Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th December 2012, 13:05   #13381  |  Link
oddball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,262
Is there a way to force playback of English AC3/DTS over PCM type tracks? Sometimes the default track is PCM with optional multi-channel track. I'd obviously like forced playback of the multi-channel track without having to remux.
oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 13:16   #13382  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
The track with the highest number of channels is always preferred, unless you have a MKV file with an actual "Default" marking, in which case it cannot be overriden.
You can fix such MKV flags without a full Remux, simply use the header editor of mmg.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 11th December 2012 at 13:25.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2012, 02:52   #13383  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
It also depends on the player. In MC you can select your prefered track the first time and it will be remembered for subsequent playback.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2012, 12:33   #13384  |  Link
nx6
Playing with MKV files...
 
nx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by leewalk View Post
Win8 doesn't include DVD Navigator.

Will Lav support DVD navigation? Or are there any "recommended" alternatives?

It would be great to see Lav's (simple) blueray navigation extended to DVDs...

Thanks! Lee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prinz View Post
As far as I know, Windows 8 only has a DVD Navigator in the WMC Version.
Not really a solution for the future but it is worth noting that you can get the WMC pack for Win8 for free from Microsoft until sometime in January.

Edit: Oops, that only applies to Win8 Pro. Sorry.
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/feature-packs
__________________
Intel Core i7 920, 6 GB RAM | GeForce GTX670 | Win8.1 | LAV 0.64 / MadVR 0.87.10 | Zoom Player v10 / MPC-HC 1.7.8
nx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2012, 20:21   #13385  |  Link
mark0077
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,055
Hi Nev, all. Can anyone reproduce corruption at 5-6 second mark in this TwinPeaks clip

Twinpeaks1080p30fpsRef2-27Mbps.mov

Its about 10% the height of the screen and 100% width, like a horizontal block of blurred image. It only happens in software decoding mode, not cuvid decoding mode.
mark0077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2012, 20:23   #13386  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
The corruption also happens in CUVID mode, but its not as obvious because the hardware does better error concealment, the file is just broken there.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2012, 20:33   #13387  |  Link
mark0077
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,055
ahh nice one, thanks v much.
mark0077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 12:42   #13388  |  Link
VictorDUA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Stereo AC3 do not work in WMC

Stereo AC3 in avi container do not work in Windows Media Center. In WMP there is no sound, in WMC can't open file
Video Format: AVI
Audio Format: AC-3, Bit rate mode: Constant, Bit rate: 192 Kbps
Channel(s): 2 channels, Channel positions: Front: L R
Sampling rate: 48.0 KHz, Bit depth: 16 bits

Is there some tip or workaround? Thanx.
Win7 x64, LAV Splitter and Decoder 0.54.1 (or any older)
VictorDUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 13:51   #13389  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Are you sure either of those programs is using LAV? IIRC, neither of those actually lets you choose which codecs it uses, a prime example of the need for system-wide codec settings in the Control Panel (which can be protected from unwanted changes), rather than relying on merits and programs deciding what's best by themselves.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H

Last edited by DragonQ; 14th December 2012 at 13:55.
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 17:32   #13390  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Oooh the beta of MediaPortal 1.3.0 lets you choose your own splitter. I wonder how LAV Splitter will handle live TV in this environment.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 17:48   #13391  |  Link
owlsroost
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
Oooh the beta of MediaPortal 1.3.0 lets you choose your own splitter.
Only for Video, not for TV (or Blu-ray)
owlsroost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 19:32   #13392  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Ah, I see.

EDIT: Hmmm that's weird, using LAV Splitter + EVR in MediaPortal 1.3.0 Beta plays videos that have dodgy playback in MPC-HC perfectly. Wasn't expecting that.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H

Last edited by DragonQ; 14th December 2012 at 22:34.
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2012, 21:03   #13393  |  Link
VictorDUA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
Are you sure either of those programs is using LAV?
Yes I'm sure. It's not so difficult. Any other answer?
VictorDUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2012, 22:44   #13394  |  Link
G_M_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,076
I have a question: I just tried a '2-in-1' type mkv, and is noticed lavfilters didnt show the 2 separate streams. Is it something i confugured wrongly, or dont the lavfilters support 'x-in-1' type mkv's ? And if not, will they support it soon?
G_M_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 00:05   #13395  |  Link
VictorDUA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Stereo AC3 do not work in WMC

This is easy: check AC3 in LAV Audio AVI in LAV Splitter and play the file:
http://www.mediafire.com/?7xwumko47epbmci
with WMP and WMC. So any help please.
VictorDUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 08:03   #13396  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
I tried playing that file in WMP with both 0.54.1 and the latest development version, and it plays just perfectly with LAV Splitter and LAV Audio.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 16th December 2012 at 08:09.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 08:24   #13397  |  Link
Superb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 364
Works well here as well. Tested w/ 0.54.1 on WMP, WMC, and MPC-HC.
Note that Microsoft built-in filters are turned off on my machine, so that LAV will be used.

Last edited by Superb; 16th December 2012 at 08:28.
Superb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 09:12   #13398  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,131
Maybe it's time for LAV tray icons (long overdue) ? Cause I can bet he wasn't using LAV in WMC/WMP but he didn't know
__________________
Windows 10 1809 x64, HD7790 Adrenalin 2019 Edition 19.1.2, HDMI Full RGB 4:4:4
Mercury_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 11:36   #13399  |  Link
VictorDUA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I tried playing that file in WMP with both 0.54.1 and it plays just perfectly with LAV Splitter and LAV Audio.
This is my setup (pic 01). If I check AC3 (pic 02), than WMP play file without sound and WMC did not play file at all.
Attached Images
  
VictorDUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 13:32   #13400  |  Link
more2read
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Quote:
Problem is that when you start streaming a file is created in temporary internet files called 127_0_0_1[1] or similar (yes i'm streaming to the same PC) and the file seem to grow as the video is fed but when it hits 4GB the streams grinds to a halt. no errors, just stops (or well it seems like it actually restarts playing from where u started the stream when the file reaches 4GB).
I have the same problem.
more2read is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.