Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th August 2018, 02:12   #15941  |  Link
burt123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
According to your theory re-encoding 128 kbps MP3 to 320 kbps MP3 will also automagically improve quality?
Well, I'm "whelmed" (not over or under) that my post #15927 sparked so much response, as the Forum has been stagnet for weeks

Also a bit of sarcasm mixed in, as well....

I sort of disagree with your statement, bitrate of a video file should produce better quality, than an audio file, but I like your use of "automagically"

OK, so you told me what Ripbot uses to mux, but what is used to govern the bitrate of an encode ??? If not mkvmerge ???

Speaking of mkvmerge, there is a newer version of MKVToolNix now available, v25...and does Ripbot use the 32 or 64 bit versions ??

Is there a way to at least maintain original bitrates using Ripbot ??

Generally I just use CQ 20, and everything is smaller / lesser bitrate, an "X Copy" type option (as used with your audio settings) might be an idea.

Oh, and another thing I need to mention, the majority of 4K 2160p HEVC movies also have True-HD audio.

Even my brand new 2018 model LG 4K TV doesn't support that format, so I have to convert any THD audio to DTS-MA or DTS to maintain the 7.1 tracks, as I'm pretty sure Ripbot can't do that. (Correct me if I'm wrong)

Maybe I should say that Ripbot can't convert THD to DTS, only ac3. (and again, correct me if I'm wrong), as we've had this conversation before.

Last edited by burt123; 9th August 2018 at 02:34.
burt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 11:25   #15942  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,530
Quote:
Is there a way to at least maintain original bitrates using Ripbot ??
Yes if you select .m2ts file. COPY STREAM option will appear in Video profile combobox.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 12:26   #15943  |  Link
burt123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Yes if you select .m2ts file. COPY STREAM option will appear in Video profile combobox.
That's good to know, another hidden gem.....

However, most of the files I use, are .mkv, and that option isn't available...can you make that an option for .mkv's ???

Or do I have to convert them to .m2ts with tsmuxer ???

Please tell me you can add it ???
burt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 12:35   #15944  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,530
If you want to retain original quality/bitrate in mkv then why don't you just use mkvtoolnix?
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 12:47   #15945  |  Link
burt123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
If you want to retain original quality/bitrate in mkv then why don't you just use mkvtoolnix?
WOW, now that is something I never thought I'd hear from you !!!

An interesting statement, none the less.

I am using mkvmerge a lot more than I use to, tho.

But, using Ripbot has some features that I like to use for filtering, audio, etc. Oh, and yes, increasing bitrates...lol !!!

So is that a no, about adding Copy Stream for .mkv's ??

And another question I asked last night was, what does Ripbot use that affects bitrates ?

For example, today I re encoded a basic 2160p movie that had an original bitrate of 24.7Mb/s, but running it thru Ripbot at basic setting's, with MDGrain filter, and CQ 20, it was reduced to 3,540kb/s, and of course a huge reduction in file size...I am yet to check out the quality.
burt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 13:00   #15946  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,530
If you remove randomness (noise) from picture then encoder can achieve much higher compression ratios. For example MDegrain2 can reduce average bitrate in CQ mode by up to 1.7x factor!
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 13:22   #15947  |  Link
burt123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
If you remove randomness (noise) from picture then encoder can achieve much higher compression ratios. For example MDegrain2 can reduce average bitrate in CQ mode by up to 1.7x factor!
Another very useful nugget of information

And can you please answer the question I asked in the previous post, about bitrate control ??
burt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 13:32   #15948  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,530
Quote:
And another question I asked last night was, what does Ripbot use that affects bitrates ?
this?
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 13:51   #15949  |  Link
burt123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
this?
Riddles...what does "this?" mean ?

So, what makes the change, if I "up" the bitrate ??
burt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 14:47   #15950  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,530
You are just reducing degradation effect during lossy compression. Keep in mind that picture quality will be still worse than original due to lossy nature of compression. It is something like copying VHS tapes (worse quality) to BETA tapes (better quality) or audio cassette type-I (iron oxide) to type-II (chrome).

