Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th June 2009, 18:36   #1  |  Link
|SeNsUi|
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
anime encoding

Hi.. I jst got a problem on encoding a anime series. In dark areas of the anime i can see some sort rainbows colors and moving pixels. its like that on the DVD as well. what filters would i need to use to minimize this any ideas?
|SeNsUi| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 21:11   #2  |  Link
Chiba
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Screens ?
Chiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 04:46   #3  |  Link
Nightshiver
Quality Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Area 52
Posts: 597
Always post a video sample.....
Beyond that, if there actually are "rainbows" in your original DVD, then you simply need a de-rainbow script. There are several methods for doing this. Use search.
Nightshiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 07:17   #4  |  Link
thewebchat
Advanced Blogging
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
$5 says that Mr. "|SeNsUi|" (lol) won't be returning, but:

"rainbow colors": Now, this could just be rainbowing, but since he says it's in "dark areas", my guess is that it's banding from MPEG fail. In which case, the solution is to add lots of noise. If it's actually rainbowing, the solution is to blur the crap out of the chroma.

"moving pixels": Could be blocks (?), dotcrawl (unlikely), grain/noise (?), something else (?). The solution to all of these is to blur the crap out of the luma (and chroma if necessary).
thewebchat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 11:17   #5  |  Link
|SeNsUi|
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
sorry for the late reply. iv been searching the forums iv tried the de rainbow but to no avail. nw i shall try adding noise as it luks like mpeg fail.. here r the screen shots
Attached Images
  
|SeNsUi| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 14:48   #6  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by |SeNsUi| View Post
sorry for the late reply. iv been searching the forums iv tried the de rainbow but to no avail. nw i shall try adding noise as it luks like mpeg fail.. here r the screen shots
The left image seems to me a de/interlacing problem. Anime are well known for mixing various fps (and interlaced/deinterlaced sequences) within the same clip.
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 14:59   #7  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 959
Banding, not rainbowing, is the problem here, apart from what Ghitulescu pointed out. Use gradfun2db, gradfun2dbmod, other noise/grain generators.
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.

Last edited by J_Darnley; 16th June 2009 at 15:02.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 15:58   #8  |  Link
|SeNsUi|
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
I used megui to analyze the video then it spat out the best deinterlacing method, is this not a good way to do it? I am downloading the grad files and shall test em out.

thank you for all the help
|SeNsUi| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 16:32   #9  |  Link
thewebchat
Advanced Blogging
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
The "best" way to deinterlace it would be to actually *look at it* instead of using some dumb script (lol megui). Anyway, in screenshot 1, I see a field blend. This is probably due to your ivtc not finding a match and deciding to blend two fields together. You can make it interpolate instead which might look a bit better. On his shirt and on the wall, the problem you are seeing is not rainbowing but banding. Add some noise. On the second screenshot, what you're seeing is blocking on his shirt. Blur it out with dfttest, fft3d, deblock_qed, or some other blurring filter. Alternatively, you could just add even more noise and it'll cover that up too.
thewebchat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 17:16   #10  |  Link
|SeNsUi|
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
the first screenshot i posted the clip was playing i never paused it and tookk screen shot which is why it looks like that. cud sum1 give me a good setting for grad.. i already use fft3d but im still a newbie dunno the best to add noise.

my setting right now is

FFT3dFilter(sigma=1.5, bt=3, bh=50,bw=50, sharpen=0.5, measure=false, degrid=1)
|SeNsUi| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 18:33   #11  |  Link
thewebchat
Advanced Blogging
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by |SeNsUi| View Post
the first screenshot i posted the clip was playing i never paused it and tookk screen shot which is why it looks like that. cud sum1 give me a good setting for grad.. i already use fft3d but im still a newbie dunno the best to add noise.

my setting right now is

FFT3dFilter(sigma=1.5, bt=3, bh=50,bw=50, sharpen=0.5, measure=false, degrid=1)
gradfun2db takes no parameters. Just run it as "GradFun2DB()". If you need more, just paste it a few more times.
thewebchat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 19:35   #12  |  Link
|SeNsUi|
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
hmm nice filter this is itt has minimized the banding radically..

I ran both debaning filters, after the denoising and sharpening.

GradFun2DBmod()
GradFun2DB()
|SeNsUi| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 20:33   #13  |  Link
|SeNsUi|
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
wicked the clip is perfect ..btw is deblock_qed good or should i stick to x264 deblocking.. iv got the avs script and everything mite give it a try.
|SeNsUi| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 21:56   #14  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by |SeNsUi| View Post
wicked the clip is perfect ..btw is deblock_qed good or should i stick to x264 deblocking.. iv got the avs script and everything mite give it a try.
x264 doesn't try to remove blocks in the input video. The H.264 in-loop filter tries to prevent blocks forming in the decoded video.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewebchat View Post
gradfun2db takes no parameters. Just run it as "GradFun2DB()". If you need more, just paste it a few more times.
gradfun2db() takes a float argument that controls its strength. The default is 1.2 IIRC
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2009, 00:17   #15  |  Link
thewebchat
Advanced Blogging
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Darnley View Post
x264 doesn't try to remove blocks in the input video. The H.264 in-loop filter tries to prevent blocks forming in the decoded video.


gradfun2db() takes a float argument that controls its strength. The default is 1.2 IIRC
The thing is, you can only really raise it to 1.000001 since if it's <=1, strange artifacts appear everywhere. And gf2db at 1.000001 is not much stronger than 1.2, which is already not very strong.
thewebchat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2009, 00:50   #16  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 959
How can you raise 1.2 to 1.001? And I don't know what you mean by "strange artifacts appear everywhere". I haven't seen any problems (other than the non-processing of edges). With a high strength you get a blurring effect.
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2009, 00:57   #17  |  Link
thewebchat
Advanced Blogging
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Darnley View Post
How can you raise 1.2 to 1.001? And I don't know what you mean by "strange artifacts appear everywhere". I haven't seen any problems (other than the non-processing of edges). With a high strength you get a blurring effect.
gf2db gets weaker as you increase thr
thewebchat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2009, 18:21   #18  |  Link
|SeNsUi|
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
thanks for all the help this has improved the issues i had .
|SeNsUi| is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.