Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th September 2014, 19:07   #41  |  Link
Volfield
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Zachs can you add support for XySubFilter?
Volfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2014, 01:32   #42  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
Thanks Zachs, that's exactly what the error from. Now I can use your player on playing back of video files, except for .wmv files, which generate another error.
Tbh I have not tested it with wmv files but I'll have a look. Does anyone know if Lav filters support the format?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volfield View Post
Zachs can you add support for XySubFilter?
That was my first choice when I looked into adding subtitle support but it crashed. So I had to do with vsfilter instead for the moment. This is definitely on my todo list.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2014, 05:28   #43  |  Link
romulous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
Tbh I have not tested it with wmv files but I'll have a look. Does anyone know if Lav filters support the format?
It does, but not by default. With LAV Splitter, you have to enable the Windows Media checkbox when you run the LAV installer. With LAV Audio, wma audio is disabled by default, but you can open the filter properties and enable it. With LAV Video, I believe all wmv (VC1 etc) is enabled by default.
romulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2014, 08:52   #44  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,917
The default was changed quite some time ago, and Windows Media is now enabled by default in the installer.
Audio is indeed still disabled as the Microsoft decoder does a better job sometimes.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2014, 18:40   #45  |  Link
BetA13
Guru3D
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 121
quote:
Proper support for 10-bit (high bit-depth) output

how can i check if this is working?
i enabled it in the options menue and everything works....no error...
But how can i check the output? (ctrl - j) doesnt show it?!?!?

greetz

edit:
using an Nvidia GTX670 here...(win. 7 64bit)
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2014, 19:43   #46  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,134
the current version tries to do it with direct x 9 this should not work
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 04:37   #47  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,567
This player looks very nice!
For quite some time I am dreaming of MPC-BE fork that will have all the unneeded stuff (decoders, splitters, dxva, renderers, web interface, subtitle engine...) stripped and will be hardcoded to use madvr, xysubfilter and external LAV filters. Basically what can be called madvr+lav+xy gui. Interestingly enough, even though MPDN doesn't uses the original madvr, it pretty much fits my definition of a good modern lightweight player. So I might switch to it to play all my videos once it'll have xysubfilter support and some more usability options like chapter selection, keys rebinding (default mpc-like binds sux) and fixed window size during loading new files ("auto-zoom" in MPC)

Last edited by Keiyakusha; 15th September 2014 at 04:39.
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 05:42   #48  |  Link
edison
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 95
you can not do 10-bit scan-out in D3D9 with NVIDIA GTX 560, because 10-bit surface is not a forced standard in D3D9, you should use D3D10+.

Last edited by edison; 15th September 2014 at 05:45.
edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 07:44   #49  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,670
Yes a few others have mentioned the same. I'm going to drop support for d3d9 GPUs in the next version and only target ones that support d3d10.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 07:47   #50  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
Hi,

Could you add an option to hide/show the Menus ?
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 08:00   #51  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,670
Will do.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 11:37   #52  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
Yes a few others have mentioned the same. I'm going to drop support for d3d9 GPUs in the next version and only target ones that support d3d10.
So no DXVA decoding/deinterlacing? Or does LAV already support DXVA for DX10/11?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 11:40   #53  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,917
You can do deinterlacing just fine, its independent of what the decoder does.
You're right however that it might make DXVA2-Native decoding break for now.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 12:38   #54  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,670
Dxva cb will still work too. I never supported dxva native to begin with anyway. Is there much to gain from dxva native decoding?
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 13:04   #55  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,134
you spare the a copyback/upload so it is a little bit faster.

maybe a problem for weaker GPU but you can't really notice a difference with mid-high end gpus.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 13:12   #56  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,917
AMD generations older than 7xxx were very slow with copyback. They might still be able to do copyback 1080p24/1080i60, but just barely, IIRC. Personally, I'm not a big fan of DXVA decoding, anyway, but it seems to be important for some users.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 18:55   #57  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 397
I wonder if dithering methods in MPDN are similar to madVR, since madVR's dithering cost a lot more GPU power.
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 20:02   #58  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,917
Which dithering option did you choose in madVR? And did you enable the related "trade quality for performance" option? And did you disable smooth motion FRC? FWIW, madVR uses a rather advanced version of ordered dithering. I don't know what MPDN is doing. It's probably a simpler implementation.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 22:10   #59  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 397
Usually I'm using ordered dithering with madVR. I have tried more advanced algorithm, yet cannot get normal playback due to the weak gpu I had.
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 22:28   #60  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,917
Yes, but the ordered dithering algorithm in madVR is more advanced than what e.g. LAV does, or probably also what MPDN does. What is more, madVR's ordered dithering also by default (unless you enable that "trade quality" option) runs in linear light instead of gamma light. And if you enable smooth motion FRC, it has to dither many more frames than otherwise. So unless you level the playing field, it would not be fair to compare the rendering performance of madVR and MPDN. So you should at least enable that "trade quality" option and disable smooth motion FRC. And even then madVR still probably does more work because madVR's ordered dithering mask is probably bigger than MPDN's. I can't say the latter for sure, though, because I don't know what MPDN does exactly.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct3d, mpdn, nnedi3, opencl, reclock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.