Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th November 2008, 21:16   #7201  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
With gdsmux, when I use the 1st file from Die Another Day (00130.m2ts [H.264] - Blu-ray is seamlessly branched) and I have all the tracks checked, gdsmux goes from 0-100% but the output mkv file size is 4,325,376 bytes.
Sorry, mate, but this is a problem which is obviously not related in any way to eac3to. It seems that something with your Haali installation is broken. Can't help you with that, unfortunately...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2008, 21:16   #7202  |  Link
survivant001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 449
what that means ?

eac3to v2.79
command line: "D:\DVD-tools\RipBot264v1.11.5\Tools\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "F:\Batman-7.ts" 2:"C:\temp\RipBot264temp\job3\audio.1.mp2" -progressnumbers
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TRP, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks
1: MPEG2, 704x480 60i /1.001 (4:3)
2: MP2, 2.0 channels, 160kbps, 48khz, -226ms
3: MP2, 2.0 channels, 160kbps, 48khz, 15038ms
[a02] Extracting audio track number 2...
[a02] Applying MPx delay...
[a02] Creating file "C:\temp\RipBot264temp\job3\audio.1.mp2"...
[a02] This track is not clean. Processing aborted.
[a02] Please clean the track with delaycut and then retry eac3to.
Aborted at file position 303874048.

how can I fix that ?
survivant001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2008, 21:32   #7203  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Sorry, mate, but this is a problem which is obviously not related in any way to eac3to. It seems that something with your Haali installation is broken. Can't help you with that, unfortunately...
How about internal matroska read/write support?
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2008, 23:22   #7204  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by survivant001 View Post
what that means ?

[a02] This track is not clean. Processing aborted.

how can I fix that ?
That means that your source file is probably damaged/corrupt. eac3to currently doesn't handle such files well. You'll have to use a different tool for extracting the video/audio tracks from this TS file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
How about internal matroska read/write support?
So many other important things to do first...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2008, 23:32   #7205  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,914
For those interested, the eac3to (SSRC) resampling graphs are now online here:

http://src.infinitewave.ca

As far as I can see, eac3to belongs into the top group of steep resamplers. It's intentionally not as steep as the original SSRC algorithm, but still belongs to the steepest algorithms in the comparison. However, if you are willing to sacrifice high frequency response and if you don't mind some aliasing artifacts, there are other resamplers which have noticeably less ringing. I've learned that there's not one "best" resampler. Going steeper gives you get better high frequency response, but you buy it with stronger ringing. So the "best" resampling algorithm/parameters depend on the material and also on your taste...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 00:52   #7206  |  Link
survivant001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 449
@madshi

2.79 works with my file that I tried to convert, but I'm not able to extract the audio track from this file : (10 megs)

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=f...db6fb9a8902bda

still a cartoon reordered from my FTA.

here the info from mediainfo


General
Complete name : D:\DVD-convertion\done\Batman-5.TSSplit.1-57.ts
Format : MPEG-TS
Format profile : No PAT/PMT
File size : 10.0 MiB
Duration : 1mn 18s
Overall bit rate : 1 067 Kbps

Video
ID : 6690 (0x1A22)
Format : MPEG Video
Format version : Version 2
Format profile : Main@Main
Format settings, Matrix : Default
Duration : 1mn 18s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 705 Kbps
Nominal bit rate : 809 Kbps
Width : 704 pixels
Height : 480 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 4/3
Frame rate : 29.970 fps
Colorimetry : 4:2:0
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.080

Audio #1
ID : 6691 (0x1A23)
Format : MPEG Audio
Format version : Version 1
Format profile : Layer 2
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 160 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Resolution : 16 bits
Video delay : -742ms

Audio #2
ID : 6692 (0x1A24)
Format : MPEG Audio
Format version : Version 1
Format profile : Layer 2
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 160 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Resolution : 16 bits
Video delay : -742ms
survivant001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 00:53   #7207  |  Link
survivant001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
That means that your source file is probably damaged/corrupt. eac3to currently doesn't handle such files well. You'll have to use a different tool for extracting the video/audio tracks from this TS file.


