Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th May 2015, 18:39   #30061  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

That's due to PotPlayer wanting to draw animations and stuff during paused playback. It's madVR's fault, really, but if you turn the PotPlayer madVR specific OSD off, this problem should go away for now. Of course then you'll probably lose the FSE compatible OSD, as well. The high GPU load in paused state with PotPlayer will probably be fixed in a future build, but it has low priority for now.
I had figured this out quite quickly when using D3D11... pressing the TAB key to pull up the OSD of PotPlayer would sort of kick madVR out of whack and it couldn't recover without a playback restart. Selecting "display messages on image itself" helped with the TAB OSD message... put pausing still borks madVR, even just clicking on the other desktop can do it. So I have resorted to not using D3D11.

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 18:59   #30062  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
I hope Shiandow will provide us with a shader so that we won't have to wait until Sunday for his new deband filter in madVR.

Other PP tests shouldn't be blocked for too long, I'm still very sure that SuperRes for chroma gives unwanted results and that NNEDI3 + SuperRes for luma beats everything by far and have found a nice demonstration.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 18:59   #30063  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,173
SuperRes appears to work on 288p videos but not on 720p videos. Here are some screenshots. With the 720p video, rendering stats are unaffected by SuperRes. These are displayed on 768p display.

288p Normal


288p SuperRes (higher rendering time as expected)


720p Normal


720p SuperRes -- SuperRes isn't working!


Here I'm setting quality to high so that rendering times are more obvious.

That's in addition to very high rendering times on 1080p display. For the 288p video, with SuperRes 2 passes medium quality, rendering time goes from 6ms to 11ms in windowed mode. At 1080p, it was going from 14ms to 39ms! I'd have to take screenshots next time the TV is hooked up.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 07:10.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 19:03   #30064  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
Sorry, can't help with that due to my colorblindness.
i'm pretty sure this has nothing to do with seeing banding.
you can easily get banding on a gray ramp.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 19:06   #30065  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anime Viewer View Post
I think there is something strange at play in madVR resulting in artifacts. Starting by setting both programs to defaults, then configuring both for 10-bit, using the same upscalers, DX11, Shiandow's debanding (with identical settings), SuperChromaRes, and SuperRes (with identical NEDI settings in both), and ordered dithering in both I am seeing more artifacts in madVR than MPDN in the same video scenes. I've included a screen shot below.
Anyone have theories as to what may be causing the additional artifacts in madVR?

http://s17.postimg.org/lznm6e7j1/madvr_vs_mpdn.jpg
In particular I notice the additional artifacts around the Japanese characters/letters, edge and teeth of the creature, and floating green debris. While its not a huge overall difference it is noticeable to me.
MPDN and madVR doesn't have the same JINC resizer. but i agree left is sharper and has a little bit more artifacts. should be easier to compare on 2 screens.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 19:09   #30066  |  Link
kasper93
MPC-HC Developer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
720p SuperRes -- SuperRes isn't working!
Of course it isn't working, because you are downscaling image.

If you want to sharpen source image do it in "image enchantments" section.
kasper93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 19:27   #30067  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by kasper93 View Post
Of course it isn't working, because you are downscaling image.

If you want to sharpen source image do it in "image enchantments" section.
When I play 720p in 768p full-screen, it is upscaling and isn't working either.


Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 07:10.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 19:29   #30068  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
When I play 720p in 768p full-screen, it is upscaling and isn't working either.

the scaling factor is to low to make a huge difference.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 19:33   #30069  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I hope Shiandow will provide us with a shader so that we won't have to wait until Sunday for his new deband filter in madVR.
I don't think the new shader is "compatible" with the current madVR build. Unfortunately madVR is rather limited in its flexibility with custom shaders at the moment. (That is something I plan to work on in a future version.) So it will have to wait, I fear. Oh well, maybe I'll work on a new build today. <sigh> At some point I need to earn some money, too, though...

Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Other PP tests shouldn't be blocked for too long, I'm still very sure that SuperRes for chroma gives unwanted results and that NNEDI3 + SuperRes for luma beats everything by far and have found a nice demonstration.
There'll be a new SuperRes for chroma shader, too. The problem is if I collect feedback for everything from everyone, it will be a mess. The best thing would have been for me to introduce one new feature at a time. Then it wouldn't have "itched" you to discuss the other features now. But I didn't want to be so cruel to hold some new features back, just to get more orderly feedback!

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i agree left is sharper and has a little bit more artifacts. should be easier to compare on 2 screens.
Yes, for a fair comparison it needs to be:

1) Same sharpness.
2) Same video frame.
3) Separate screenshots with 1:1 same pixel position.

