Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th November 2018, 13:53   #6581  |  Link
Betsy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holland, Belgium
Posts: 326
With every DVD I rip, Megui is always crashing upon analyzing the source for interlacing. Stable or Development version, doesn't matter. What has become of this once great tool ?
Betsy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2018, 08:46   #6582  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,650
Details please... does a log file exist where at least a hint of the analysis can be read? Is there anything to tell about the kind of crash? (Yes, different crash types do exist.) Is there possibly even an AviSynth script of the analysis step left over one could inspect and possibly even check with AVSMeter (if the same avisynth.dll and plugins selection can be configured)?
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 19:42   #6583  |  Link
rhaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 114
I can confirm I get same issue with megui x64 when indexing a dvd vob (that has interlaced source) and as soon as you tick 'Deinterlace' checkbox it crash. Tried this for dozens DVDs, happening for quite long now, never reported it because I would just switch to x32 version to rip old interlaced DVDs and newer ones with no interlace at x64 because I get like x2 more fps/speed.

avs scripts are basic defaults generated by the tool.

Log example (exp. 1 week)

maybe yadif.dll not supporting version or something, because when you tick the checkbox default filter loaded is yadif? I don't know.

Last edited by rhaz; 15th November 2018 at 19:53.
rhaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 20:40   #6584  |  Link
locotus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhaz View Post
I can confirm I get same issue with megui x64 when indexing a dvd vob (that has interlaced source) and as soon as you tick 'Deinterlace' checkbox it crash. Tried this for dozens DVDs, happening for quite long now, never reported it because I would just switch to x32 version to rip old interlaced DVDs and newer ones with no interlace at x64 because I get like x2 more fps/speed.

avs scripts are basic defaults generated by the tool.

Log example (exp. 1 week)

maybe yadif.dll not supporting version or something, because when you tick the checkbox default filter loaded is yadif? I don't know.
Why don't you run megui interlace check and let it to set the
proper de-interlacer or de-telecine with the proper settings?
locotus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 09:14   #6585  |  Link
rhaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 114
Don't know how to do this.
rhaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 16:55   #6586  |  Link
locotus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
Open ifo file of your movie with file indexer, when done you find the interlece check in filters, deinterlacing, just click analyse.
locotus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 19:31   #6587  |  Link
rhaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 114
Okay, that works. It selects yadif anyway, so why I can't select yadif myself without crashing? It's a bug?

Anyway, encoding won't work, it crashes with "Process exits with error: 0xC0000005 STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION (-1073741819)"
rhaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 23:22   #6588  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,650
Well, that sounds like the yadif DLL has issues.

But yes, you should be able to select any other deinterlacer instead, e.g. TDeint. Manually. After the automatic detection suggested some.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 19:07   #6589  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by dissory View Post
@Zathor

There is a bug when transcoding DTS-HD or TrueHD audio (maybe others as well) in a mkv to another format using One-Click. It extracts the core stream and transcodes that instead of extracting and using the lossless audio stream.
It depends on what you are going to do. If you transcode into a lossless file (flac), it will use the full one, if you transcode to anything else with maximum number of channels <= the core stream, that one will be used.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 19:17   #6590  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetti View Post
FFmpeg v4.1 is released.
Thanks, uploaded
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 19:34   #6591  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betsy25 View Post
With every DVD I rip, Megui is always crashing upon analyzing the source for interlacing. Stable or Development version, doesn't matter. What has become of this once great tool ?
More details please (log file, ...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhaz View Post
I can confirm I get same issue with megui x64 when indexing a dvd vob (that has interlaced source) and as soon as you tick 'Deinterlace' checkbox it crash. [..]
maybe yadif.dll not supporting version or something, because when you tick the checkbox default filter loaded is yadif? I don't know.
Sadly I am not able to reproduce it. Do you mind to share a short source file?
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 19:46   #6592  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by AOmundson View Post
Hey, I'm trying to encode from a 10-bit source, but every time I do I get this error. I haven't ever encountered this error before when encoding from 10-bit video, and am wondering if anyone has any tips on how to solve it.
Thanks for the report, will be fixed in the next build.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:41   #6593  |  Link
dissory
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
It depends on what you are going to do. If you transcode into a lossless file (flac), it will use the full one, if you transcode to anything else with maximum number of channels <= the core stream, that one will be used.
Is there any reason why it even uses the lossy core at all? I don't think anyone would want a lossy to lossy transcode when the lossless track is available.

I'm attempting to transcode DTS-HD 2 channel to AAC 2 channel and I would expect it to use the lossless stream yet it uses the core. Is it possible to add an option or a way to force MeGUI to transcode to a lossy file from only the lossless stream not the core regardless of channel count?
dissory is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.