Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th February 2020, 00:56   #29281  |  Link
terrykuntz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
If I re-open of re-rebuilder and have it continue from where it left off, it rebuilds the BD file structure the progress bar on the bottom gets to 100 percent rebuild then the error occurs at very end?
terrykuntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 14:04   #29282  |  Link
prologic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Today .. Dvdfab failed to do a movie only, of
A Shaun the Sheep Movie Farmageddon...
It came up error on disk `message from oppo .

But BdRebuiler did it, no problem ..(with no re-encode) options.
but I also took 2 audio streams out .. Things are getting good.
prologic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 22:33   #29283  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrykuntz View Post
If I re-open of re-rebuilder and have it continue from where it left off, it rebuilds the BD file structure the progress bar on the bottom gets to 100 percent rebuild then the error occurs at very end?
It's rare -- but I've seen that error a couple of times. It comes from TSMUXER. Sometimes it just gets confused by the source. I'm not sure why yet, but if I can put my finger on the issue, maybe I'll be able to find a workaround.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2020, 16:25   #29284  |  Link
toiletglasses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
How is BD-RB so wildly off-size? I have a blu-ray that's only 4.73GB, so I ask it to encode to BD-5 (4.37GB). Result: 3.73GB. This is with highest quality, 2-pass. The entire point of 2-pass is to get exact size. I've repeated this with FULL blu-rays, to BD25. The result is ALWAYS smaller than DVDFAB, thus, lesser quality. It's off by GIGABYTES. Custom size 23.3GB? BD-RB gives me 19-21GB.
BD-RB log
toiletglasses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2020, 22:34   #29285  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by toiletglasses View Post
How is BD-RB so wildly off-size? I have a blu-ray that's only 4.73GB, so I ask it to encode to BD-5 (4.37GB). Result: 3.73GB. This is with highest quality, 2-pass. The entire point of 2-pass is to get exact size. I've repeated this with FULL blu-rays, to BD25. The result is ALWAYS smaller than DVDFAB, thus, lesser quality. It's off by GIGABYTES. Custom size 23.3GB? BD-RB gives me 19-21GB.
BD-RB log
From your log:

- Bitrate: 15,000 Kbs

You are hitting the maximum bitrate for an AVCHD disc. BD-RB can't make it any larger without risking exceeding the speed that a BD-5 can handle.

So... BD-RB isn't "wildly off-size" -- it is doing exactly what it supposed to do to prevent the disc from skipping and/or failing during playback.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 20th February 2020 at 18:16.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2020, 23:08   #29286  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by toiletglasses View Post
How is BD-RB so wildly off-size? I have a blu-ray that's only 4.73GB, so I ask it to encode to BD-5 (4.37GB). Result: 3.73GB. This is with highest quality, 2-pass. The entire point of 2-pass is to get exact size. I've repeated this with FULL blu-rays, to BD25. The result is ALWAYS smaller than DVDFAB, thus, lesser quality. It's off by GIGABYTES. Custom size 23.3GB? BD-RB gives me 19-21GB.
BD-RB log
shamelessly taken from another site


The Max official allowable bitrates for AVCHD are:

1. (BD media) ~24Mbps v+a+sub/pic
2. (DVD media) ~18Mbps v+a+sub/pic (this is supposed to also equal BD-9 spec)

and the new Max AVCHD/3D and AVCHD/60p rates are:
~28Mbps v+a+sub/pic (only BD media is supported)

As you can see, BD/AVCHD titles on DVD media are more limited by the spin/transfer capability of the DVD playback chain than by the spec's limits, so it often depends on the brand/quality of the playback equipment. Realistically speaking, you should set the target bitrate to fall in the 1/4 to 1/3 (possibly/occasionally 1/2) compared to BD rates.
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2020, 21:33   #29287  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,485
And, although you mention it, I want to emphasize... the 18Mbs is the combined total of video, all audio tracks, subtitles, and muxing overhead (which is significant in an M2TS file). That's why BD-RB puts a 15Mbs limit on video.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 00:12   #29288  |  Link
terrykuntz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
More information on the failure for 4K movie Jumanji

It does not matter if you select the target output to be 25 gb or 50 gb. Both selections fail. I do have an AMD processor. The final status is Current Progress: 100.00% and Overall Progress: 99.00%

