Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th August 2013, 09:16   #19881  |  Link
nonob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Thanks for your quick replie
nonob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 16:08   #19882  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,131
Does a gtx 650 Ti makes any difference over a gtx 650 for madVR ?
__________________
Windows 10 1809 x64, HD7790 Adrenalin 2019 Edition 19.1.2, HDMI Full RGB 4:4:4
Mercury_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 16:24   #19883  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,168
GTX 650: GK107 (384CUDA, 32TMUs, 16ROPs), 1058/5000MHz, GDDR5, 128bit, 812.54GFLOPS
GTX 650 Ti: GK106 (768CUDA, 64TMUs, 16ROPs), 928/5400MHz, GDDR5, 128bit, 1425.41GFLOPS

I will choose 650 Ti without any hesitation.
wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 17:17   #19884  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanezhiling View Post
GTX 650: GK107 (384CUDA, 32TMUs, 16ROPs), 1058/5000MHz, GDDR5, 128bit, 812.54GFLOPS
GTX 650 Ti: GK106 (768CUDA, 64TMUs, 16ROPs), 928/5400MHz, GDDR5, 128bit, 1425.41GFLOPS

I will choose 650 Ti without any hesitation.
Thanks for your answer.
So you're saying that for madvr the difference will be obvious ?

P.S. I'm interested if it's a difference only from madVR's standpoint, not for other apps / programs (e.g. gaming)
__________________
Windows 10 1809 x64, HD7790 Adrenalin 2019 Edition 19.1.2, HDMI Full RGB 4:4:4
Mercury_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 17:36   #19885  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercury_22 View Post
So you're saying that for madvr the difference will be obvious ?
I think so.

768 VS 384
already enough
wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 17:47   #19886  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,462
There were some test results posted earlier and the 650Ti is barely fast enough for 60fps 720p or 1440*1080 to 1080p using Jinc3AR for both chroma & luma IIRC, and there's always the possibility that madshi would come up with an even more demanding scaler than Jinc. Of course if you can make do with a less power hungry scaler, then the 650 will more than likely be OK. I think a good buy would be the 650Ti Boost(essentially a slightly slower 660) but it's more or less selling for the price of the 660(at least in Europe). I've seen the Asus 660 selling for 145€ shipped, it's dead silent.....I'm currently waiting for the sale to be renewed so I can pull the trigger
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 17:54   #19887  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,131
Thanks for your help guys ! My main "problem" is if gtx 650Ti it's worth to give up of a passive cooled card (= gtx650), I mean do I get an increase in PQ worth that ?


P.S. Taking in consideration usual usage = Blu-ray or 720@29->1080 at most Cause let's face it 60fps it's just for testing or some "exotic" encodes
__________________
Windows 10 1809 x64, HD7790 Adrenalin 2019 Edition 19.1.2, HDMI Full RGB 4:4:4

Last edited by Mercury_22; 19th August 2013 at 18:01.
Mercury_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 18:02   #19888  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,462
Well, 29.97@59.94fps deinterlaced 1440*1080 and the 650Ti will stutter with J3AR.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 18:07   #19889  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
Well, 29.97@59.94fps deinterlaced 1440*1080 and the 650Ti will stutter with J3AR.
Ouch Can't remember that happening with my HD7770 Well thanks for the info !
__________________
Windows 10 1809 x64, HD7790 Adrenalin 2019 Edition 19.1.2, HDMI Full RGB 4:4:4
Mercury_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 18:34   #19890  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
If a card can do 1440x1080i with the settings you want it should be fine for all other situations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercury_22 View Post
P.S. Taking in consideration usual usage = Blu-ray or 720@29->1080 at most Cause let's face it 60fps it's just for testing or some "exotic" encodes
It always annoys me that internet releases are so rarely 50 or 60 fps. A show that I download (not on TV in the UK) is shot at 1080i/30, yet all encodes I have except one are 720p/30. One is 720p/60 and is the same file size as all the others - it looks great and doesn't suffer any additional artefacting or anything. So why not use it all the time?
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 19:21   #19891  |  Link
Yvese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by webs0r View Post
I would run at 120 Hz and turn smooth motion off. No benefit to smooth motion in madVR when the refresh rate is an exact multiple of the source; it should be perfect for you already.

If judder persists in this case it must be the source.
Yea it's off at 120hz.

