, the user gets 3D vision when they put on the Passive glasses.
omarank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 07:09   #35385  |  Link
apgood
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Thanks. Did you check with say chapter 2 of Gravity that the depth was correct? For example, when they circle around each other in space, is the depth correct for each of them and the rope/tether?
Haven't converted Gravity to mkv yet but PAN and hobbit unexpected journey. The 3D layers look correct and there are no out of sequence frames or anything like that.
apgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 07:17   #35386  |  Link
4h4h270
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
frame drop is from reclock, disabled, everything goes fine.

-----------------

I have a problem, I always get 1 frame drop every 30+sec, I checked with gpu-z the load is only 40%~50%.
I tried lighter algorithm and raise every quene size, nothing changed.

Last edited by 4h4h270; 16th January 2016 at 07:25. Reason: solved
4h4h270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 07:55   #35387  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Do you have also drops with other renderers? I'd try EVR CP of MPC HC and display rendertime graphs with ctrl + j.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 08:00   #35388  |  Link
apgood
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

Sounds good. Try a few different movies. It's possible that the eye swapping depends on the movie. If that's the case, either MakeMKV or LAV need a minor fix/update to solve that issue.
Only got 2 3D movies in mkv (rest still in iso format), but tested them in Mede8er as well and they need the eye swapping setting set there as well, so I suspect it might be something in MakeMKV that I did when I created them.

If I get a chance I'll try creating some more to see (and make sure I'm running the latest version of MakeMKV).
apgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 08:24   #35389  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Does madVR use image doubling with DVXA image upscaling?
In the OSD, I see chroma > DVXA and image > DVXA.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 08:45   #35390  |  Link
mogli
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 71
@foozoor
No, it does not.
mogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 09:25   #35391  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogli View Post
@foozoor
No, it does not.
Thanks! What about image enhancement and upscaling refinements?
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 09:46   #35392  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by apgood View Post
Haven't converted Gravity to mkv yet but PAN and hobbit unexpected journey. The 3D layers look correct and there are no out of sequence frames or anything like that.
Thanks. This is either thanks to Crimson, or because you can swap left/right eye in your projector. I can't do this on my JVC.

I'll try Crimson when I have a chance if no one else confirms AMD working on Catalyst.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 11:13   #35393  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by foozoor View Post
Thanks! What about image enhancement and upscaling refinements?
image enhancement yes
upscaling refinement no
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 13:32   #35394  |  Link
sat4all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 60
Hi madshi,

Debanding algo introduce dropping frames no matter what i set on level. I can fix this only by checking: don't rerender frames when fade in/out is detected. (Must be always checked?)
I've tried with my both rigs: main htpc with an amd hd 7950 and intel nuc i5 hsw.

Last edited by sat4all; 16th January 2016 at 13:34.
sat4all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 13:45   #35395  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 212
Seems like your GPU is to weak for your settings without "don't render frames when fade in/out ..."?
Take a look at the rendering times in the OSD.
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 14:09   #35396  |  Link
XTrojan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 88
Using MPC-HC, Lav 0.66 and I can't get 3D to work Frame-packed or SBS, it simply won't activate nor engage Multiview mode for SBS.

Container is .mkv with MVC 3D stream in it

I noticed you added a nits mode, I know this is something similar to HDR, but what does it do to rec709 movies? I'm not using backlight at max on my TV since rec709 colors get weird above certain nits or strains eyes.

I'm using a JS9000 Tv that should handle most 3D formats.

I'm mostly trying to get Multiview SBS mode to work since framepacked is limited to 1080p23 8bit and all that stuff, Multiview SBS is registered 2D at the PC, it's when it passes to the TV it converts to 3D by merging left+right which is same thing as merging original track + MVC track in framepacked.

Last edited by XTrojan; 16th January 2016 at 14:46.
XTrojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 14:32   #35397  |  Link
XTrojan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 88
I did a image edit to explain Full SBS easier.

This image is what the PC reports, the PC always thinks the movie is 2D, the TV will merge these two images into 3D. The PC will thus never be restricted by 3D setting limit such as 1080p23.

http://i.imgur.com/um8Lal8.jpg

Regarding the "mountain effect" on the image, this is the industry standard, the more you stretch the images from eachother (2D and MVC) to each eye the more of a 3D effect you get but also introducing other weird things such as crosstalk. Most TVs have a "3D depth setting" which will basically try to stretch these two images even more in frame-packed or SBS.

also yes, windowed mode doesn't work that well since there's space in the middle and when the TV merges them it becomes buggy, fullscreen is needed to avoid scaling issues.

Either way i can't get Full SBS or Framepacked 3D to work with MadVR as my post above states.

Edit2: When I mean "stretch" it's basically adding distance from both images, 1 image = 1 eye, add too much distance between them and your eyes will become asymmetrical, lol.

Last edited by XTrojan; 16th January 2016 at 14:50.
XTrojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 14:42   #35398  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by XTrojan View Post
Using MPC-HC, Lav 0.66 and I can't get 3D to work Frame-packed or SBS, it simply won't activate nor engage Multiview mode for SBS.
You need a recent nightly of LAV 0.67, 0.66 doesn't support 3D.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 14:53   #35399  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
bilateral chroma upsampling in madvr, is this actually adaptive bilateral sampling or fixed bilateral sampling?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 15:01   #35400  |  Link
XTrojan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
You need a recent nightly of LAV 0.67, 0.66 doesn't support 3D.
Ahh, i'll try testing it tonight then.
XTrojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.