[02/21/20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[16:56:55] Source: JUMANJI_WELCOME_TO_THE_JUNGLE_00001
- Input BD size: 54.11 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:59:03.135]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: High Quality (Default), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
- Resuming from previously started job.
[16:56:59] PHASE ONE, Encoding
[16:56:59]PHASE ONE complete
[16:56:59]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [16:56:59] Rebuilding BD file Structure
- Bitstream exception. Adjusting...
- Failed in attempt to multiplex: MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta
- Bitstream exception std::exception. It does not have to be! Please contact application support team for more information.
[17:00:34] - Failed to REBUILD
terrykuntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 11:23   #29289  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
One other point. There's also the option to choose the fastest speed for X265 in BD-RB. My guess would be that it is similar to hardware encoding in quality …..
Out of curiosity I made a quality comparison between cartman's QP24 HW encode and a BD-RB x265 'Very Good (Very Fast)' CPU encode at same bitrate (about 7740 kbps).

- cartman's HEVC QP24 GPU encode: VMAF = 95.7191, SSIM = 0.997884, PSNR = 49.1751
- BD-RB x265 'Very Good (Very Fast)' CPU encode: VMAF = 96.3585, SSIM = 0.997893, PSNR = 49.4838 (CPU encoding speed was about 9 fps with my i5-8400 CPU)

No big difference in the quality metrics, both encodes are softening and denoising the picture somewhat.
Visually they look much the same IMO, by far good enough for casual viewing (a very subjective statement of course ).
So the GPU HEVC encode has about the same quality as the CPU x265 'Very Good / Very Fast' encode in this test.

Last edited by Sharc; 23rd February 2020 at 13:02. Reason: SSIM and PSNR added
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 18:01   #29290  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
help with error

trying to to compress 4k black panther but keep getting this error DB Rebuilder experienced error 1605 extractaudiosuds 00058 1605
i dont have any problems doing other movies

thanks
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 22:31   #29291  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,325
No such thing as db rebuilder, and as useless as your message unfortunately without the full bdrb log.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 23:04   #29292  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
No such thing as db rebuilder, and as useless as your message unfortunately without the full bdrb log.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
my bad BD but you know what i was talking about
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 23:05   #29293  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Log

----------------------
[02 22 20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[11:45:21] Source: BLACK_PANTHER_00004
- Input BD size: 56.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:14:34.399]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Very Good (Very Fast), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[11:45:21] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [11:45:21] Processing: VID_00045 (1 of 1)
- [11:45:21] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting video streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting secondary video [VID_00045]
- Extracting audio/subtitle streams [VID_00045]
- [12:18:30] ExtractAudioSubs() 00058 1605
- Extracting audio streams [VID_00045]
[12:18:41]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
----------------------
[02 22 20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[12:18:51] Source: BLACK_PANTHER_00004
- Input BD size: 56.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:14:34.399]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Very Good (Very Fast), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[12:18:52] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [12:18:52] Processing: VID_00045 (1 of 1)
- [12:18:52] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00045]
[02 22 20] Checking System Settings
- BD-Rebuilder v0.61.05
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Working Path Free Space: 343.19GB
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, Ok
- LAVFILTERS: Ok
- AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
- X264: Ok
- X265: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
- FRIMEncode: Ok
- FRIMDecode: Ok
[02 22 20] Systems Settings Check complete
- Extracting video streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting secondary video [VID_00045]
- Extracting audio/subtitle streams [VID_00045]
- [12:51:55] ExtractAudioSubs() 00058 1605
- Extracting audio streams [VID_00045]
[12:55:14]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 23:50   #29294  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripem2011 View Post
----------------------
[02 22 20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[11:45:21] Source: BLACK_PANTHER_00004
- Input BD size: 56.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:14:34.399]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Very Good (Very Fast), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[11:45:21] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [11:45:21] Processing: VID_00045 (1 of 1)
- [11:45:21] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting video streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting secondary video [VID_00045]
- Extracting audio/subtitle streams [VID_00045]
- [12:18:30] ExtractAudioSubs() 00058 1605
- Extracting audio streams [VID_00045]
[12:18:41]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
----------------------
[02 22 20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[12:18:51] Source: BLACK_PANTHER_00004
- Input BD size: 56.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:14:34.399]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Very Good (Very Fast), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[12:18:52] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [12:18:52] Processing: VID_00045 (1 of 1)
- [12:18:52] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00045]
[02 22 20] Checking System Settings
- BD-Rebuilder v0.61.05
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Working Path Free Space: 343.19GB
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, Ok
- LAVFILTERS: Ok
- AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
- X264: Ok
- X265: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
- FRIMEncode: Ok
- FRIMDecode: Ok
[02 22 20] Systems Settings Check complete
- Extracting video streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting secondary video [VID_00045]
- Extracting audio/subtitle streams [VID_00045]
- [12:51:55] ExtractAudioSubs() 00058 1605
- Extracting audio streams [VID_00045]
[12:55:14]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
4K movie to a 4.46 gig DVD ?? youd be better off using a 1080p bluray version, can you even do UHD HDR to DVD ??( I guess so but HDR to SDR and a ton of wasted time to do it, for one the extracting of A/V takes ages compared to 1080p), it would need to convert HDR to SDR, so as said better to use a 1080p source if your wanting DVD, mayby explain more on what your trying to do ?