Not sure why it's still juddering really. A lot of the anime I watch is 720/1080p 10-bit so maybe that has something to do with it?

If anyone else here watches anime, I use Durarara!!'s first ED to test the juddering. At 120hz it's really bad. However, if I enable display mode switching to 60hz with smooth motion on, the judder is reduced.

I'm stumped
Yvese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 19:26   #19892  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yvese View Post
Yea it's off at 120hz.

Not sure why it's still juddering really. A lot of the anime I watch is 720/1080p 10-bit so maybe that has something to do with it?

If anyone else here watches anime, I use Durarara!!'s first ED to test the juddering. At 120hz it's really bad. However, if I enable display mode switching to 60hz with smooth motion on, the judder is reduced.

I'm stumped
If you post a sample then I can test it on my 120Hz monitor and see if I can reproduce the issue.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 21:22   #19893  |  Link
Yvese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansrfe View Post
If you post a sample then I can test it on my 120Hz monitor and see if I can reproduce the issue.
I don't know how to properly encode so I found a raw and uploaded it to RS: http://rapidshare.com/files/1673097862/%5BRUELL-Raws%5D%20DURARARA!!%20NCED1%20(BD%201920x1080%20x264%20FLAC).mkv


Hopefully the link works.
Yvese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 21:36   #19894  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yvese View Post
I don't know how to properly encode so I found a raw and uploaded it to RS: http://rapidshare.com/files/1673097862/%5BRUELL-Raws%5D%20DURARARA!!%20NCED1%20(BD%201920x1080%20x264%20FLAC).mkv
What do you mean by you "found a raw" and where did you find it?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2013, 21:46   #19895  |  Link
Yvese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
What do you mean by you "found a raw" and where did you find it?
Raw means it has no subs and not encoded to a lower size.

As for where I found it - torrent which is where most anime is found since very few get dubbed and we have to rely on fansubbers to view them.

Was I not supposed to post that?
Yvese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2013, 00:20   #19896  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yvese View Post
Raw means it has no subs and not encoded to a lower size.

As for where I found it - torrent which is where most anime is found since very few get dubbed and we have to rely on fansubbers to view them.

Was I not supposed to post that?
That's correct. You cannot discuss torrent downloads here. Read the forum rules. If you do it again, you will get strikes.

@all

No help to be given for this issue.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2013, 07:05   #19897  |  Link
tschi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by tschi View Post
hi,
I have a A/V receiver (denon 4311) with two HDMI outputs (TV, Videoprojector) linked to ATI 5770 graphics cards (hdmi ->hdmi) .
madVR can not detect which device is used (I guess it's a normal situation). is there a way to switch between several devices (I don't see any shortcut). I can create a new device in preferences but I can not tell to madVR to use it. I would like to use different PC/TV levels and 3dlut for each display linked to AV Receiver.

Thanks !
Ok, I found the "Output device" tab in order to switch between device
Anyway, is it possible to add the a keyboard shortcut to switch easily ?
Thanks.
tschi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2013, 22:04   #19898  |  Link
Plutotype
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 234
Just tested Intel HD4000 and a I5-3427U ( Ultrabook ) and everything went ok beside one thing: seeking in the timeline with smooth motion on ( 24fps @60hz ) leads to frame repeats and flickering.
Latest madVR/MPC-HC (LAV), Reclock and Intel HD Graphics 15.31.17.3257. Will test HD4400 in a couple of weeks. Nothing crucial, but AMD5670 works without any similar issues.
__________________
__________________
System: Intel Core i5-6500, 8GB RAM, GTX960/GTX1060, 55" Sony Bravia KDL-55HX850 @ 1920x1080 24p, Yamaha YSR-1100 surround bar
Setup: Win7/Win10 Pro, madvr/JRiver 24
Plutotype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2013, 22:45   #19899  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutotype View Post
Just tested Intel HD4000 and a I5-3427U ( Ultrabook ) and everything went ok beside one thing: seeking in the timeline with smooth motion on ( 24fps @60hz ) leads to frame repeats and flickering.
Make sure you have the "use a separate device for presentation" option on.
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2013, 00:03   #19900  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,168
Not so sure that would be the cause, I disable 'use a separate device' on my HD Graphics 4000 & 3000 and and have never had that problem, sounds more like the queue sizes should be increased.

Last edited by ryrynz; 21st August 2013 at 00:05.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.