Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th September 2018, 08:16   #101  |  Link
amayra
Quality Checker
 
amayra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 220
Thank you qyot27
__________________
I love Doom9
amayra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2018, 23:47   #102  |  Link
FranceBB
Broadcast Encoder
 
FranceBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 537
FFMS2 C-plugin r1315+119

I get an error "Unhandled C++ exception" if I try to open a .thd audio file.
It's a TrueHD Dolby Atmos 7.1 audio file of about 4.7 GB.
FFAudioSource starts indexing, it reaches about 512 MB of RAM and then it crashes.
Can you try to index a similar TrueHD Dolby Atmos 7.1 audio file and reproduce the issue?
It happens on the old ffms2 version as well (I can't test ffms2000 with XP).
If you want I can upload the file.

MediaInfo

Audio
Format : MLP FBA 16-ch
Format/Info : Meridian Lossless Packing FBA with 16-channel presentation
Commercial name : Dolby TrueHD with Dolby Atmos
Codec ID : A_TRUEHD
Duration : 2 h 29 min
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 4 534 kb/s
Maximum bit rate : 6 930 kb/s
Channel(s) : 8 channels
Channel layout : L R C LFE Ls Rs Lb Rb
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 1 200.000 FPS (40 SPF)
Compression mode : Lossless
Stream size : 4.73 GiB (9%)
Title : TrueHD Atmos 7.1
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No
Number of dynamic objects : 13
Bed channel count : 1 channel
Bed channel configuration : LFE
__________________
Broadcast Encoder

Last edited by FranceBB; 30th September 2018 at 23:49.
FranceBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2018, 18:51   #103  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,022
I've added it to the first post, but I finally opted to enable the issues tracker on my personal FFMS2 repo on Github to track C plugin-related issues:
https://github.com/qyot27/ffms2_cplugin/issues
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2019, 16:45   #104  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,022
New build.

The AV1 decoder in this build is libdav1d. FFmpeg is four months newer.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2019, 09:22   #105  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 842
@ qyot27
A big Thank You for maintaining ffmpegsource.
Really appreciated
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2019, 18:34   #106  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 6,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
@ qyot27
A big Thank You for maintaining ffmpegsource.
Really appreciated
+ 1 on that, thanx muchly.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 02:47   #107  |  Link
StvG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 41
Thanks.

I compared the latest c-plugin version you posted vs ffms2 (non c-plugin) with QTGMC(sharpness=*) in AvsPmod. C-plugin eats ~4.4GB RAM while the othe build eats ~1.3GB RAM.
* - when values from 0.1 to 1.6 are tested
C-plugin continues to eat RAM for every new tested option until there is no free RAM. The non c-plugin doesn't have this behavior. I had crashes with c-plugin while using non c-plugin runs without problems in the same scenario.
Can take a look for fix/solution?
StvG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 03:00   #108  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by StvG View Post
I compared the latest c-plugin version you posted vs ffms2 (non c-plugin) with QTGMC(sharpness=*) in AvsPmod. C-plugin eats ~4.4GB RAM while the othe build eats ~1.3GB RAM.
* - when values from 0.1 to 1.6 are tested
C-plugin continues to eat RAM for every new tested option until there is no free RAM. The non c-plugin doesn't have this behavior. I had crashes with c-plugin while using non c-plugin runs without problems in the same scenario.
Can take a look for fix/solution?
Have you tried VirtualDub2 and/or AVSMeter to verify this? Maybe the problem lies with AVSPmod.
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 04:11   #109  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,022
The problem lies with the client program re-loading the script over and over again without necessarily releasing the AviSynth script environment completely, which also unloads the C-plugin and flushes the memory. It's been an 'issue'* for years and trying to drill down to exactly where it lies is maddening.