So many other important things to do first...
can you suggest me a tool that can do that ?

do you think you can add where the audio track failed ? like 341megs : 23:34.112

like that I could just split my movie.. and convert before and after that time.

Last edited by survivant001; 1st December 2008 at 01:05.
survivant001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 09:00   #7208  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by survivant001 View Post
can you suggest me a tool that can do that ?
You can use TsRemux or tsMuxeR to do the demuxing/extracting. Then you can run the audio track(s) through delaycut to fix them. Finally, if there's any other audio processing, you can then use eac3to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by survivant001 View Post
do you think you can add where the audio track failed ? like 341megs : 23:34.112
It's already there: "Aborted at file position 303874048."

So the problem is somewhere around 303874048 bytes (probably a few bytes before that).
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 21:37   #7209  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Madshi (or anyone else knowledgeable in these matters), i have a Japanese LCPM 2.0 sound track (Macross Frontier, Blu-Ray), which I'd like to convert to DTS 1.5 Mb/s, if possible. I have SurCode 1.0.29. But when I run eac3to, like this:

eac3to 00002.m2ts 3: c:\video\mf4.dts

Then eac3to starts to create two wav files (for left and right, it seems). Not quite what I was looking for. Am I missing something? I've done a lot of DTS decoding, just never encoding.

Thanks
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 21:39   #7210  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
It's simple, your source track is 2.0 only. Thus the DTS will be stereo.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 22:21   #7211  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
It's simple, your source track is 2.0 only. Thus the DTS will be stereo.
Thanks. I see the two wavs were just an intermediary state, prior to Surcode starting.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 22:49   #7212  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
Oh, your question had to do with the existence of the wav files, not the number of them...

Yes, surcode needs to be fed with mono wav files.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2008, 23:45   #7213  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Hmm, on my Vmware box I now get the following:

command line: eac3to 00002.m2ts 3: c:\video\mf2.dts -1536
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 1:12:28
1: Chapters, 7 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: RAW/PCM, Japanese, 2.0 channels, 16 bits, 48khz
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] Reading RAW/PCM...
[a03] Swapping endian...
[a03] Writing WAVs...
[a03] Creating file "c:\video\mf2.R.wav"...
[a03] Creating file "c:\video\mf2.L.wav"...
[a03] The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 16 bits.
Encoding DTS <1536kbps> with Surcode...
Found Surcode DTS Encoder version 1.0.29.0.
Surcode says/asks: "At least one valid source file must be specified to encode.".
Pressing the Surcode "Encode" button didn't seem to work...
Closing Surcode...

The eac3to FAQ says: "Surcode doesn't like long filenames/paths. Change them and you 'll be ok." I don't see any long filenames, though. Anyone else has any idea?

Thanks
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 00:07   #7214  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
It should be the vmware. Surcode is generally a strange application.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 00:51   #7215  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
i have a Japanese LCPM 2.0 sound track (Macross Frontier, Blu-Ray), which I'd like to convert to DTS 1.5 Mb/s, if possible. I have SurCode 1.0.29. But when I run eac3to, like this:

eac3to 00002.m2ts 3: c:\video\mf4.dts

Then eac3to starts to create two wav files (for left and right, it seems). Not quite what I was looking for. Am I missing something? I've done a lot of DTS decoding, just never encoding.
Surcode only can make 5.0 or 5.1 encodes.

BTW, I can't understand why you need convert a lossless format:
LPCM 2.0 16 bit 48 KHz -> 48000 x 16 x 2 = 1536 Kb/s
to a lossy format:
DTS 2.0 1536 Kb/s

Use flac to less space or preserve LPCM
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 01:28   #7216  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Surcode only can make 5.0 or 5.1 encodes.