Quote:
Originally Posted by daert View Post
Yes, it's correct but in madvr display mode I have to set 1080p23 even if the "good" mode is 24p. If I set 1080p24 it will create a brand new resolution with exact 24.000 Hz which also has a blurred image like the original "bad" 23p.
In d3d9 (windowed and FSE) and d3d11 (windowed only) madvr treats the 1080p23 mode as the "good" one. Only in d3d11 FSE there is the switch with the "bad" one.
This switch occours even if I disable the display modes and set the "good" mode through the nvidia control panel
Unfortunately there's only so much control I have over this. Direct3D has different ways to ask the GPU driver to switch to a specific display mode, and madVR tries to "fix" that, and that usually works, but in your case things seem to be somewhat confusing. I don't really know how to solve it, unfortunately. So I would say, stick with D3D9 for now. Maybe you can use this tool to cleanup the whole mess?

http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Th...on-Utility-CRU

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
If you ask me specifically about the edges of clear objects near the already debanded gradient (what I think is actual detail loss), I would say they look just as good as without debanding on all settings.
Maybe I'm just not observant enough, but to me it's all good, I am satisfied with the default or with shiandow's.
Ok, thanks for your feedback.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 19:36   #30070  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
When I play 720p in 768p full-screen, it is upscaling and isn't working either.

If the upscaling factor is very near to 100% then upscaling refinement doesn't become active. The key purpose of upscaling refinement is to get rid of softness caused by upscaling. If you only upscale by a tiny amount, there's almost no sharpness loss, so upscaling refinement is not needed then. Maybe I'll give you more control over this in a future build. But for now I've fixed upscaling factors which activate or deactivate SuperRes in specific situations.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 20:28   #30071  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Let me know what you find!
So great, I tested the 10-bit ramps and my panel happens to be 10-bit, thanks for all the amazing work in madvr. Also tested the shaders without success. I'm not sure the MPC version has something to do with that, I use version 1.6.9.7418.



edit: nevermind, fixed with the hlsl files of finesharp 1.12. Will report later what I find.
edit2: did 6 conversions back and forth between YUV and RGB, indeed very transparent conversions, the next is a (exaggerated) diff sample for a very clean anime source, on a 720p slightly grainy live footage it was even less difference.

Last edited by Dogway; 15th May 2015 at 20:58.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 20:45   #30072  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
At some point I need to earn some money, too, though...
would you like us to send you some food?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 21:33   #30073  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
edit2: did 6 conversions back and forth between YUV and RGB, indeed very transparent conversions, the next is a (exaggerated) diff sample for a very clean anime source, on a 720p slightly grainy live footage it was even less difference.
So you would agree that it's not a big issue that madVR performs one additional RGB -> YCbCr -> RGB conversion step (only when doing NNEDI3)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
would you like us to send you some food?
Haha! No, that wouldn't help much. It's not the food I'm concerned about, but my monthly bills. Well, I'll manage, just need to step away from madVR development and do some commercial stuff again in the next couple of days/weeks.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 21:38   #30074  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
madVR v0.88.8 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* updated to latest Shiandow deband script
* fixed: D3D11 didn't activate with "frames presented in advance" set to 16
* fixed: ConfigureDisplayModeChanger(allowResolutionChanges = false) bug
So here's the latest Deband update again. Please retest - thank you!

(P.S: And you can set the number pre presented frames in advance back to 16 for D3D11, if you like. madVR will then automatically reduce it to 15.)
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 21:46   #30075  |  Link
MS-DOS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
You forgot to mention a nice small change to the OSD
MS-DOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 21:47   #30076  |  Link
Moony349
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR v0.88.8 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* updated to latest Shiandow deband script
* fixed: D3D11 didn't activate with "frames presented in advance" set to 16
* fixed: ConfigureDisplayModeChanger(allowResolutionChanges = false) bug
So here's the latest Deband update again. Please retest - thank you!

(P.S: And you can set the number pre presented frames in advance back to 16 for D3D11, if you like. madVR will then automatically reduce it to 15.)
I must have tried changing every setting I could find...

Except for present frames in advance.

DX11 works now; thanks!
Moony349 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 22:15   #30077  |  Link
luk008
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 38
In D3D11 exclusive (10 bits), the render queue and the upload queue stay at 2-4 / 15. Why 2-4? Am I doing something wrong?
luk008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 22:17   #30078  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by MS-DOS View Post
You forgot to mention a nice small change to the OSD
I didn't find it important enough to mention it in the changelog...

Quote:
Originally Posted by luk008 View Post
In D3D11 exclusive (10 bits), the render queue and the upload queue stay at 2-4 / 15. Why 2-4? Am I doing something wrong?
Which GPU? Which OS? Is that only a problem with 10bit? Or also with 8bit? Is it also a problem in windowed mode? Or only in FSE?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 22:21   #30079  |  Link
luk008
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Which GPU? Which OS? Is that only a problem with 10bit? Or also with 8bit? Is it also a problem in windowed mode? Or only in FSE?
AMD R9 270 (driver 15.4)
Windows 8.1 x64
It only happens in D3D11 exclusive (10 bits). 8 bits, windowed and others are fine.
luk008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 22:24   #30080  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by luk008 View Post
AMD R9 270 (driver 15.4)
Windows 8.1 x64
It only happens in D3D11 exclusive (10 bits). 8 bits, windowed and others are fine.
Can't reproduce that on my AMD HD7770 in Windows 8.1 x64. Have you tried resetting madVR to default settings? Also try rebooting, just to be safe.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.