Last edited by Mike-uk; 23rd February 2020 at 00:09.
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 23:58   #29295  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
4K movie to a 4.36 gig DVD ?? youd be better off using a 1080p bluray version
Perhaps, but that doesn't clarify the problem nor should it impact EXTRACTING of the streams. The size issue should only come into play during rebuilding (if it would even start rebuilding).

Though on that issue, even if it's possible, it'll look like crap. Even with x264/x265
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 00:50   #29296  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
Perhaps, but that doesn't clarify the problem nor should it impact EXTRACTING of the streams. The size issue should only come into play during rebuilding (if it would even start rebuilding).

Though on that issue, even if it's possible, it'll look like crap. Even with x264/x265
i done it with a couple other ones just to see how it looks even with DV it dont look bad at all or my eyes are but then i add atmos to it with tsMuxeR and every thing work good but not with black panther no matter if i do 25 gig still get that error
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 13:13   #29297  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripem2011 View Post
i done it with a couple other ones just to see how it looks even with DV it dont look bad at all or my eyes are but then i add atmos to it with tsMuxeR and every thing work good but not with black panther no matter if i do 25 gig still get that error
Atmos track on a DVD ?? that's out of spec, are you playing these dvds in a dvd player ??
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 13:40   #29298  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
Atmos track on a DVD ?? that's out of spec, are you playing these dvds in a dvd player ??
Perhaps the tracks are being authored to suit the Blu-ray spec but are being burned onto DVD~R's.
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 19:14   #29299  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
Atmos track on a DVD ?? that's out of spec, are you playing these dvds in a dvd player ??
copy them on my usb drive play them on my Sony UBP-X700 no problems then store them on my USB hard drive hooked to my 4k bluray player

Last edited by ripem2011; 23rd February 2020 at 19:17.
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 23:14   #29300  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Out of curiosity I made a quality comparison between cartman's QP24 HW encode and a BD-RB x265 'Very Good (Very Fast)' CPU encodes at same bitrate (about 7740 kbps).

- cartman's HEVC QP24 GPU encode: VMAF = 95.7191, SSIM = 0.997884, PSNR = 49.1751
- BD-RB x265 'Very Good (Very Fast)' CPU encode: VMAF = 96.3585, SSIM = 0.997893, PSNR = 49.4838 (CPU encoding speed was about 9 fps with my i5-8400 CPU)

No big difference in the quality metrics, both encodes are softening and denoising the picture somewhat.
Visually they look much the same IMO, by far good enough for casual viewing (a very subjective statement of course ).
So the GPU HEVC encode has about the same quality as the CPU x265 'Very Good / Very Fast' encode in this test.
Newer movies are easy to compress, try using an older one (35 mm film), I remember doing some tests with the original Ghostbusters, even at BD50 bitrate, the NVIDIA encoder was awful, grain retention was particularly bad.

Last edited by SquallMX; 23rd February 2020 at 23:27.
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.