Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th March 2009, 04:17   #301  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
gpD3D->GetAdapterCount() returns the number of video adapters in the machine.
gpD3D->GetAdapterIdentifier() fills out a D3DADAPTER_IDENTIFIER9 struct for a specific adapter.
cuD3D9GetDevice checks if a given device supports CUDA.
Basically the code iterates through each video adapter in the system until it finds one that supports CUDA. Then uses the given adapter number as the first parameter when calling gpD3D->CreateDevice instead of D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT.
squid_80 is offline  
Old 14th March 2009, 04:51   #302  |  Link
tomos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
I doubt it will work as a secondary. You'd have to ask Nvidia or try it for a definitive answer.
might end up trying it. could always make it pri if needs be i guess
tomos is offline  
Old 14th March 2009, 15:52   #303  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by squid_80 View Post
Then uses the given adapter number as the first parameter when calling gpD3D->CreateDevice instead of D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT.
Are you saying you KNOW that this will allow using an Nvidia card as a secondary adapter with my NV tools? Or are you suggesting it as something to try?
Guest is offline  
Old 14th March 2009, 15:56   #304  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomos View Post
might end up trying it. could always make it pri if needs be i guess
If you like, I'll work with you to try to get it working, assuming squid_80's idea works.
Guest is offline  
Old 14th March 2009, 22:39   #305  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Are you saying you KNOW that this will allow using an Nvidia card as a secondary adapter with my NV tools? Or are you suggesting it as something to try?
I can't confirm that exact code will work as designed, since I can't test the "find first CUDA capable card" loop properly - my last ATI card fried 18 months ago and all my Nvidia cards are CUDA capable, so it always exits with adapter=0. But I have tested passing the adapter no. of a secondary Nvidia card to CreateDevice and it works.
squid_80 is offline  
Old 15th March 2009, 00:26   #306  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
OK, thank you. It seems at least worth trying. I need someone with dual adapters to step up for testing.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th March 2009, 07:29   #307  |  Link
tomos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
If you like, I'll work with you to try to get it working, assuming squid_80's idea works.
thanks

will be a few weeks till i get an nvidia card though. sorry. only one i have at the mo is an old 6800gt and i doubt it will work with CUDA
tomos is offline  
Old 15th March 2009, 16:57   #308  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
OK, ping me when you are ready to go. This could pull ATI users into the fold.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th March 2009, 22:13   #309  |  Link
tomos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 534
screw it, i just ordered a gts250. think it's like a 9800 or thereabouts. will hopefully get it tues/wed time. it's going to be on vista x64. will update once it's installed
tomos is offline  
Old 16th March 2009, 02:33   #310  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Send me a PM when you are ready, as I will need to send you a special build. Thank you for your willingness to help.
Guest is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 02:51   #311  |  Link
~bT~
н∂-ƒαиαтι¢
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,005
i have two cards in sli. i can try maybe?
~bT~ is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 03:06   #312  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
OK, I'll add the code from squid_80 and make a binary available.

How does that SLI stuff work? Is there still a primary adapter?
Guest is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 03:13   #313  |  Link
~bT~
н∂-ƒαиαтι¢
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,005
^ errrmm...no idea.. sorry.
~bT~ is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 10:37   #314  |  Link
Leak
ffdshow/AviSynth wrangler
 
Leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 2,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
How does that SLI stuff work? Is there still a primary adapter?
If it's anything like ATI's Crossfire you'll have two separate adapters and an option somewhere in the driver to link them, at which point the second adapter disappears from a program's point of view.
__________________
now playing: [artist] - [track] ([album])
Leak is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 10:51   #315  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
It won't be a very good test for the code I posted anyway since even if they exist as 2 separate devices they will both be CUDA capable.
squid_80 is offline  
Old 20th March 2009, 13:07   #316  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by squid_80 View Post
It won't be a very good test for the code I posted anyway since even if they exist as 2 separate devices they will both be CUDA capable.
But I can make the code ignore the first one just for testing.
Guest is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 08:00   #317  |  Link
crasus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 60
neuron2, just a small question. I have the nvcuvid.dll that came with the latest nVidia drivers & CoreAVC Pro in system32 and your version in the program directory.

Considering that MPC-HC is set up to use the CoreAVC Pro CUDA function, can I run a x264 encode with DGVC1DecNV's avs function while watching a movie in MPC-HC?

Last edited by crasus; 31st March 2009 at 08:10.
crasus is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 14:07   #318  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
I don't recommend it. If you do it, I take no responsibility for what happens.
Guest is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 15:59   #319  |  Link
crasus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 60
Thanks for the reply, neuron2! As I'm curious, do you have any ideea to what might happen?

Last edited by crasus; 31st March 2009 at 16:03.
crasus is offline  
Old 31st March 2009, 16:09   #320  |  Link
laserfan
Aging Video Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Off the Map
Posts: 2,461
Lessee, your movie playback fails 90% in, and you have a crowd of people in your HT. At the same time the encoding that's been cranking-away for 16 hours and counting craps-out and you have to start over. Why risk it?
laserfan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.