BTW, I can't understand why you need convert a lossless format:
LPCM 2.0 16 bit 48 KHz -> 48000 x 16 x 2 = 1536 Kb/s
to a lossy format:
DTS 2.0 1536 Kb/s
I don't have an HDMI 1.3 receiver (yet). So, since I'll be streaming this BD series to my PS3, using the optical out, I figured I wouldn't be able to do LPCM over the 'bitstream' channel. But now I'm not so sure anymore. it seems "LPCM 2.0 48Khz" is supported over optical. So maybe it's just 7.1 LPCM that needs to be done over HDMI per se? This warrants some tests.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!

Last edited by asarian; 2nd December 2008 at 01:33.
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 02:48   #7217  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
I don't have an HDMI 1.3 receiver (yet). So, since I'll be streaming this BD series to my PS3, using the optical out, I figured I wouldn't be able to do LPCM over the 'bitstream' channel. But now I'm not so sure anymore. it seems "LPCM 2.0 48Khz" is supported over optical. So maybe it's just 7.1 LPCM that needs to be done over HDMI per se?
Exact.
"LPCM 2.0 48Khz" is supported over optical.
7.1 LPCM needs to be done over HDMI.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 03:33   #7218  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,380
eac3to can't detect this FLAC track but madFLAC Source accepts it and is decoded fine with ffdshow.. well, apart from time issue.
http://www.stfcc.org/misc/departed.flac

Only thing I can do is make a graph of madFLAC Source -> ffdshow audio decoder -> Dump, then use eac3to to convert that PCM track to FLAC. :P

Last edited by Snowknight26; 2nd December 2008 at 09:04.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 09:13   #7219  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
eac3to can't detect this FLAC track but madFLAC Source accepts it and is decoded fine with ffdshow.. well, apart from time issue.
Will be fixed in the next build.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2008, 14:03   #7220  |  Link
shanghai2004
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 32
Issue with HD-DVD files

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
eac3to v2.79 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* improved m2ts file joining overlap detection (mainly for interlaced video)
* vob/evo audio delay detection now uses "vobu start presentation time"
* program streams which are neither VOB nor EVO are now reported as "MPG"
* resampling is now automatically activated for AC3/DTS encoding, if necessary
* "Mersenne Twister" random number generator is used for dithering now
* zero padded DTS tracks are now displayed as such
* fixed: 32bit PCM conversion to floating point was broken
* fixed: with some (rare) movies first subtitle began after 50 minutes runtime
* only plugins with the extension *.dll are loaded now

Madshi, seems somthing wrong now....

F:\Chicago\HVDVD_TS>c:\eac3to\eac3to hv001t01.evo+hv001t02.evo+hv001t03.evo+hv00
1t04.evo+hv001t05.evo+hv001t06.evo+hv001t07.evo+hv001t08.evo+hv001t09.evo+hv001t
10.evo+hv001t11.evo+hv001t12.evo+hv001t13.evo+hv001t14.evo+hv001t15.evo+hv001t16
.evo+hv001t17.evo+hv001t18.evo+hv001t19.evo+hv001t20.evo+hv001t21.evo+hv001t22.e
vo+hv001t23.evo+hv001t24.evo+hv001t25.evo+hv001t26.evo
EVO, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks, 1 subtitle track, 14:47:35
1: Joined EVO file
2: h264/AVC, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
3: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 894kbps, 48khz
(core: E-AC3, 5.1 channels, 3024kbps, 48khz)
4: E-AC3, 2.0 channels, 448kbps, 48khz
5: Subtitle

Wrong duration is listed and something seems to be wrong with the 5.1 track listing. When the files are processed, an endless list of 13ms audio overlaps are reported in the 5.1 track.

Tried eeac3to v2.79 and v2.78 with this result, same EVO files where processed before with older version of eac3to without problems (cannot remember what version though... if important I can check)
shanghai2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.