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 9th August 2018 at 14:52.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 15:07   #15951  |  Link
burt123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
You are just reducing degradation effect during lossy compression. Keep in mind that picture quality will be still worse than original due to lossy nature of compression. It is something like copying VHS tapes (worse quality) to BETA tapes (better quality) or audio cassette type-I (iron oxide) to type-II (chrome).
Wow, what has this got to do with what I asked...or is this replying to another post.
burt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 16:37   #15952  |  Link
byteshare
ByteShare
 
byteshare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by burt123 View Post
OK, so you told me what Ripbot uses to mux, but what is used to govern the bitrate of an encode ??? If not mkvmerge ???
I believe FFMPEG is the main engine but you also use the codecs.
What governs the bitrate is the settings you tell the encoder to use.
byteshare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2018, 02:48   #15953  |  Link
burt123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by byteshare View Post
I believe FFMPEG is the main engine but you also use the codecs.
What governs the bitrate is the settings you tell the encoder to use.
Thankyou very much, byteshare..a straight answer

Atak,

Just discovered a very new version of ffmpeg 20180809

https://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/
burt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2018, 07:34   #15954  |  Link
burt123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Yes if you select .m2ts file. COPY STREAM option will appear in Video profile combobox.
So I tried this.....you could have mentioned that it removes the Avisynth options.

So, in this scenario, MKVmerge is better...for basic's.
burt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2018, 20:12   #15955  |  Link
byteshare
ByteShare
 
byteshare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by burt123 View Post
So I tried this.....you could have mentioned that it removes the Avisynth options.

So, in this scenario, MKVmerge is better...for basic's.
When you're doing Copy Stream you're not encoding, you're just copying files
byteshare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2018, 14:03   #15956  |  Link
Mixer73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by byteshare View Post
When you're doing Copy Stream you're not encoding, you're just copying files
But I bet he can see the better quality

Hint: if you encode to a higher bitrate without any filters, the resultant will will be lower quality.

In special cases you can encode with filters and result in a higher visual quality, but very high bitrate sources are not those cases.

This is just a case of confirmation bias.
Mixer73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2018, 09:54   #15957  |  Link
byteshare
ByteShare
 
byteshare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixer73 View Post
But I bet he can see the better quality

Hint: if you encode to a higher bitrate without any filters, the resultant will will be lower quality.

In special cases you can encode with filters and result in a higher visual quality, but very high bitrate sources are not those cases.

This is just a case of confirmation bias.
Facts? Logic? Get out
I find Degrain helpful as a basic way of making it perceptually better looking for my personal taste.
byteshare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2018, 10:07   #15958  |  Link
byteshare
ByteShare
 
byteshare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by byteshare View Post
Not sure why but RipBot is changing
Code:
é
to
Code:
Θ
when muxing the files after an encode.
The filename displays correctly in the queue.
I'm having this issue on a Windows 10 machine.
Using RipBot Core 2018.07.11
Example:
Code:
Pokémon XYZ - 0889 - From A to Z! [iTunes DL 1080p] (Arian)
Into:
Code:
PokΘmon XYZ - 0889 - From A to Z! [iTunes DL 1080p] (Arian)
@Atak_Snajpera; Any "update" on this
byteshare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2018, 11:33   #15959  |  Link
burt123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by byteshare View Post
@Atak_Snajpera; Any "update" on this
We just need updates, period !!!

mkvtoolnix & ffmpeg !!!
burt123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2018, 19:06   #15960  |  Link
byteshare
ByteShare
 
byteshare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by burt123 View Post
We just need updates, period !!!

mkvtoolnix & ffmpeg !!!
Nah, the MKVToolNix works and the updates to MKVToolNix are generally minimal. FFMPEG same situation.

As for Codecs he is almost always on top of it.

I was just trying to be cheeky.

The only thing in RipBot as far as features that I've been looking for is better queue management.

I know FFMPEG crashes sometimes but almost always doubling my Encoding Servers (ie slowing per thread FPS) seems to keep it from crashing as much when it comes up for some videos more than others.
byteshare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.