Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th January 2018, 14:11   #14581  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
MkvMerge simply stretches/compresses the timecodes. In the end you either have all frames slightly overlapping with each other or tiny gaps between all of them. Players may react badly to this so I don't recommend it. Better to change video fps in case re-encoding is not desired.
100% agree
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2018, 19:57   #14582  |  Link
AlvoErrado2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Thank's all for your answers!!

I understood what I need to do, thank you one more time.
AlvoErrado2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2018, 23:43   #14583  |  Link
Eseninzhiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
can extract Dolby Atmos master file (.atmos) with eac3to from an audio file Dolby Atmos/TrueHD Audio (BluRay)?
Eseninzhiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2018, 23:51   #14584  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,075
AFAIK, eac3to can only safely skip Atmos metadata.
__________________

German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2018, 21:53   #14585  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,300
Last 5 post moved to Create Dolby Atmos thread.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2018, 00:00   #14586  |  Link
Sakura-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshi View Post
Sorry I can't resist: maybe we should have asked Kurt Gödel while he was still around. It might be lossless but we will never be able to prove it since the source is unknown and will be forever.

I start to wonder how lossless my rips I thought they were, actually are.

Gives the same message for "Jurassic World" as well. Since I'm paranoid now, I let decode the same DTS-HD MA track twice to FLAC in one run (dcaDec & Arcsoft) and compare if the FLAC matches.

The FLACs match despite the XLL-warning. Really lossless? Well ...
Sorry if I'm beating a dead horse here...

But I'd want to be 101% doubt free. Is DTS-HD MA decoding (for all channels and bit depths) *really* lossless?

I've seen the tired "libDcaDec reported the warning "XLL output not lossless"." since the start of times for every single DTS-HD MA track I converted. Looking for old posts it all points to it indeed being lossless.

And another thing. On the libDcaDec page it says
Quote:
This program is deprecated!

This decoder has been fully integrated into FFmpeg master branch and further development will continue there. Using FFmpeg for DTS decoding is now recommended.
Why is eac3to still using it instead ffmpeg? On the other hand if libDcaDec is indeed bit perfect it's kinda a moot point.

Last edited by Sakura-chan; 1st February 2018 at 00:02.
Sakura-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2018, 08:32   #14587  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,075
The state of libDcaDec as a separate project with separate source repository may be deprecated. But its development continues inside the ffmpeg project. So if eac3to reports to use libDcaDec, it does not explain explicitly that this may mean "libDcaDec as developed further as a part of ffmpeg".
__________________

German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2018, 13:25   #14588  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,842
eac3to still uses the deprecated, separate library. (Similar with Aften AC3 encoding.)
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.