Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th April 2012, 12:25   #1  |  Link
hanfrunz
Registered User
 
hanfrunz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 540
Framerate conversion thread 2012

Hello everyone,

i found some "old" threads about framerate conversion.
Is someone using avisynth for NTSC<->PAL (interlaced) conversions in a professional enviroment? Are there new modern "2012" tools (plugins/scripts) that can be used?

regards,
hanfrunz
hanfrunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 06:09   #2  |  Link
nhope
partially-informed layman
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 314
This is what I do for interlaced>interlaced and the results are great.

PAL to NTSC DV

Code:
AviSource("whatever.avi")
ConvertToYUY2(interlaced=true)

QTGMC( Preset="Slower", SubPel=2, Sourcematch=3, Lossless=2 )
super = MSuper(levels=1, pel=2)
MFlowFps(super, QTGMC_bVec1, QTGMC_fVec1, num=60000, den=1001)
Spline36Resize(720,480)

AssumeBFF()
SeparateFields()
SelectEvery(4,0,3)
weave()
NTSC to PAL DV

Code:
AviSource("whatever.avi")
ConvertToYUY2(interlaced=true)

QTGMC( Preset="Slower", SubPel=2, Sourcematch=3, Lossless=2 )
super = MSuper(levels=1, pel=2)
MFlowFps(super, QTGMC_bVec1, QTGMC_fVec1, num=50, den=1)
Spline36Resize(720,576)

AssumeBFF()
SeparateFields()
SelectEvery(4,0,3)
weave()
I convert to YUY2 because I get this problem if I weave YV12.

(edit: there are more variants of these scripts here, including HD versions)

Last edited by nhope; 28th April 2012 at 06:12.
nhope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 14:12   #3  |  Link
TheSkiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhope View Post
I convert to YUY2 because I get this problem if I weave YV12.
This is just because of the way you view the video, it is not actually broken.
If you have an interlaced YV12 video and watch a frame of it on a PC monitor using VirtualDub or the like the color space needs to be upsampled to RGB somewhere. And that's where the problem occurs. If you do not convert – just for displaying, not for encoding – to RGB within AviSynth using ConvertToRGB(interlaced=true) you will see the chroma getting mixed between the two fields of each frame, giving this "chroma-ghost".

One of the reasons I always recommend to convert to RGB at the very end of a script while checking things. For encoding of course it should be removed.

Last edited by TheSkiller; 28th April 2012 at 14:16.
TheSkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 19:16   #4  |  Link
nhope
partially-informed layman
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 314
Thanks very much TheSkiller. This makes sense and I will check it out.
nhope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2012, 01:02   #5  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,496
The Wikipedia page on standards conversion talks about "phase correlation" and makes it out to be the best method - are any of the existing AviSynth solutions anything like that?

David
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 01:03   #6  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,391
Diggin' an old post about phase correlation: <click>

Briefly: Phase correlation tells you that there IS something. But it doesn't tell you WHERE it is.

Practical examples: straight camera panning -> phase correlation works beautifully. Closeup of a bustling anthill -> phase correlation is utterly useless.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 06:04   #7  |  Link
Mole
Registered User
 
Mole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Thailand
Posts: 259
What about keeping the same frame rate, but using pulldown?

Obviously this would only work for PAL->NTSC, but not NTSC->PAL.
Mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 15:07   #8  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,079
Of course, have a look at DGPulldown. Just keep in mind that the source has to be progressive...


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 15:08   #9  |  Link
Mole
Registered User
 
Mole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Thailand
Posts: 259
Yeah, I forgot. Pulldown works only if it's progressive.
Mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 16:50   #10  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,079
Anyone tested the MSU Advanced Frame Rate Converter?


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2012, 22:09   #11  |  Link
-Vit-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 448
I tried MSU quite a while ago. Visibly very blocky where motion is complex - at the time I much preferred the how MFlowFPS dealt with difficult areas (that blurry wobbliness). Of course we now have SVP/Interframe improving things in that area. Dunno if MSU has been updated more recently
-Vit- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2012, 08:33   #12  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,555
i'd vote SVP, or super-duper-wrapper scripts that incorporate it as a motion engine.

it's a little less prone to failblocks and faster than mvtools (though based on it), and allows us to use the GPU for fancy things.

currently i'm using it to go from sharp 720p60 to motion-blurred 720p24 and its very rarely gives artefacts, and when it fails it just gives a frame-blend rather than a warpy-thing. i'm about to build a proper converter with it in the coming weeks, so i'll post back here with results
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.