Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th October 2010, 14:41   #10621  |  Link
krosswindz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: kernel space
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Please read the new #8 DTS FAQ
Thanks for the detailed explanation.
krosswindz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 09:00   #10622  |  Link
_hawk_
BluRip author
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 215
I have a problem to grab the eac3to error output with C# - normal output works fine. Does any1 have an idea how to do this? Might it be possible to add a switch to eac3to to print errors on standard output?

Btw thanks for your great tool!
__________________
BluRip : 1-Click BluRay/m2ts to h264 mkv converter
http://code.google.com/p/blurip/
_hawk_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 10:12   #10623  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 498
Hi,

When downmixing 5.1 FLAC soundtracks to AC3 2.0, what is the optimal bitrate to go for? 192kbps? Or maybe higher?
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 11:13   #10624  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
When downmixing 5.1 FLAC soundtracks to AC3 2.0, what is the optimal bitrate to go for? 192kbps? Or maybe higher?
Is your choice, at least 192 like DVD tracks 2.0, but you can use 224 or 256 also.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 11:16   #10625  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 498
Is it ok to use the -normalize switch when converting to AC3, or is that not recommended?
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 12:00   #10626  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Is it ok to use the -normalize switch when converting to AC3, or is that not recommended?
Is recommended when downmix.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 12:42   #10627  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 498
Thank you!

Is 256kbps the maximum for 2 channel AC3?
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 13:57   #10628  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Is 256kbps the maximum for 2 channel AC3?
No, it's 640 (!).
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 14:29   #10629  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 498
I realised that 640 is the max for 5.1 AC3, but did not know that was also the max for 2.0 AC3.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 14:42   #10630  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
It's probably complete overkill. I think eac3to defaults to 448 for two channel AC3.

I've seen 640 2.0 AC3 occasionally on Blu-rays though.
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 14:56   #10631  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 498
As 640kbps equals 106.66kbps per channel for 5.1 AC3 and is considered transparent enough for most people, then for 2.0 I guess 224kbps should offer similar quality?
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 15:13   #10632  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
As 640kbps equals 106.66kbps per channel for 5.1 AC3 and is considered transparent enough for most people, then for 2.0 I guess 224kbps should offer similar quality?
Only if each channel is treated equally. I don't know how the bits are distributed so I'm not sure what the 2.0 equivalent would be. I suspect the front centre gets a good chunk of the allocation in a 5.1 stream, and the LFE gets very little.
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 16:49   #10633  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,472
OverSimplification:

640kbps / 5 = 128kbps per channel
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 18:30   #10634  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 498
So do not include lfe when working out? So with your method 2.0 AC3 256kbps is equivalent to 5.1 AC3 640kbps in terms of quality?
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 18:53   #10635  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,472
^

Quote:
So with your method 2.0 AC3 256kbps is equivalent to 5.1 AC3 640kbps in terms of quality?
YES ( or at least the theory says so ).
As TinTime said, the LFE channel consumes a very-very-low bitrate, and this is the reason why we say 5.1 and not simply 6-channel audio.
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 21:40   #10636  |  Link
flyingernst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Hi guys...I tink i am not the first how asks, but i didnīt find the answer: is it possible to demux only the forced captures of the PGS Subtitles of "Avatar"?! forced and normal are in the same pgs stream in this movie

Thanks, greetings, Michael
__________________
Popcorn Hour B-110
Onkyo TX-SR 805
flyingernst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 21:59   #10637  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
eac3to tells you about forced subs but no more. You can then use BDSup2Sub to extract the forced subs.
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2010, 02:54   #10638  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
eac3to does not fix the delay when I extract wavs from 2 joined m2ts's. It says realizing raw/pcm gaps but that doesn't fix it. Any way to have it auto-fix the delay?
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 08:37   #10639  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Can someone please help me?^
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 15:09   #10640  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,163
in dts master audio suite you can tick the option to display all 7.1 channel layouts. doing so, theres another setup similar to that of "strange setup" 7.1 tracks which has the 2 additional speakers at the front and not at the back (Lw, Rw instead of Lsr and Rsr). how can we actually be sure that these layouts named as "strange setup" by eac3to are that one with the additional 2 channels at the back and not at the front?
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.