Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th January 2008, 09:10   #1401  |  Link
check
phjbdpcrjlj2sb3h
 
check's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,692
duckdown: post your log, and use one of the included xvid profiles if you are unsure of what settings to use.
check is offline  
Old 10th January 2008, 20:28   #1402  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,356
If you use the percentage profiles it's very important to read up on them and understand how they work. MeGUI really needs basic no-effort profiles since it's obvious that the integration to find the best profile isn't going to happen anytime soon now.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline  
Old 12th January 2008, 16:29   #1403  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
I noticed that the NDACCLC-96kbps audio profile is too low on my ipod even with the "increase volume automatically" enabled. When I encode with StaxRip it is at least 15db louder. BTW: it is also low on my TV playing on my PopCorn Hour.
weaver4 is offline  
Old 13th January 2008, 00:31   #1404  |  Link
Poopoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 65
Hi, using the latest version I encounter a crash when using the 'One Click Encoder' mode.

Everything goes well as long as I don't remove the 2nd Audio Track tab.(One Click Encoder/Encoder Config) If I encode using the standard 2 audio track tabs, the audio gets muxed at twice the normal speed, and thus stops halfway the movie, If I rightclick the "Audio Track 2" tab and select remove, and then click Go!, it crashes...
Poopoo is offline  
Old 13th January 2008, 05:52   #1405  |  Link
dejected_is_me
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 18
one click encoder error (maybe mkvmerge error)

i did a one click job; extracted ifo on progresive source, heavy metal 2000. job went nice and i told it to split my 1.4 gig movie into two 700 mb movies. i got the first one perfect the second one was 7 mb and could not be rendered. i posted the relevent log enteries:

Log for job job5

Job commandline: "C:\Megui\tools\mkvmerge\MKVtoolnix\mkvmerge.exe" -o "F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\Mux\Heavy Metal 2000_-_x264 - 5.mkv" -A -S "F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\encodes\HM2000_Video.mkv" -a 1 -D -S "F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\encodes\HM2000 T02 3_2ch 448Kbps DELAY 0ms_audio.m4a" --chapters "F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\raws\VTS_01_PGC_01 - Chapter Information - OGG.txt" --split 700M --no-clusters-in-meta-seek
mkvmerge v2.1.0 ('Another Place To Fall') built on Aug 19 2007 13:39:56
'F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\encodes\HM2000_Video.mkv': Using the Matroska demultiplexer.
'F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\encodes\HM2000 T02 3_2ch 448Kbps DELAY 0ms_audio.m4a': Using the Quicktime/MP4 demultiplexer.
'F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\encodes\HM2000_Video.mkv' track 1: Using the MPEG-4 part 10 (AVC) video output module.
'F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\encodes\HM2000 T02 3_2ch 448Kbps DELAY 0ms_audio.m4a' track 1: Using the AAC output module.
The file 'F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\Mux\Heavy Metal 2000_-_x264 - 5-001.mkv' has been opened for writing.


The cue entries (the index) are being written...
The file 'F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\Mux\Heavy Metal 2000_-_x264 - 5-002.mkv' has been opened for writing.
Assertion failed: TimecodeDelay >= int16(0x8000) && TimecodeDelay <= int16(0x7FFF), file ../../src/KaxCluster.cpp, line 295

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.

------------------------------------------------------

Starting postprocessing of job...

Job completed successfully and deletion of intermediate files is activated

Found intermediate output file 'F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\encodes\HM2000_Video.mkv', deleting...
Deletion succeeded.

Found intermediate output file 'F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\encodes\HM2000 T02 3_2ch 448Kbps DELAY 0ms_audio.m4a', deleting...
Deletion succeeded.

Postprocessing finished!

End of log for job5
------------------------------------------------------
dejected_is_me is offline  
Old 13th January 2008, 09:25   #1406  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
@Poopoo: by using which build ? (dev or stable one ?)

@dejected_is_me: you should ask to Mosu for that...

Quote:
The cue entries (the index) are being written...
The file 'F:\DVD Encodes\Encodes\HM\Mux\Heavy Metal 2000_-_x264 - 5-002.mkv' has been opened for writing.
Assertion failed: TimecodeDelay >= int16(0x8000) && TimecodeDelay <= int16(0x7FFF), file ../../src/KaxCluster.cpp, line 295

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.
Kurtnoise is offline  
Old 13th January 2008, 12:41   #1407  |  Link
Poopoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
@Poopoo: by using which build ? (dev or stable one ?)
Hi Kurtnoise13,

I use version 0.2.6.1043.

Also, If I play the generated MP3 file with foobar2000, it also plays at double speed, so the problem must be in job 13 below:

Log for job job13

Input: Channels=2, BitsPerSample=16, SampleRate=48000Hz
Command line used: C:\Program Files\megui\tools\lame\lame.exe -b 128 --cbr -h --silent - "D:\My DVDs\Kyoto\Kyoto T01 2_0ch 224Kbps DELAY 0ms_audio.mp3"
------------------------------------------------------

Starting postprocessing of job...