*I mean, not for users of programs like x264 or FFmpeg, since those only load and unload the script environment once per program instance. VirtualDub can exhibit it eventually if you open the script and then repeatedly hit F2. Every time, it tacks an additional 70MB onto VirtualDub's memory allocation.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 04:33   #110  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,466
A forum member at VideoHelp uploaded this 12-bit HEVC sample which causes problems with the current ffms2 C_Plugins:
https://forum.videohelp.com/attachme...test_12bit.mp4

The latest C-Plugin version which can handle this file is FFMS2 C-plugin 1140+101 from 2016. All later versions either cannot find the function "ffaudiosource", or they quit with an access violation.

Repacking the file from MP4 to MKV does not help either. The file itself looks healthy, plays fine in all my media players, and MKVToolNix does not complain when remuxing it to MKV.

Any thoughts? I always thought that the C-Plugin v.1140 is the most reliable one and I always use it, but it feels weird to me that for decoding a "modern" 12-bit source the old version handles it gracefully while all the newer version fail.

Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 05:44   #111  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,022
I can't reproduce this. It works fine here with the most recent build I've posted (from 2019-01-20 / r1334+120).

Those errors sound like something else is wrong in the AviSynth environment, though.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 06:20   #112  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 844
FWIW, on my PC the latest FFMS2 C-plugin returns this message:

"FFVideoSource: no suitable output format found"

— whereas the DLL compiled on 2018/January/09 loads that video but makes VirtualDub crash when I click the play button.

Last edited by filler56789; 14th March 2019 at 06:21. Reason: edit
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 07:55   #113  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
"FFVideoSource: no suitable output format found"
Yes, that's the error I get when using te latest C-Plugin version, too. Win7 -64, everything else 32-bit.
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 09:38   #114  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 844
UPDATE:

adding colorspace="YV12" to FFVideoSource() is the solution to the PEBKAC situation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by qyot27 View Post
Another new build; this time, using the C plugin under AviSynth 2.6 shouldn't error out with access violations if given high bit depth video. It will spit back the 'FFVideoSource: No suitable output format found' error since it won't do automatic downsampling anymore. The assumption, given high bit depth video, is outputting the same pix_fmt unless you use ConvertTo later in the script. The colorspace= parameter should work again, though, so you can force 8-bit output when you know you need it.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 10:17   #115  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,466
Thanks, this explains it...

But for software like AVStoDVD where the user cannot alter the FFVideoSource parameter to add a colorspace value this means that for high bit depth video the current ffms2 C-Plugins will not work. I will recomend to all A2D users to revert back to ffms2_r1140+101-avs+vsp.7z to avoid these issues.
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 22:58   #116  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,022
New build.

Includes the AV1 parsing fix patches, along with two months' newer versions of FFmpeg and libdav1d.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2019, 17:04   #117  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,466
Thanks for the new build r1340...

I would like to make this fool proof for AVStoDVD, this means that I need to add the colorspace="YV12" param to the AVS file created by AVStoDVD somehow (not too hard, I already do intercept the encoder call).

The question is if this is really worth the trouble. The older version r1140 works nicely so far, does the new version r1340 offer any real world advantages? Does it support source formats which the older version doesn't? Or does it fix some serious bugs?

Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2019, 20:56   #118  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
Does it support source formats which the older version doesn't?
AV1 is probably the most significant one. r1140+101 was uploaded in October 2016, more than a year before the AV1 spec reached feature freeze, and a year and a half before the initial release of its reference software. Even just newer versions of libaom (the reference software) or libdav1d could be significant on just the topic of AV1; it's a shame that FFMS2 doesn't have something in place to switch among multiple libavcodec decoders (if available), depending on which currently gets better performance. FFmpeg itself didn't support decoding with libaom until March 2018, and didn't support libdav1d until November 2018.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2019, 09:44   #119  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,466
Thanks for this info...

Looks like AV1 might become an important video format in the near future, source filters will need to support it. My efforts to add the colorspace parameter to the AVS script in A2D were only halfway successful. I can manipulate the encoding script, but for the preview a separate script is used which I cannot access. Hopefully MrC will find some time to fix it...


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.