Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Capturing Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th April 2020, 19:00   #1  |  Link
tugatomsk9
tugatomsk9
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 17
VHS capture using Avermedia Game Capture II

Iím thinking of digitally recording my personal motorsports VHS collection that spans over 20 years, but Iím unsure as to what hardware should I buy.

Iíve had a poor experience with a MAGIX usb-pen video capture device. It uses proprietary codecs that are a hassle to configure and the maximum video bitrate is not impressive. Moreover, the audio quality is poor, with noticeable signal noise. This is the reason why I havenít considered ElGatoís video-pen device.

My PC has no available PCI or PCI-e slots available, so fully dedicated video capture cards are not an option.

Then thereís this: the Avermedia Game Capture II. Even though itís mainly designed for videogame capture, but the fact it could work as a standalone video capture device caught my attention.

Can its maximum 14000 kbps using k264/AVC could record interlaced video with good quality, i.e., without interlacing or other artifacts? Also, can this device double the framerate (from 50i to 50p) via hardware directly into a finished video file?

Thanks in advance.
tugatomsk9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2020, 23:15   #2  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 824
Avermedia Game capture II (115..125€) will employ a hardware encoder.
If its implementation is poor and generates artifacts you can not avoid that.

A Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 (190..210.-€) can deliver 4:2:2 10bit uncompressed.
From a VHS tape source this would mean: without a visible quality loss.
You may work your Avisynth way from there, enhance, encode as you prefer.
But it needs a dedicated USB 3.0 port to work, see:

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...55#post1847255
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingŲage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 8th April 2020 at 23:31.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2020, 00:30   #3  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,928
In my testing with my Intensity Shuttle the last two bits of the 10-bit capture, using their software, were 0s when capturing from s-video. This is really a non-issue, uncompressed 8 bit is great for VHS anyway, but I would not bother capturing s-video in 10 bit with the Intensity Shuttle.

I would still recommend it over a hardware encoder.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 00:30   #4  |  Link
tugatomsk9
tugatomsk9
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
Avermedia Game capture II (115..125€) will employ a hardware encoder.
If its implementation is poor and generates artifacts you can not avoid that.

A Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0 (190..210.-€) can deliver 4:2:2 10bit uncompressed.
From a VHS tape source this would mean: without a visible quality loss.
You may work your Avisynth way from there, enhance, encode as you prefer.
But it needs a dedicated USB 3.0 port to work, see:

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...55#post1847255
My motherboard is USB 2.0 only. Does that rule it out?
tugatomsk9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2020, 16:53   #5  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 824
Yes, USB 2.0 is excluded, sorry for that.

BTW, just counterchecked one of my samples of Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle captures.
Codec was v210 uncompressed, decoding in Vegas 16 shows a densely populated 10 bit histogram without regular holes.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingŲage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 15th April 2020 at 09:53.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2020, 18:50   #6  |  Link
tugatomsk9
tugatomsk9
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 17
Thanks for the help anyway, it was much appreciated.
tugatomsk9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avermedia, capture, gamecapture, vhs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.