Job completed successfully and deletion of intermediate files is activated

Postprocessing finished!

End of log for job13


EDIT : Seems like deselecting "Force decoding via DirectShow" and "Improve accuracy using...." have fixed the mp3 playing 3 times normal speed.

Still, there is the crash in "One Click Encoder" using only 1 audio track.

Last edited by Poopoo; 13th January 2008 at 19:36.
Poopoo is offline  
Old 13th January 2008, 17:56   #1408  |  Link
3r1c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 383
Just thought i would mention this weird bug...

If i connect to the pc running megui with remote desktop while megui is processing (eg x264) then disconnect the remote session, the next job will always fail with a strange error and nothing in the logs.

MeGUI encountered a fatal error and may not be able to proceed.
Reason: Error creating window handle.
3r1c is offline  
Old 20th January 2008, 05:09   #1409  |  Link
inman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
I am using MeGUI 0.2.6.1042. I need to mux an MP4 audio with x264 video. The problem is the delay value has to be 35268ms. MeGUI doesn't allow delay to be greater than 10000ms while muxing.

Any solution to this?
inman is offline  
Old 20th January 2008, 05:21   #1410  |  Link
check
phjbdpcrjlj2sb3h
 
check's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,692
just use mp4box by itself. There's a standalone GUI in the form of YAMB. google should find both, but kurnoise bundles them together.
check is offline  
Old 20th January 2008, 09:34   #1411  |  Link
inman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Tried MP4Box in both commandline and YAMB. The delay isn't working. And it looks like I am not the only one having this issue. I saw someone mentioning it might be an issue with Haali Media Splitter skipping the delay part or something.

Any other MP4 muxing software that supports delay?
inman is offline  
Old 20th January 2008, 09:48   #1412  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
35+ seconds is not a delay imo but more or less an issue with your stream...
Kurtnoise is offline  
Old 20th January 2008, 11:30   #1413  |  Link
inman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
35+ seconds is not a delay imo but more or less an issue with your stream...
Yea I know it is a very abnormal value for a delay. But that is how I get the stream.

Anyway I found a solution to this. I used a program called Delaycut to correct the delay in the AC3 file itself. Then encoded it to MP4 with MeGUI, muxed it and now everything is fine.
inman is offline  
Old 21st January 2008, 01:47   #1414  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
the DVD was badly ripped (possibly due a copy protection). use a proper program to rip it (ripit4me, dvdfab HD decrypter...)
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 30th January 2008, 06:40   #1415  |  Link
spotter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 250
I'm trying to encode Ratatouille with MeGUI and the audio and video are out of sync.

It seems that there are a few seconds of extra black frames of video that are not in the VOBs (namely the disney logo comes up 1-2s into watching the DVD, but 3-4s when watching the generated h264 file).

any ideas?
spotter is offline  
Old 30th January 2008, 07:37   #1416  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 810
Quote:
Originally Posted by spotter View Post
I'm trying to encode Ratatouille with MeGUI and the audio and video are out of sync.

It seems that there are a few seconds of extra black frames of video that are not in the VOBs (namely the disney logo comes up 1-2s into watching the DVD, but 3-4s when watching the generated h264 file).

any ideas?
Nothing for MeGui to worry about .
Decrypt it with another Decrypter.
By the way: DVD or BD Version?
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...ht=Ratatouille
Taurus is offline  
Old 12th February 2008, 12:41   #1417  |  Link
donnyj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21
I can't find subq, agh....

I have searched around in MeGUI for an hour now... When doing a search for "subq" in the .xml profiles, I can't find any reference there either.... I've also tried searching this thread... (I mention all this to say that I tried to RTFM and put effort into finding before asking)

I'm probably just blind...

When setting codec to x264, is there a way to adjust subq (besides using the custom commandline options box)?

If not, what is the default?
donnyj is offline  
Old 12th February 2008, 14:23   #1418  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
subq? what are you talking about?
maybe "subme" (referenced as Subpixel Refinement in the profile config window)...
Sharktooth is offline  
Old 12th February 2008, 14:42   #1419  |  Link
donnyj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
subq? what are you talking about?
maybe "subme" (referenced as Subpixel Refinement in the profile config window)...
I am sorry, I got the option confused because in MEncoder the same option is "subq"

"subq=<1−8> subpel refinement quality (for qpel) (default: 8 (high quality))"

Except the range appears to be 1-7 instead of 1-8 ???

I am asking this because I wanted to change to 6 as per: "Options which primarily affect speed and quality"

Donny

Last edited by donnyj; 12th February 2008 at 14:48. Reason: clarification and corrections
donnyj is offline  
Old 12th February 2008, 16:38   #1420  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
the list of modes are described in MeGUI's "Subpixel refinement" dropdown in the profile configuration.
from subme=1 to subme=5 there are no RD optimizations. submne=6 and 7 use RDO. the b-rdo (RDO for b-frames) option requires subme>=6 (this may be the subq=8 in mencoder).
Sharktooth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.